JUUL Labs Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

JUUL Labs Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
JUUL Labs CEO K.C. Crosthwaite
K.C. Crosthwaite
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working for a Mission driven company really inspires oneself to be the best person they can be while delivering promising results(in 13 reviews)

  • "Fast paced exciting place to work, you never had so much fun working so hard before(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is definitely challenging here(in 19 reviews)

  • "Putting it out there though because if you're looking for a 9-5 JUUL is not the right fit for you(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (39)

    "Amazing challenges, impactful mission, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JUUL Labs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone I have met has a shared commitment to the mission, and works hard towards achieving it. There is an authenticity that I haven't found in other places. - We created a new category so we have a lot of unique problems to solve for that you wouldn't get exposure to otherwise. the work is challenging and each day is different. - Growth prospects are incredible. I've been here a few months and have had the opportunity to build a team and function from the ground up. With the pace at which we are moving, scope will only increase. - I'm getting paid well and the benefits here are top of the line. - Things move fast, you don't have to wait weeks for an approval or to get the ball rolling. If it drives the business forward, you're empowered to move swiftly. - We have an awesome leadership team. Kevin keeps everyone informed about what is happening and I that he and the e-team are making the right calls for us. It is clear that they care and want to do right by us.

    Show More

    Cons

    Work life balance is definitely challenging here. It's not really an issue because I love what I do and I knew what I was getting into. Putting it out there though because if you're looking for a 9-5 JUUL is not the right fit for you. We definitely have some dead weight - some of the folks who we have hired may have been a fit for us when we were growing from 200-500 people, but they can't keep up now and are more challenging to work with than is necessary. Leadership needs to start making tough decisions in service of scalability.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be transparent with us. Get better with terminating employees.

    JUUL Labs2019-03-06
  2. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Medical Science Liaison in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JUUL Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mission was to help the worlds smokers have an option

    Cons

    Regulations will limit the opportunity

    JUUL Labs2020-01-06
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Comminications Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JUUL Labs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks, great mission

    Cons

    Management is somewhat poor and there isn't a lot of transparency among the business

    JUUL Labs2020-01-21
  4. "Used to be Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JUUL Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Prior to the 2019 layoffs, the pros were: + Autonomy in your role + High growth + Competitive income

    Cons

    After the 2019 layoffs, the cons were: - Very low morale - Poor communication with workers regarding what is going on - Communication that does occur does not seem genuine - Never-ending sense of dread that more layoffs are coming

    JUUL Labs2020-01-21
  5. "Downsized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Parts Sales in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JUUL Labs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team leadership and communication throughout the company

    Cons

    Rapid growth meant rapid downsizing, poor planning for FDA restrictions

    JUUL Labs2020-01-16
  6. "Nice Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Verification Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JUUL Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benfits, work culture, team

    Cons

    Improve work activities and schedules for employees

    JUUL Labs2019-12-20
  7. "Incredible Opportunity for growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analytics Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JUUL Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High impact projects, collaboration between teams, great company values and most importantly, an important mission and vision everyone believes in and is aligned to.

    Cons

    Lack of communication, but what can you expect from a high growth start up that’s still building its infrastructure?

    Advice to Management

    Communicate!

    JUUL Labs2019-12-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not your average start up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at JUUL Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lot's of autonomy and opportunity to create processes and procedures from the ground up. The company is great for someone who genuinely enjoys working in fast-paced/nonstop environment. The pay is great and the company culture is great. Tons of opportunity for growth. Great benifits and company perks.

    Cons

    There is absolutely no work-life balance. The average tenure is 6 months due to burnout.

    JUUL Labs2019-12-11
  9. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JUUL Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Best in Industry engineering practices - Completely Mission Oriented company where employees are genuinely motivated rather than having bunch of quotes/principles on walls. - Good Compensation, less bureaucracy and acknowledgement of good work. - Good options for internal profile mobility.

    Cons

    - Facing some issues in short term though the long term is pretty good.

    Advice to Management

    Just remain focussed and hire slowly.

    JUUL Labs2019-12-12
  10. Helpful (3)

    "BEWARE of failure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JUUL Labs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Typical tech start up perks

    Cons

    There is no structures at this company. Managers and higher ups do not know what they're doing. They are going away from their mission and becoming BIG TOBACCO. Laid off 650 people and gave remaining people 2 weeks vacation. NO moral!!! They don't care about their employees.

    JUUL Labs2020-01-14
Found 157 reviews