Jackson National Life Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Jackson National Life Intern Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Jackson National Life CEO Barry L. Stowe  (no image)
Barry L. Stowe
4 Ratings
  1. "Great but corporate environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer Intern in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    An extremely friendly environment. They really cared about their interns. We had luncheons with CEO, Head of HR, and COO. All of them were kind and gave great advice. Everyone there was super nice.

    Cons

    The corporate environment was a bit too regid. The code was not documented.

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend more fun events with the interns. The only things the interns did -- other than the luncheons -- was one bowling night.

    Jackson National Life2015-10-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked there in the summer of 2011 as an intern and i must say the experience was awesome. Pretty fast paced but I learned a lot and acquired some pretty beneficial skills

    Cons

    I did not really have any issues with the way things were run. I did have an offer to return but declined it for another offer but overall i liked it

    Jackson National Life2015-07-16
  3. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life

    Pros

    Awesome staff, great facility, managers always very helpful, free lunches, great classes, relaxed work environment would recommend to anyone interested

    Cons

    I really couldn't think of any cons so im just writing in here to fufill the 20 word minimum required to pass this thing

    Jackson National Life2015-01-25
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Franklin, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome environment, learned a lot, plenty of resourses to find answers.

    Cons

    Not many, coffee was not very good.

    Jackson National Life2014-11-09
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Intern in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    High pay for the area. Some of the people are friendly. There's not really a lot to recommend them in all honesty.

    Cons

    Management seems to care more about making sure time is logged to the minute than actual performance. They essentially develop bad versions of open source technologies to use in house. Why they think that this is a good idea I will never know.

    Advice to Management

    Stop.

    Jackson National Life2014-10-27
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Decent experience for an intern, poor at everything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Intern in Franklin, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    -Tasty cafeteria. -Subsidized intern housing (with a big caveat). -Exposure to management.

    Cons

    -Terrible pay; WAY below market rate for developers. -Misleading offer. They mentioned interns would be taxed on housing, but said the tax wouldn't be noticeable. Half my paycheck went to taxes because they put interns in a $60/night hotel. Would have much rather taken the $60 a day and found my own housing, but the option wasn't given. No transparency regarding cost or how housing was chosen. Response to all the... interns' complaints: "We told you you'd be taxed, deal with it." -Formal work attire, need to donate to charity in order to even wear jeans on Fridays, but then you have to buy and wear a Jackson shirt with the jeans. When asked about a more casual dress code for non-client facing people the response was "It's always been this way." -Micromanagement: they monitor you like a hawk down to the last minute. If your payroll timesheet and and analytics time sheets don't match up, expect a meeting with your manager. -Half the workers are from India and are extremely difficult to understand.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay better, be more transparent with interns, relax on the dress code for developers.

    Jackson National Life2014-09-11
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best Management I've had and the company atmosphere is great.

    Cons

    Most jobs are desk jobs and can become repetitive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep things fresh!

    Jackson National Life2014-04-01
  8. "Great experiance and friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to move up within the company

    Cons

    The CEO is not engaging

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Jackson National Life2013-01-31
  9. "Great learning experience for an intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is fantastic, they also lodge you if you live far away. Very hands-off approach. Great for innovation and development.

    Cons

    A lot of overhead in terms of getting access to resources to do your job. You need to be assertive.

    Jackson National Life2012-09-16
  10. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jackson National Life

    Pros

    Company really shows appreciation for all employees and really contributes to the local community. People are very friendly and willing to lend a helping hand

    Cons

    Jackson has been growing very quickly over the past decade and as a result has very little office space for associates.

    Advice to Management

    I would advise management to continue showing support to all associates by continuing to offer generous benefits and recognize employees that do good work.

    Jackson National Life2010-06-25
Found 21 reviews