KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Jackson National Life

Is this your company?

Jackson National Life

Add a Review

Jackson National Life Employee Reviews about "lansing"

Updated Jan 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 766 reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Jackson National Life Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Barry L. Stowe  (no image)
Barry L. Stowe
208 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and work/life balance(in 52 reviews)

  • "Good pay good benefits great facility(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Much of the management at Director and above levels in Lansing is incredibly unethical(in 12 reviews)

  • "Can work long hours, high stress environment at times(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Jackson National Life and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "lansing"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Dec 7, 2018 - Senior Software Designer in Lansing, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people. Great product. Lots of change and opportunity.

      Cons

      Lansing Michigan is cold and gray for the majority of the year. Salaries are typically well below the national average.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Very disappointing

      Jan 12, 2020 - Operations Associate in East Lansing, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits Flexible leave 2 hrs a pay period Great volunteer opportunities Clubs to join Coffee shop Cafeteria

      Cons

      37.5 Hrs a week, so they don’t have to pay overtime Multiple floor wide all clears a month, stay until released Want to communicate with your manager? Good luck. They’re replies take 1-2 business days 100+ Lansing employees forced to join outsourced tech company, will lose benefit and pay and can be fired after one year. Very little information about it was communicated to other employees. Brushed under rug. Operations pay is not worth the work and demanding schedule Very little room for promotion Difficult to move out of operations to different departments Little recognition for hard work and overtime

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Nov 4, 2014 - Audit Senior in Lansing, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent benefits, very good salaries, pleasant environment, opportunities for training and advancement, attention to work-life balance, on-site childcare, support for local communities and causes. JNL seems to have recognized that they can retain their best employees and grow their work force by creating the best work environment.

      Cons

      Headquarters is in Lansing, Michigan. But the also have jobs available in other locales. Rapid company growth has lead to some over crowding of work space. The gigantic building project underway to expand headquarters offices should relieve this significantly by the end of 2015. Employees at the bottom of the totem pole may not have as many opportunities, but even there Jackson provides opportunities to learn and develop.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Frustrating at times

      Aug 11, 2010 - Operations in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career growth within the company is available if you pursue it. Great benefits and PTO packages.

      Cons

      Outside of Lansing, MI employees in operations were sometimes treated like step-children. Passing the buck almost seems encouraged, and the customer service can be less than satisfactory especially when Jackson claims to win awards regularly for customer satisfaction.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      SSA

      Apr 7, 2015 - SSA in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great hours great pay ($12.50/hr) for people in school or looking for something part time Good people for the most part.

      Cons

      Company shows MAJOR favoritism to the home office (Lansing, MI) no chance for a promotion though the grapevine has told me they're looking to change that You are just a statistic, you don't feel valued The SSP position is crapped on by the rest of the company, they see you as an ant they can walk on.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Profitable company with deplorable culture

      Sep 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Lansing, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good bonus payouts year over year, good benefits-medical, dental, 401K, and dependent tuition.

      Cons

      Self serving leaders who manage by intimidation and coercion to maintain the status quo. Leaders at Jackson have been virtually the same for the past 20 years. Take a look at the website.......it tells the story of who is running the company. The CEO may change every few years, but the way the company conducts business and who makes the decisions is truly the Lansing leadership team. It absolutely floors me that other companies haven't figured out how to topple Jackson because the antiquated technology is based on a system created 10 years ago that continues to be a financial drain on the company in an attempt to "automate" along with a resourcing program called the Strategic Support Program (that employs SSAs) which is a glorified way to employ the family and friends of executives. As the company continues to shut down affiliates or sale off declining entities to either drop "dead" weight or avoid legal issues, the company continues to do the same "ole" thing that made them successful. Unless Jackson changes, their downfall will impact countless employees who have given their lives to Jackson.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very disappointing, You either sink or swim - Every Man or Woman for themself - job stability, Iffy!!

      Jan 5, 2013 - Non Financial/Financial Processor in Franklin, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice enviroment, nice cafeteria, good benefits..... That's It!!!

      Cons

      I started with the company when they first arrived in Franklin, TN. I was very exciting at the beginning..... had a lot of boosting and encouragement by the company at the beginnig when I started... There were a lot more people that came on board....as we grew, things continued to change. Different departments transferred to this location from Lansing, Business was booming even more.... I felt very secure and comfortable with the company I worked for, and was doing pretty good for a while. As things started to settle, a little.... things started to change even more.... Not for the good. I will say, its not what you know, it's who you know..... Team work? this is a thing of the past.....competition, YES! Trying to get use to your own job and having to learn 4 to 5 other jobs at the same time, very stressful. Tons of multi-tasking , I will say. As far as the pay, for all the work you have to do? I don't think so.... Not enough per hour. I also will say that I don't approve of how everyone's productivity is broadcasted in a report on everyone's daily work progress which i feel should be between the supervisor and the employee. If the productivy numbers aren't up to par, you get warnings, then write ups, then.... terminated. This company is very numbers driven..... I am no longer with the company by my own choice. It took me a while to actually want to talk about this and this is not a complaint.....nor am I being disgruntal. This is just from my experience and I hope and pray that no one else has to go thru this ..... I actually started my own business, and I am doing very very well with it and I am very happy now.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Review from a Denver employee that was laid off in 2009

      Feb 8, 2010 - Processor in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good way to "get your foot in the door" in the financial industry. Good benefits.

      Cons

      Lack of communication/clarity in procedures between Lansing and Denver. Too much emphasis on quantity instead of quality (how about we do it right the first time instead of flying through it and making mistakes in order to "meet occupancy.") Some processing work is being outsourced to India. Some immature, unprofessional co-workers who spent half their days goofing off or on personal calls.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Its okay, but not the worst

      May 21, 2015 - Client Service Specialist in Franklin, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great amount of PTO if managed properly - Adequate pay - Monday-Friday -

      Cons

      Shift bids every 6 months - no guarantee of the schedule every 6 months as hours are 8 - 8 a.m EST, Mon-Fri. There is an "us" and "them" culture between the Nashville office and Home Office in Lansing, MI. There is no room for true advancement. The culture looks at "promotion" as doing more within the current job role.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Laid off Nashville operations

      Sep 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work from home funny michigan accents at least they told us in advance that everybody was getting laid off

      Cons

      small annual raises inexperienced middle management poor coordination with Lansing operations

      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Jackson National Life Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Jackson National Life? Share Your Experiences

    or