Jackson National Life Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Jackson National Life Intern Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Barry L. Stowe
4 Ratings
  1. "Software Development Internship Provided a Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Intern in Lansing, MI
    Recommends

    I worked at Jackson National Life for more than a year

    Pros

    Contact between myself, management, mentors and others was highly encouraged. Overall, it was an extremely valuable experience.

    Cons

    The company provided housing for the duration of my internship, however it was taxed and that came out of my paycheck. I wish I had known this beforehand. I've heard that policies surround housing have changed since then however.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to engage and invest in interns!

    Jackson National Life2018-03-09
  2. "Strategy Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern in Denver, CO

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere with quality management

    Cons

    I cant think of any cons

    Advice to Management

    Need to formalize intern program

    Jackson National Life2019-02-08
  3. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool office-nice work environment-great people

    Cons

    Pay could have been better-management wasn't very adaptive

    Jackson National Life2019-01-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good Compensation Environment is Very Political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    compensation, 401k matching, employee benefits

    Cons

    office politics, limitation of creative freedom, red tape

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on your data infrastructure and those trying to improve these processes. Also don't try to sell your employees on work/life balance when it doesn't seem to be supported by culture.

    Jackson National Life2018-09-19
  5. "QA Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Intern in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    - Nice, friendly people - Well defined/structured intern projects

    Cons

    - Too corporate (focuses too much on rules) - Some of the work can get repetitive - Not much diversity

    Jackson National Life2018-03-30
  6. "Software Development Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Intern in Franklin, TN
    Recommends

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Jackson was an ideal internship site for honing my software development skills. I felt the company culture was very welcoming and valued diversity. I very much enjoyed learning in the fast-paced but supportive environment the Franklin office provided.

    Cons

    I have no negatives.

    Jackson National Life2017-12-31
  7. "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jackson National Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Good benifits. Leaders encourage you to explore how you can grow with the company. Lots of opportunities to get involved within the company and in the community.

    Cons

    Sitting at a desk all day.

    Jackson National Life2017-09-22
  8. "Software Developer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer Intern in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Relaxed work environment. They help you learn a lot.

    Cons

    It is a big company so when you first start it takes a long time to get setup and start working.

    Jackson National Life2016-01-31
  9. "It was worth working there. It was great experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Working environment was great. Nice canteen to eat at.

    Cons

    There wasn't really anything bad that I experienced.

    Jackson National Life2016-01-16
  10. "Intern Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Intern in Okemos, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Out of work sponsored events, pleasant people to work with, good mentor program

    Cons

    Top level management not the smartest

    Advice to Management

    Get the LEAN system figured out

    Jackson National Life2015-10-23
Found 21 reviews