Jack Astor's Server/Waiter Reviews | Glassdoor

Jack Astor's Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 182 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Peter Fowler
15 Ratings
  1. "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time

    Pros

    Great people and great food. Basic menu stays the same, but we were always doing seasonal menus and learning to cook new things which I enjoyed. Great for new cooks.

    Cons

    Hours always varied. If there was no business you would be sent home and you had to beg for a raise.

    Jack Astor's2018-05-11
  2. "server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Jack Astor's part-time

      Pros

      Work with great people and Manager's are very understanding.

      Cons

      Great place to work in the winter not so much in the summer.

      Jack Astor's2017-02-06
    • "Fun group of people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Jack Astor's

      Pros

      The people are fun to work with.

      Cons

      People can be in bad moods.

      Advice to Management

      Management was personable and friendly. I like their open door policy. Talk about anything with them, and they are sincere.

      Jack Astor's2016-10-24
    • "Not the same place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Cheektowaga, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fun atmosphere, insurance is available if needed.

      Cons

      Used to only promote from within, but recently brought in new management from outside and has killed the atmosphere. When I first started, it was fun and relaxed and customer satisfaction centered. Corporate now bogs servers down with guest feedback questionnaires and is very impersonal. No longer a fun place to work.

      Advice to Management

      Go back to your old model! This used to be THE place to eat in the Galleria, now it is just run of the mill.

      Jack Astor's2013-03-04
    • "If you aren't a favorite, you won't last"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Buffalo, NY
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Jack Astor's

      Pros

      Cool people to work with. Good food. Busy during peak seasons

      Cons

      If you aren't a favorite, you won't be promoted. If you aren't good looking, you won't be put into the bar.

      Advice to Management

      Don't be so fickle

      Jack Astor's2011-07-13
    • "Awesome Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Jack Astor's full-time

      Pros

      So much to learn here

      Cons

      No from my perspective. I can't say a single word.

      Jack Astor's2019-07-16
    • "Managers with attitudes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Good tips - Fun atmosphere

      Cons

      - Managers were rude, had a lot of attitude and picked favourites. Favourites were given better shifts. - Long hours, no break

      Jack Astor's2019-07-18
    • "Great if you get along with co workers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Hostess 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        the people there are amazing,

        Cons

        overworked, stressed, and feel like management does not support you

        Jack Astor's2019-07-12
      • "Jack Astors Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Server in Ottawa, ON
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great People and good food

        Cons

        Management isn't great Money/hours aren't great

        Advice to Management

        Hire less people and be loyal to the people who are good at their jobs

        Jack Astor's2019-06-24
      • "Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Cook in London, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Cooperative organisation Teamwork A place from where person can learn management skills

        Cons

        The only cons this job is not relevant to my studies

        Jack Astor's2019-06-18
      Found 182 reviews