Jackson National Life Reviews | Glassdoor

Jackson National Life Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 434 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Barry L. Stowe
96 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "inexperienced middle management(in 10 reviews)

  • "Lansing Michigan is cold and gray for the majority of the year(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Foundational Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Team Lead in Franklin, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jackson National Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My experience at Jackson has been nothing but great. I work on the sales desk and the two things I love most are the culture and advancement. The culture is part of the reason Jackson remains number 1 and there is such a clear. Direction of advancement you can’t help but get promoted. Last year alone I had several promotions. Truly a great place to build a foundation for your career

    Cons

    Depending on what you cover, the hours could be different than your typical 9-5

    Jackson National Life2019-05-16
  2. "Operations Procesor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Processor in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jackson National Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits package. Nice building and huge dining center with indoor/outdoor seating. On sight child care.

    Cons

    Difficult to get time off approved and have to bid for new work schedules every quarter. Micromanaging and managers are pushed to be more report driven instead of working with their team. Forced to complete multiple time management reports instead of concentrating on work being done.

    Jackson National Life2019-07-12
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Jackson National Life full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good benefits, opportunity for advancement

      Cons

      Work overload, need updated policies and procedures

      Jackson National Life2019-05-21
    • "SSP program is great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Strategic Support Associate in Lansing, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Jackson National Life part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      -Flexible hours for students and willing to work with everyone

      Cons

      Great company to work for- none

      Jackson National Life2019-05-01
    • "Operations gets your foot in the door"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lansing, MI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Jackson National Life full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Benefits, PTO and annual bonus

      Cons

      Work life balance is not there if you work in the Call Center. Shift bids are done every 6 months. If you are in operations for more than 2 years, it's nearly impossible to get out and transition to another department.

      Jackson National Life2019-05-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Wonderful Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Strategic Support Associate in East Lansing, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Jackson National Life part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      You have the ability to excel here and the management will support you every step of the way if you have the drive. Great culture and very good experience. They bring in candidates on a referral basis and want nothing but success for anyone that works at Jackson. Also have self development programs like the FSCDP (Financial Services Career Development Program) which is a highly active group of individuals who are shaped...

      Show More

      Cons

      Some negatives is you have to pay for parking if you’re a commuter to the Zone location and sometimes they bring pizza in for everyone when they know I’m on a diet. All jokes aside this is a great place to work and I can’t really find any negatives.

      Advice to Management

      Keep supporting and investing time into workers who show the drive and passion to do something with their careers. Management truly shows passion in what they do and it is directly reflected through the workers at Jackson.

      Jackson National Life2019-04-03
    • "Great job for students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Strategic Support Associate in East Lansing, MI

      I worked at Jackson National Life part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling, work was not too intensive

      Cons

      Social life at work can be a little slow, you aren't always able to talk to people while you work because it takes a lot of focus

      Jackson National Life2019-03-29
    • "Jackson National"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Client Service Representative 

        I worked at Jackson National Life full-time

        Pros

        Good pay, career advancement and nice headquarters

        Cons

        Can lose job if you don't pass Series 6

        Jackson National Life2019-03-28
      • "Great, but with opportunities"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Jackson National Life full-time

        Pros

        All kinds of good. Great company, atmosphere, earning, potential, benefits, etc.

        Cons

        If you don't like change, this won't be for you.

        Advice to Management

        If you want to see change, demonstrate it. Set expectations and hold people (yourselves) accountable.

        Jackson National Life2019-03-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Strategic Support Associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Strategic Support Associate 

          I worked at Jackson National Life part-time

          Pros

          You can choose your hours and they let you choose your path.

          Cons

          There were times I would be released because of lack of work flows.

          Jackson National Life2019-03-15
        Found 434 reviews