JR Automation Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

JR Automation Technologies Reviews

Updated May 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Bryan Jones
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours (and short) depending on what it takes to get your projects to the finish line(in 7 reviews)

  • "50 hours a week is "norm" and expected, multiple Saturdays if a job gets behind(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Long term employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JR Automation Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hard working group of people that strive for success. It's a great place to work if you are rewarded by a job well done. You are rewarded by your merit.

    Cons

    No matter what position it's a demanding job. It's only a bad thing if you are not looking for challenge in your occupation.

    JR Automation Technologies2018-09-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Very content with "AVERAGE" pay, but overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Builder in Holland, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JR Automation Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Growing company lot of opportunity for advancement if you put in the effort If you have a good attitude and work hard you will be noticed given lots of rope, up to you to make a ladder, or a noose

    Cons

    50 hours a week is "norm" and expected, multiple Saturdays if a job gets behind Management is currently more concerned with procedures, timelines and checking boxes than actually getting things done correctly.

    Advice to Management

    Refocus on quality not quantity and getting it off the floor as fast as possible. Stop shipping unfinished machines, "Finnish that at install" is a very Bad idea

    JR Automation Technologies2019-05-04
  3. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JR Automation Technologies full-time

    Pros

    The people who work at JR are awesome and they make your day better.

    Cons

    Pay isn't the best and the bonuses are terrible and you only get it once a year.

    Advice to Management

    As you add on more responsibilities, pay your workers more. Also stand up for your workers and get them the bonuses they deserve.

    JR Automation Technologies2019-02-27
  4. "Good company. great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Builder in Holland, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JR Automation Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It has lots of oppurtunities and is a fast paced job

    Cons

    It has seemed to be a big company mentality

    JR Automation Technologies2019-01-23
  5. "Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JR Automation Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of different projects which are fun to work on.

    Cons

    Very centralized. Growing very fast.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees more.

    JR Automation Technologies2019-01-17
  6. "Lots of variety and challenges, but lots of hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Controls Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JR Automation Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No restriction on how much you can work. Clean and safe work environment

    Cons

    Low pay. They think people don't care because you can work as many hours as you want, but that gets old after a while.

    JR Automation Technologies2019-01-18
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Holland, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JR Automation Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some really knowledgeable people at JR who are more than willing to help you and teach you something.

    Cons

    If you want to have a life outside of work this is not the place for you. If you only work 45 hours a week people talk about how little hours you put in. Expect 50+ hour weeks in engineering.

    Advice to Management

    Start focusing on employee needs to keep them and stop worrying about buying other companies.

    JR Automation Technologies2018-10-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "So Glad I Work at JR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JR Automation Technologies full-time

    Pros

    JR has been an awesome place to work, I love the people here and I love the work we do. I've had such a good experience compared to the past jobs I've had. The culture here really makes it great, your co-workers and leaders help you succeed. You can take risks and know your supported.

    Cons

    We build really cool stuff, for some great customers. You have to be dedicated to your job and to getting things right for our customers. If you don't want to work hard and really care about the work your doing this job probably isn't for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep treating your people well, in return they will treat your customers well.

    JR Automation Technologies2018-07-24
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Sinking ship. Stay away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JR Automation Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Health benefits are pretty good unless they’ve changed that since I’ve left as well. Other than that there is really nothing else that I can think of. Very poorly run company.

    Cons

    Overall very bad experience here. This job was nothing but a stepping stone. They promise opportunity, but if you aren’t a part of the “good ole boys club” you will be stuck. Middle management is very poor, and incredibly unprofessional. Pay is below average, and if you have a family, you won’t see them very often, as you’ll be working 55-60 hours a week. At the quarterly meetings they talk about how much money they are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stick up for your employees. People like a manager that will go to bat for them, not one that will throw you under the bus and then run away with your tail between your legs.

    JR Automation Technologies2018-07-18
  10. "ME intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at JR Automation Technologies part-time

      Pros

      Amazing company to work for. Very interesting job content

      Cons

      lower pay than other companies

      JR Automation Technologies2018-05-09
    Found 71 reviews