Jack Cooper Transport Reviews | Glassdoor

Jack Cooper Transport Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Jack Cooper Transport CEO Mike Riggs (no image)
Mike Riggs
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Home time is decent, benefits are great, pay is average, most co workers are good people(in 6 reviews)

  • "Good people dedicated to long term viability and excellent customer relationships(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Trucks are crap, shop doesn’t have enough help to fix all the breakdowns, management is clueless, dispatch guys are good but setup is stupid(in 3 reviews)

  • "They don't offer direct deposit, and many times the drivers checks are days late(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Car Hauler in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Cooper Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits

    Cons

    None at all I love it

    Jack Cooper Transport2018-10-15
  2. "Benefits are awesome so is pay IF you have a working truck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Car Hauler in Wentzville, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Cooper Transport full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits are amazing, insurance coverage is free, deductible is super low! Paid vacation, etc pay is pretty good but if you don’t have a working truck (which is HIGHLY LIKELY) you obviously are not making money.

    Cons

    Trucks are crap, shop doesn’t have enough help to fix all the breakdowns, management is clueless, dispatch guys are good but setup is stupid! Inefficient doesn’t even begin to describe this company set up.

    Advice to Management

    Communication between dispatch, shop and drivers needs to be better. Get newer trucks and/or enough shop employees to fix trucks in timely manner. Breakup dispatch time so drivers aren’t wasting the first hour of their day waiting for a load.

    Jack Cooper Transport2019-08-02
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "It is a place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Cooper Transport

    Pros

    Benefits are paid for. Nice.

    Cons

    Direction is lacking, not nice.

    Jack Cooper Transport2019-05-13
  5. "Nepotism, Favoritism, and more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Yard Supervisor in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Cooper Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits Plenty of Overtime Good Vacation Two weeks worth of Sick Time 401k Discounts through the company

    Cons

    Managers hire Friends and Family, and promote them over others They definitely (at least at my terminal) play favorites. Union employees are sometimes a pain to deal with. They will work you every weekend and holiday if they can. Yard supervisor is a THANKLESS job.

    Advice to Management

    Treat all your employees the same. Stop putting friends, family, and Brown nosers in position while passing on people passionate about the job!

    Jack Cooper Transport2019-04-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t waste your life here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Fort Wayne, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Cooper Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, good pay, paid holidays

    Cons

    Awful, awful shop management. Very unprofessional at the local level and the corporate level. Very vindictive people. They just look for ways to mess with employees. Horrible work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like humans.

    Jack Cooper Transport2019-04-25
  7. "Massive job cuts. Stay away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Cooper Transport for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The working people are very nice.

    Cons

    Terrible executive management. Major business loss and office closures. No future vision. Massive job cuts in progress.

    Advice to Management

    Look in the mirror on why this company is failing. It's not because of the workers.

    Jack Cooper Transport2019-01-25
  8. "Diesel mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deisel Mechanic in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Cooper Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good medical zero copay, union and awesome retirement and vacation pay, pay is above average

    Cons

    Old trucks, and lots of forced overtime, no work family balance

    Advice to Management

    Management is great, corporate rules and union contract need work

    Jack Cooper Transport2018-12-19
  9. "Casual yard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Yard in Claycomo, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Cooper Transport part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay rate is very good, union..

    Cons

    So much gossip and full time employees treat casuals very poorly.

    Jack Cooper Transport2018-09-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Poor maintenance on rusted trucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Car Hauler 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Cooper Transport full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits from Teamsters union

    Cons

    Poor maintenance could affect your driving record can't get home

    Jack Cooper Transport2018-10-03
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Title Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Jack Cooper Transport part-time

    Pros

    The employees are nice and whatnot. Aside from that, I can't really say much else.

    Cons

    If you're not particularly fast with your hands, odds are you are probably in the wrong place. The environment is very hectic, and they expect you to finish anywhere between 70-100 titles an hour. I was hired back in March, and I was let go a month later because I wasn't able to increase my productivity. Like most profit-driven enterprises, they are not particularly sympathetic towards people unable to keep their... speed up. I would definitely not recommend working here.

    Show More
    Jack Cooper Transport2018-08-08
Found 54 reviews