Jackson National Life Software Development Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Jackson National Life Software Developer Intern Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Barry L. Stowe
1 Ratings
  1. "Software Development Internship Provided a Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Intern in Lansing, MI
    Recommends

    I worked at Jackson National Life for more than a year

    Pros

    Contact between myself, management, mentors and others was highly encouraged. Overall, it was an extremely valuable experience.

    Cons

    The company provided housing for the duration of my internship, however it was taxed and that came out of my paycheck. I wish I had known this beforehand. I've heard that policies surround housing have changed since then however.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to engage and invest in interns!

    Jackson National Life2018-03-09
  2. "Software Development Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Intern in Franklin, TN
    Recommends

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Jackson was an ideal internship site for honing my software development skills. I felt the company culture was very welcoming and valued diversity. I very much enjoyed learning in the fast-paced but supportive environment the Franklin office provided.

    Cons

    I have no negatives.

    Jackson National Life2017-12-31
  3. "Software Developer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer Intern in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Relaxed work environment. They help you learn a lot.

    Cons

    It is a big company so when you first start it takes a long time to get setup and start working.

    Jackson National Life2016-01-31
  4. "It was worth working there. It was great experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Working environment was great. Nice canteen to eat at.

    Cons

    There wasn't really anything bad that I experienced.

    Jackson National Life2016-01-16
  5. "Intern Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Intern in Okemos, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Out of work sponsored events, pleasant people to work with, good mentor program

    Cons

    Top level management not the smartest

    Advice to Management

    Get the LEAN system figured out

    Jackson National Life2015-10-23
  6. "Great but corporate environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer Intern in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    An extremely friendly environment. They really cared about their interns. We had luncheons with CEO, Head of HR, and COO. All of them were kind and gave great advice. Everyone there was super nice.

    Cons

    The corporate environment was a bit too regid. The code was not documented.

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend more fun events with the interns. The only things the interns did -- other than the luncheons -- was one bowling night.

    Jackson National Life2015-10-11
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Decent experience for an intern, poor at everything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Intern in Franklin, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jackson National Life for less than a year

    Pros

    -Tasty cafeteria. -Subsidized intern housing (with a big caveat). -Exposure to management.

    Cons

    -Terrible pay; WAY below market rate for developers. -Misleading offer. They mentioned interns would be taxed on housing, but said the tax wouldn't be noticeable. Half my paycheck went to taxes because they put interns in a $60/night hotel. Would have much rather taken the $60 a day and found my own housing, but the option wasn't given. No transparency regarding cost or how housing was chosen. Response to all the interns'...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay better, be more transparent with interns, relax on the dress code for developers.

    Jackson National Life2014-09-11
Found 7 reviews