JM Family Enterprises Reviews | Glassdoor

JM Family Enterprises Reviews

Updated September 24, 2017
100 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Colin Brown
65 Ratings

100 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great benefits and company culture (in 16 reviews)

  • Work Life Balance is important and JM values their employees (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • Upward mobility is slightly slower since no one ever leaves (in 4 reviews)

  • Upward mobility was limited due to very low turnover (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Strong legacy, bright future, amazing leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Deerfield Beach, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Deerfield Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JM Family Enterprises (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Open door environment, focus on every associate as a valued team member, investment in our well-being through onsite wellness centers and incredible retirement savings plans.

    Cons

    Depending on your role or area of business, vertical growth can be challenging due to very low turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    JM Family Enterprises Response

    May 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Intern

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to read your positive comments about your 10+ years of experience with JM Family.


  2. "Great Company - Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JM Family Enterprises full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very value oriented and strong culture. JM Family values leadership and leaders value associates and compensate them very well.

    Cons

    Strong culture can sometimes get in the way of getting things done. Still the best company I have ever worked for.

  3. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JM Family Enterprises full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, took care of associates

    Cons

    lack of cross-training in different disciplines

    JM Family Enterprises Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to read your positive comments about our work environment.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    JM Family is a wonderful company to work for. Everyone is friendly and welcoming.

    Cons

    JM needs to work more quickly on updating their work spaces to appeal to younger associates.

    JM Family Enterprises Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to read your positive comments about JM Family.


  5. "Great place to work, great people, phenomenal intern program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Deerfield Beach, FL
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Deerfield Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JM Family Enterprises full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing culture, approachable senior leaders, extensive benefits

    Cons

    The auto industry might struggle in the future

    JM Family Enterprises Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to read your positive comments about our leadership and benefits.


  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JM Family Enterprises full-time

    Pros

    Employee benefits and development. Competitive pay

    Cons

    Career advancement can be slow because tenure is very high

    JM Family Enterprises Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to read your positive comments about our benefits and associate development.


  7. "Great company - stuck in the dark ages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Jacksonville, FL
    Current Employee - Accountant in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JM Family Enterprises full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The benefits and perks are amazing and most of the people are great. The pay isn't bad and there is a lot of encouragement for development and furthering education.

    Cons

    There's accountability for some and not others. There's a lot of codling of long term associates and little love for the younger fresher faces. Jacksonville is stuck in the past and offers no flexibility in schedule for associates who could be productive in a remote environment. The food in the cafe is horrendous and don't bother expressing your concerns. They will be brushed off. I struggle to stick around for the good, when I feel like nothing more than a number that gets thrown a yearly bonus and otherwise ignored.

    Advice to Management

    Offer flexible schedules and remote access to reduce stress and retain high performing new associates. You won't regret it.

    JM Family Enterprises Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We'd like to learn more about your experience. Please send your contact information to talentacquisition@jmfamily.com and we can connect to talk in... More

  8. "Disneyland of Employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Deerfield Beach, FL
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Deerfield Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JM Family Enterprises full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    * Great sr. management
    * Generous total compensation (favorable for long-term associates)
    * Positive work environment
    * Geared towards results & associates share in the benefits of those results

    Cons

    * Difficult to advance with few exceptions

    Advice to Management

    * Develop talent within lower layers of the organization

    JM Family Enterprises Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to read your positive comments about our senior management and generous compensation.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "They make "No-Hire" deals with Suppliers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at JM Family Enterprises full-time

    Pros

    The Flexibility and Retirement but at a Career Risk

    Cons

    Very limited opportunities to advance and they also make "No-Hire" deals with Suppliers. Extreme politics in IT people who "play games" advance into leadership positions.

    Advice to Management

    In the midst of a talent shortage across technology, especially in South Florida is it legal for you to make "No-Hire" deals wit your partners and vendors? Silicon Valley doesn't even do that anymore. As one of the "Best Places to Work" is that really how people are treated. Everyone now knows this is happening and it's not right if "associates first" is your motto. People can't advance as there are limited opportunities and now this. This is putting peoples livelihoods at stake.

    JM Family Enterprises Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience. There are a number of options available for you to voice your concerns. In addition to your management team, you may also contact your HR Generalist. If you... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best employer I've worked for ever period."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at JM Family Enterprises full-time

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, lifestyle, industry authority

    Cons

    Travel - a lot of it. It's hard to work anywhere else after leaving JM. Its just not JM.

    JM Family Enterprises Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to read your positive comments about our compensation and benefits.


Showing 100 of 115 reviews
Reset Filters