JK Moving Services Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
JK Moving Services Founder, President and CEO Charles Kuhn (no image)
Charles Kuhn
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very nice profit-sharing program(in 10 reviews)

  • "I have worked in many organization and this is the first where an organization actually lives up to their core values(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons working for this company(in 7 reviews)

  • "Not too many cons, sometimes work/life balance is challenging especially during busiest summer months(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Strong Core Values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JK Moving Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The COVID-19 Pandemic has created hardships for most employers and employees. It is great to work for an organization that has core values so strong that employees continue to live them daily. Together We Succeed is in the heart of our core values and continues to keep the organization and employees looking forward and working together. Great people to work with!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons worth mentioning.

    Continue reading
    JK Moving Services2020-05-22

    JK Moving Services Response

    May 27, 2020HRIS Administrator

    Thank you for your comments.

  2. "Stability and Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Leadership in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JK Moving Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A culture of growth - for the company and for the individual

    Cons

    You have to be able to keep up

    Continue reading
    JK Moving Services2020-05-20

    JK Moving Services Response

    May 27, 2020HRIS Administrator

    JK Moving has a wealth of benefits for employees - from medical/dental/vision insurance, Company-Paid 401k contributions and Profit Sharing, and tuition assistance, to Pet Insurance, Student Loan Repayment Program with Company-paid match, and onsite fitness classes. Employees are provided with information about benefits during orientation as well as via the Benefits page in the Commit2Growth Employee Portal. A monthly Wellness Newsletter keeps employees informed of the latest wellness initiatives as well as reminders to take advantage of benefits. Benefits information is also shared via email, the electronic bulletin boards in the common areas, and on the bulletin board in Green Employee. Employees who have questions or specific needs are encouraged to reach out to HR to schedule time with our Director of Benefits and Wellness, who is always happy to help employees customize their plans for their specific needs. Thank you for your feedback.

  3. "Great Place To Work!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JK Moving Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family and work balance, CEO that really cares about all the employee's and their family, Great Pay, Core Values!!

    Cons

    I have none at this time.

    Continue reading
    JK Moving Services2020-05-14

    JK Moving Services Response

    May 18, 2020HRIS Administrator

    Thank you for leaving feedback.

  4. "Promote From Within"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JK Moving Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits such as profit sharing. Also the ability to grow professionally. I started at JK seven years ago as a moving specialist and have since been promoted five times. I am now an Operations Supervisor.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance during busy peak seasons like every other company in the industry.

    Continue reading
    JK Moving Services2020-05-14

    JK Moving Services Response

    May 18, 2020HRIS Administrator

    Commit to Growth is one of our Core Values. JK is committed to providing the tools for employees to succeed and to elevate into roles of higher accountability. Through a variety of programs, including our Employee Portal that has over 7,000 online trainings available on a variety of topics, Tuition Reimbursement Program, Company-paid Professional Certifications, and our Student Debt Repayment Program with employer-match, each year between 10% - 15% of employees are promoted. Thank you for your feedback.

  5. "Amazing company with great core values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Centreville, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JK Moving Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing people from CEO to crew members especially during this pandemic. Wonderful team efforts to implement security protocols for company's employees and customers.

    Cons

    Pros balance is way over Cons that I am not even seeing any cons.

    JK Moving Services2020-05-14

    JK Moving Services Response

    May 18, 2020HRIS Administrator

    Great employees make great companies. We are grateful to have an amazing team at JK Moving and are always looking to hire those who share in our Core Values. Thanks for leaving feedback!

  6. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accounting Manager in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JK Moving Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for. Great company core values that are really lived out by employees. Very nice profit-sharing program. Executive management team is down to earth and approachable, a true open door policy. The JK Community Farm is an amazing give back to the community.

    Cons

    No cons working for this company

    JK Moving Services2020-05-14

    JK Moving Services Response

    May 18, 2020HRIS Administrator

    Thank you for your feedback. Our employees love being active in the community. In addition to volunteering to plant and harvest at the JK Community Farm, employees organize a variety of activities throughout the year, such as bake sales to benefit Operation Smile, Wreaths Across America, Cycle for Survival, and more.

  7. "A company that believes and lives its values."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JK Moving Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A fast-paced, open-minded, and determined environment. Working for JK in our market is like playing for the Bulls in ‘97.

    Cons

    Growing pains...and C-19 has increased those pains.

    Continue reading
    JK Moving Services2020-05-02

    JK Moving Services Response

    May 12, 2020HRIS Administrator

    Thank you for your review. COVID-19 has created some new challenges, however, our COVID-19 Response Team has acted quickly to put protections in place to keep our employees and customers safe and healthy. JK Moving Services has been operating for over 30 years and has survived through many market changes. Our leadership team has positioned us for success so that we can emerge stronger than ever.

  8. "Moving Specialist Interview"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Moving Specialist 

    I have been working at JK Moving Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quick feedback, good communication, Good managers

    Cons

    Long hours, working outside in heat, early start time

    JK Moving Services2020-05-08

    JK Moving Services Response

    May 12, 2020HRIS Administrator

    Thank you for your feedback. Residential crews dispatch in the morning, however, we have other positions in Warehouse and our Commercial Services Division that have other shifts for people who are not early risers. Check out our open jobs for more information.

  9. "Join a growing Company and become part of the JK Family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Team Leader in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JK Moving Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Company that plans to 2x Revenue in the next five year. It is great to be part of a Company that is thinking growth in an industry that is retracting with many companies shrinking. *Benefits such as medical, dental, 401(k) and profit sharing that are not only unmatched in these times but, in many cases, unheard of. *Opportunities for advancements exist throughout the Company; both within departments and interdepartment. *With the significant investment in technologies, this Company is more of a Tech Company than a moving company in some ways.

    Cons

    *With the tremendous focus on growth, the Company is absolutely doing the right things to support the infrastructure, so this isn't a Con but a reinforcement to continue the investment, as it is definitely paying off.

    Continue reading
    JK Moving Services2020-04-18

    JK Moving Services Response

    April 20, 2020HRIS Administrator

    Thank you for your feedback. JK offers two medical plans and three dental plans so that employees can choose the plan that is best for them and their family. JK matches up to $1,000 dollar-for-dollar in the Health Savings Accounts (HSA) to help offset deductible costs. In addition to the 3% company contribution to 401(k), they company also contributes up to 25% of earnings as part of the profit sharing plan.

  10. "Growth focused and positive environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Move Consultant in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JK Moving Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, competitive and engaging - always working to improve

    Cons

    I love it here

    Continue reading
    JK Moving Services2020-04-16

    JK Moving Services Response

    April 20, 2020HRIS Administrator

    Thanks for your comments!

Found 121 reviews