Cover image for Jackson National Life
Logo

Jackson National Life

Is this your company?

Jackson National Life

Add a Review

Jackson National Life Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 878 of over 949 reviews
3.7
72% Recommend to a Friend
74% Approve of CEO

Found 879 of over 949 reviews

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Jackson National Life Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Barry L. Stowe  (no image)
Barry L. Stowe
243 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are great and well appreciated.(in 112 reviews)
  • "Great people and place to work(in 70 reviews)
  • "Pay is good for Lansing.(in 63 reviews)
  • "Flexible hours for students and willing to work with everyone(in 36 reviews)
  • "The managers are great with checking in on SSA’s and making sure you’re caught up on work.(in 25 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Jackson National Life and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Review

    Jan 19, 2023 - SSA, STATION SUPPORT ASSOCIATE 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good environment for career growth

    Cons

    More work branches to work in different places

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Please avoid working in finance under any circumstances.

    Jan 3, 2023 - Investment Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits. The headquarters is very nice. I love the community philanthropy from the overall organization.

    Cons

    Working in finance is very much “churn and burn” at Jackson. Management has no interest in helping their associates develop. They constantly dangle promises of promotions and development opportunities in front of them but never deliver. They will work you 90+ hour weeks and never deliver on anything they say. Everyone had clear expectations on when they were expected to work in the office, but many in management would constantly stay home without telling anyone. Management would also waste time talking to boyfriend/planning kids wedding during busy times and were never available to help with difficult projects. I was constantly being lied to by management and my time was constantly being wasted when I would try to develop my skills and understanding in my job. From what I understand, the rest of finance is very similar. My heart breaks for my former coworkers who are accepting being treated this way.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Jackson National Life team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Part-time job as a college student

    Jan 23, 2023 - Strategic Support Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible hours, low stress environment, good support system

    Cons

    limited interaction with other employees, fast training

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Decent pay but boring and stagnant work

    Jan 18, 2023 - Strategic Support Associate in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good environment, flexibility, and wage

    Cons

    Often become boring and repetitive, not much room to branch out for other work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Best Flexible Job

    Jan 12, 2023 - Data Entry Clerk II in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was able to work when I wanted.

    Cons

    It felt like busy work, but it was easy.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    excellent benefits couldnt ask for more

    Jan 2, 2023 - Liason Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The job is very laid back, company has great benefits, and work life balance is excellent

    Cons

    none i can think of

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    RUN AWAY!

    Jan 11, 2023 - Call Center Representative in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Health Insurance is good, BCBS. That's about it.

    Cons

    Extreme micromanagement, managers with heads up their butts, failure to listen to employees about system or service issues. Constant apologizing to customers for issues management won't deal with. Do not work here!!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Company

    Dec 27, 2022 - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work-life balance, upfront PTO, great benefits, WAH options

    Cons

    WAH after the training and development period is complete.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good

    Dec 26, 2022 - Genetics 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, great & friendly managers, nice environment

    Cons

    not much i can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A great place to work

    Oct 13, 2022 - Customer Service Advocate in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been at Jackson between 4-8 years and in that time I have been promoted vertically 3 times and horizontally once (I gave my title as my starting title for anonymity). The cafeteria is unusually good, the campus is unusually beautiful, the benefits are average to above average for large companies, the vacation time is easier to get than it is many places, and the people are unusually nice. How much you actually like your job will depend, as with any place, on two main factors: your relationship with your manager, and whether your particular job is a good fit. The call center is a tough place to start out, especially during tax season, but you can apply elsewhere after one year, as long as you receive a successful review. This is a place that will take people with or without a college degree and train you; it is a place where you can truly change your life, but you have to be patient and mind your p's and q's, too

    Cons

    As with any place, there are procedures that make no sense and are hard to change. A simple example: some of our forms have said for years that we close at 8 pm. Actually, we close at 7 pm. Really? But that is the reality of large groups: the things they do well are very efficient, but changing direction is rarely quick or easy. I am excited for their systems modernization - once the bugs are worked out

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 879 Reviews
</>Embed

Jackson National Life Reviews FAQs

Jackson National Life has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 949 reviews left anonymously by employees. 72% of employees would recommend working at Jackson National Life to a friend and 59% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Jackson National Life employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Jackson National Life. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

72% of Jackson National Life employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Jackson National Life 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Jackson National Life to be coworkers, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Jackson National Life Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Jackson National Life? Share Your Experiences

Jackson National Life logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Jackson National Life Photos

+ Add Photo
Jackson National Life photo of: Main Campus

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Jackson National Life Job Seekers Also Viewed

Auto-Owners Insurance Logo
Auto-Owners Insurance

3.7

783 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 949 Jackson National Life reviews submitted anonymously by Jackson National Life employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Jackson National Life is right for you.