JVT Advisors Reviews | Glassdoor

JVT Advisors Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
JVT Advisors CEO Torin Dragsbaek (no image)
Torin Dragsbaek
9 Ratings
  1. "Great company culture and a Boss you would want to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sourcer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JVT Advisors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Owner has been taking many steps to improving work/life balance (short day friday, long lunch, monthly competitions) Call metrics take a back seat to production

    Cons

    Can sometimes be a little bit of a "boys club" with friendly teasing. Not exactly a bad thing but could be an issue if you don't have thicker skin

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work with company culture improvements! Great place to work!

    JVT Advisors2019-05-21
  2. "Best place to land"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sourcer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JVT Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    strong - team oriented environment you won't find at other firms, great managers and a competitive base salary. Great company to grow you pipelines and make strong bill rates

    Cons

    On-boarding process isn't excellent, needs to be very clear cut when signing on full commission structure. "Unlimited vacation" - others make you feel guilty for taking time off

    JVT Advisors2019-09-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "One of the Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JVT Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    From the CEO to the Support Staff pretty much everyone shares the same vision & is dedicated to the mission at JVT. This truly creates a family environment where everybody is there for each other. There is a genuine spirit of cooperation and shared goals all revolving around helping both the client and the candidate. I had a voice & my manager listened to my ideas and the whole team worked together to make... things happen. The culture at JVT fosters teamwork & individual contribution; they incorporate that by implementing various competitions everything from a Mini Masters tournament, Mock Olympic Games to getting down to “Play that Funky Music” for a Halloween contest. This provides for a positive organizational culture that I found to be key to feeling motivated and inspired at work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Technology and tools lag a little behind the curve. The Performance Management Plan needs to be updated as it is a bit dated.

    Advice to Management

    Management is aware of this already and they have been taking small steps at least during my time there to incorporate new tech/tools. By adopting some of the emerging tech and continually evaluating those best practices JVT will dominate in their space.

    JVT Advisors2019-06-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "JVT Culture - A Millennial Perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JVT Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm well paid and feel there’s no cap on my earning potential. The owner is a great guy and cares about his employees and the direction of the company. It’s great to see the president and management pushing to optimize the company in every way. The work environment is enjoyable as well; standing desks, free roam phone conversations, onsite gym etc. As a recruiter, I get all the support and more as far as tools... and resources provided to be successful. From texting applications to a dedicated social media resource that promotes the jobs I recruit on. My immediate manager is a rock star and I get to learn from the best in the industry. I have a great bonus structure and there are additional incentives to hit your goals in place. I actually just got back from a cruise to the Bahamas for hitting my annual goal and had an absolute blast with the President and other award winners. The company culture is night and day from when I first joined JVT 3 years back. Most Friday's I'm able to get out of the office by 3pm. There are now multiple committee’s such as the social media and competition committee in which the president participates in every one. The social media committee gives members a creative outlet and play in the social media and marketing strategy. They’re currently working on a JVT spoof video of The Office and working on a company tag line. The competition committee creates and plans competitive events that uniquely incentivize work performance. They’re actually a blast and you can win prizes such as Patriot’s, Bruins, and Celtics tickets. Some of the competitions that come to mind; March Madness recruiting brackets/competition, 18-hole indoor mini golf tourney, wiffle ball home run derby, auction, nerf gun target shooting, badminton, Solo Cup Pong etc. We also do company/team outings like skiing, paddle boarding, golfing, and have a killer overnight Christmas party in Boston every year that everyone looks forward to. I personally love it here… great place to work hard, play hard. Deepen your pockets and expand your career.

    Show More

    Cons

    Everyone on the floor selects a song or "anthem" that's played during the gong smashing placement ceremony every Friday. One time A$AP Rocky played instead of my song but it's cool because I dig A$AP.

    Advice to Management

    The consistent day-in day-out dedication from JVT's President and Recruiting Director to set employees up for success while creating an fun / energetic work culture isn't going unnoticed

    JVT Advisors2019-04-09
  5. Helpful (4)

    "JVT isn't a very reputable place to work, bad consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Andover, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JVT Advisors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    small office, good pto policy, decent work life balance, start up type mom and pop shop, underdog type of company

    Cons

    - Not the best talent in the industry - Mostly sell to VMS's - Kind of where people end up after the fail elsewhere - shady business tactics at times - no database, its kind of unorganized and a free for all - company will take any job, regardless of discipline - company doesn't do drug or background check - company redeploys consultants who get fired - company has a lazy atmosphere and a terrible... reputation within the industry.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    invest in sales software, weed out bad consultants, conduct standard check to make sure you arent placing bad talent, higher base pay

    JVT Advisors2019-02-26
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Dramatic growth and improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JVT Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I joined a few years ago, JVT Advisors was an average company/staffing agency. You were given the tools/training to succeed, good clients to work with and the opportunity to make a lot of money. But there really wasn't much more than that. While a lot of the past negative reviews are really exaggerated (REALLY exaggerated), there was some truth to them. Over the time that I've been here, JVT has grown... considerably especially from a work culture perspective. Old (toxic) employees have left and new, talented folks have joined creating an exciting new potential outlook on this company's future. The atmosphere is much more positive and full of great energy. I genuinely enjoy coming to work every day (something I've never been able to say in the past). The owner Torin has put in a ton of effort to improve culture and boost camaraderie with really fun contests, outings, fostering open communication between management & employees, openly acknowledging and rewarding people that go above and beyond, etc. He's really shown that he really cares about his employees, wants everyone to be as successful as possible and cares deeply about the company as a whole. People have been more successful than ever and we've been having some record breaking performance which I think is a direct result of all the positive energy and changes over the last ~2 years. Coming to JVT was one of the best desicions I've made in my career so far, it's grown into a really great place to work. It's crazy how things have changed for the better and it's looking like it's only onwards and upwards from here. Exciting times ahead!!

    Show More

    Cons

    There's always room for improvement at any company and the staffing industry is not for everyone, plain and simple. It's stressful, hard work and needs diligence, persistence and a thick skin. It requires a certain kind of person. The atmosphere here can still sometimes have a bit of a rowdy "boys club" or "frat house" vibe, but not overwhelmingly so. It's still a sales organization at the end of the day. If... that's something you can get behind, then JVT is one of the best New England agencies to work for while actually making some serious money to boot. As said before, you're given the tools/resources to succeed with a great team of folks that have your back.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving and doing what you're doing. It's appreciated and noticed by everyone.

    JVT Advisors2019-01-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It's a Recruiting Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JVT Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The training you get here is going to be better than any other staffing firm hands down. Even those who wrote pretty scathing reviews would agree on that. The owner of the company went above and beyond for multiple employees when I was there and in this industry specifically I think it is difficult to find that. They have many established clients and multiple accounts with direct access to hiring managers vs... throwing resumes into a portal or better yet a black hole. They are on the preferred vendor list for a large amount of mature, fortune 500 companies. The recruiters are a good group of people who will give you a heads up if they come across someone you've been talking to that is a fit for a job and not try to sneak them in behind your back like at some other companies. They will give anyone a chance to prove themselves even if you go months without making a deal and are the kind of person to write a "professional" review while commenting on the dieting patterns of employees or presidents. If you take the initiative to approach senior staff they are happy to sit with you to give advice and tips on better ways to recruit, getting through those lulls, and even whether or not recruiting is for you and their own personal experiences from the senior sales guy who has been at JVT for decades to the President of the company. They have multiple contests throughout the year for employees to be directly rewarded for their productivity and not just for closing a deal. Team bonding is a big thing for them as well and they have multiple parties, cookouts, and outings for staff to get to spend time outside of the stressful recruiting/sales environment. You also get a level of flexibility when you perform and actually do your job. The managers running the contract and direct hire divisions are easy to talk to, want you to succeed, and push you to do so.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a recruiting agency and in an effort to not have to reinforce that throughout this section I believe these Cons are issues you see industry wide vs JVT specific. Long hours and highly stressful at times given the nature of the beast. When tensions are high there tends to be more criticism and bickering back and forth. Office politics is a thing and people will talk. If you don't have a thick skin you're not... going to make it (but you'll likely make it further here than another staffing agency). You're not going to like everyone and at times giving everyone a chance allows for some less than admirable employees to stay on longer than they should and for you to have to work with them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Utilize present day technologies better and it will make everyone's lives easier and likely employees more productive. For example giving employees who have proven themselves and been there for 5 years the ability to work from home even a day or two a week. You have the technology to do so and still be able to track numbers and metrics and pretty much every move they make so what really is stopping this?... Otherwise keep doing what you're doing. It doesn't work for everyone but clearly it works for you.

    Show More
    JVT Advisors2017-11-30
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Sleazy company with sleazy recruiters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Help Desk Team Lead in Marlborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JVT Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None...just stay away from them

    Cons

    if you want to get a degree in telling lies and conning people deal with them.

    Advice to Management

    Go take a confession with the priest....that might help save your souls if anything.

    JVT Advisors2017-10-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Project Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Analyst in Marlborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JVT Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with good pay rates. They also offered health benefits.

    Cons

    May not have addition work after your current assignment is over.

    JVT Advisors2017-07-14
  10. Helpful (7)

    "I've quit, now I can write an honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter in Andover, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JVT Advisors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can think of two 'pros'....You get an hour lunch and a bathroom break every few hours. Don't get up two often, you will start to get dirty looks from the owner. Now that I've left JVT I can be honest about my time spent there. During my time there we were asked / encouraged to write a positive review since the company has so many negative ones out there.... wonder why....

    Cons

    Companies avg spread is about $7 so if you think you can get rich of $5 deals, then welcome aboard. Sales guys have no direct contact with managers. If you like working through portals and doing the "point and click" method, then welcome aboard! (Side note: sales guys are very nice guys) If you are female and don't want to listen to locker room talk all day, steer clear. If your like me who thinks it's... entertaining, welcome aboard! Owner acts like a nice guy but deep down everyone knows he isn't. He also seems to always be in a state of hunger and exhaustion from the last 7 months of unsuccessful dieting.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There isn't really any advice I can give the owner as he is and forever will be stuck in his old ways and will forever refuse to grow which explains why his company will never grow. Contract and perm managers, keep doing what you are doing. Actually better advice, you guys rock, you should start your own firms! :)

    JVT Advisors2017-08-15
Found 27 reviews