Jack Link's Protein Snacks Reviews | Glassdoor

Jack Link's Protein Snacks Reviews

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Jack Link's Protein Snacks CEO Troy Link
Troy Link
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free jerky for employees, Own laptop(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good product and nice people to work with(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "If you are considering a job at Jack Links here are 10 things I wish I had known-(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Business Intellegence Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Link's Protein Snacks for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office Great teams Free tickets & events Travel

    Cons

    Things are very fast paced

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your internship program!

    Jack Link's Protein Snacks2019-01-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I would not work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Link's Protein Snacks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice looking office in downtown.

    Cons

    Leadership is all over the place and they treat people poorly.

    Advice to Management

    Please begin to treat employees with respect and realize they are not all expendable.

    Jack Link's Protein Snacks2019-05-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "IT was Great team to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Link's Protein Snacks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to be a fun place to work with no insecure leaders

    Cons

    It all went down hill for the company when they started to hire inept and insecure leaders (discard) from a big company located in downtown Minneapolis. For some reason these people came in with their own agenda and hired their friends and family and discarded all the existing folks unless they were willing to brown nose.

    Advice to Management

    Jack Links used to be a great place to work with no dirty politics and red tape. the new leadership has turned it into a maze of YES men and Women. Please revert to your roots that made you successful where everyone's opinion matters and incompetency wasn't constantly rewarded.

    Jack Link's Protein Snacks2019-04-22
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Seems Good At First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Link's Protein Snacks full-time

    Pros

    There are good times when you can actually drive your area of the business, make decisions and have a voice. Enjoy it! It can be short lived. Health insurance employer contribution is amazing.

    Cons

    This place is weighted in bureaucratic and archaic business practices. It is amazing anything changes or moves forward with as much spinning of the wheels that occur. Workplace culture is about as low as it can get. This is not a happy place to be everyday. Also, if you are coming in new don’t expect a lot of formal training or career development. Those two things really do not exist here.

    Advice to Management

    They won’t listen anyways.

    Jack Link's Protein Snacks2019-04-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "JUST A NUMBER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Link's Protein Snacks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some nice people who work for this company. It is nice to have access to the company store for their products.

    Cons

    If you are not family or friends to management, you will be out of the inner circle. They waste to much time with meetings that go no where and you just keep working on the same problem again and again.

    Advice to Management

    Do not micromanage everything. Do not let your smart people go and bring in the ones who will work cheaper.

    Jack Link's Protein Snacks2019-02-22
  6. "Could be better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Line Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jack Link's Protein Snacks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free jerky, bonuses, employee appreciation

    Cons

    Long time between breaks, mandatory 6 work days, lack of teamwork

    Advice to Management

    Reward hard workers, better time off package.

    Jack Link's Protein Snacks2019-01-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Link's Protein Snacks full-time

    Pros

    Good product and nice people to work with

    Cons

    No training for the employees. very disorganized company

    Advice to Management

    Please invest in your employees

    Jack Link's Protein Snacks2019-02-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Help Desk Level II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jack Link's Protein Snacks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun Environment Lots of Jerky Good management at the Plant I worked at. Plenty of Giveaways. Great company parties The plant I worked at loved to celebrate success and goals Fun company culture Great Benefits (Medical, Dental, Eye Care, plus many others)

    Cons

    I want to make it clear that this is not a bashing at all but more constructive criticism. I think once the right people are placed in the correct leadership position this company will be wonderful to work for but until then I think they have a lot of work to do to get there and here are some of the cons that I experienced: 1. My first year of employment, I went through 5 different bosses 2. Corporate IT Management...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to tell someone that you are part of the Jack Links family, treat them like they are and not a replaceable body. Try to retain your employees who are have the talent and are devoted to the organization and not let them walk out the door so easily. I joined Jack Link's IT with hopes of growing and developing, and saw how quickly that wasn't the case.

    Jack Link's Protein Snacks2018-12-18
  9. "Love Working Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Link's Protein Snacks full-time

    Pros

    Great Giveaways, Plenty of Growth and Opportunity, Generous Ownership, Fats-Paced, Never a Dull Moment!

    Cons

    So much growth that we sometimes have a few growing pains to address :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep Aiming for the Stars!

    Jack Link's Protein Snacks2018-12-05
  10. "Needs a balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mankato, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Jack Link's Protein Snacks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very casual work environment with great medical insurance coverage that allows you to make an impact locally & pass it to other locations

    Cons

    Always expected to do more. Minimal support for staffing/retention/compensation, thus rely on firefighting and balancing multiple roles. Corporate life is way different than Plant life.

    Jack Link's Protein Snacks2018-10-31
Found 78 reviews