Jack Astor's Server/Waitress Reviews | Glassdoor

Jack Astor's Reviews

Updated Mar 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Jack Astor's CEO Peter Fowler (no image)
Peter Fowler
23 Ratings
  1. "Worth your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teams with real food to serve. Great kitchens and management.

    Cons

    Long hours and not enough coverage for sick days

    Continue reading
    Jack Astor's2019-12-09
  2. "Ok summer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with my coworkers

    Cons

    The hours were not great

    Jack Astor's2019-11-12
  3. "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time

    Pros

    Great people and great food. Basic menu stays the same, but we were always doing seasonal menus and learning to cook new things which I enjoyed. Great for new cooks.

    Cons

    Hours always varied. If there was no business you would be sent home and you had to beg for a raise.

    Jack Astor's2018-05-11
  4. "server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time

    Pros

    Work with great people and Manager's are very understanding.

    Cons

    Great place to work in the winter not so much in the summer.

    Jack Astor's2017-02-06
  5. "Fun group of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Jack Astor's

    Pros

    The people are fun to work with.

    Cons

    People can be in bad moods.

    Continue reading
    Jack Astor's2016-10-24
  6. "Not the same place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Cheektowaga, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, insurance is available if needed.

    Cons

    Used to only promote from within, but recently brought in new management from outside and has killed the atmosphere. When I first started, it was fun and relaxed and customer satisfaction centered. Corporate now bogs servers down with guest feedback questionnaires and is very impersonal. No longer a fun place to work.

    Continue reading
    Jack Astor's2013-03-04
  7. "If you aren't a favorite, you won't last"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Jack Astor's

    Pros

    Cool people to work with. Good food. Busy during peak seasons

    Cons

    If you aren't a favorite, you won't be promoted. If you aren't good looking, you won't be put into the bar.

    Continue reading
    Jack Astor's2011-07-13
  8. "Part Time at Jack Astor's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in Whitby, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good Hours -Tips + tips out -great workers/work environment

    Cons

    -often long hours -few sick days -working with people/customers all day

    Jack Astor's2020-02-22
  9. "Worst Workplace Experience Ever. Dont Work at Jacks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Kitchener, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I gained kitchen stills which are a valuable life skill. this job took my cooking to the next level because I gained a lot of confidence.

    Cons

    they had me working double split shifts (8-11, 12-3, 6-10) i would be at work for 14 hours but only work 8-10 hours. completely insane. On other days I would work 8 hours without any break whatsoever. there was absolutely no work life balance. If i booked a saturday off that would result in me having way less hours that week. Management was terrible. Jack astors is an awful place to work.

    Continue reading
    Jack Astor's2020-03-06
  10. "Not worth the stres"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fry Cook in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Above minimum wage + tips for an entry level job Accommodating with taking vacations

    Cons

    High pressure from arrogant expo staff to get food out Couldn't even get water myself; had to ask servers who would 9 times out of 10 forget about you Extremely long hours with no proper break (around 7 hours on your feet cooking and cleaning); my only breaks were when I went to the bathroom Pressure from management to do "split shifts" which were basically 13 hour shifts with 1 hour break Servers are incredibly rude and don't give you the time of day If you smoke you can take a break whenever you want Kitchen management was an absolute joke (1 was a hands off, turn the other cheek if they saw you struggling type and the other was a push over who wasn't even there half the time) Very little in the way of support Everyone was just so uptight

    Continue reading
    Jack Astor's2020-02-11
Found 213 reviews