Jane Street "smart people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Jane Street Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
92%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Jane Street Managing Director Sandor Lehoczky
Sandor Lehoczky
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours entail constant mental exertion(in 6 reviews)

  • "No cons that come to mind for me(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "smart people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good, but confusing codebase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I have been working at Jane Street full-time

    Pros

    OCaml, interesting problems, smart people

    Cons

    Hard to see where your code is used

    Jane Street2019-08-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Trading Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Assistant Trader in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Jane Street for less than a year

    Pros

    There were lots of educational classes during both the summer and winter internships. Also great mentorship, really smart people, learned a lot.

    Cons

    The intern projects weren't as closely tied to real traders' projects as I would have liked. This was mostly due to IP concerns, which makes sense, but is still nonoptimal.

    Jane Street2016-10-11
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Overall good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jane Street

    Pros

    Extremely smart people, generally good culture

    Cons

    Can be tiring only doing technical work and discussing quantitative topics in and out of the office

    Jane Street2016-09-15
  4. "Trading Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Jane Street

    Pros

    Very smart people. Good compensation

    Cons

    Stressful environment. Can be pretty intense and tiring.

    Jane Street2016-09-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Jane Street

    Pros

    Not bad for prop shop, smart people

    Cons

    Can be cliquey, but not too bad.

    Jane Street2014-12-23
  6. "Jane Street"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jane Street for less than a year

    Pros

    - huge variety of unlimited food in the office - lots of benefits - great pay especially for an internship - smart people - you learn a lot during the 8-10 weeks here

    Cons

    - company getting slightly big to my taste

    Jane Street2019-04-03
  7. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Jane Street

    Pros

    Work with smart people and learn a lot

    Cons

    Everything is good,

    Jane Street2019-01-28
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Cool company with a lot of smart guys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Trader in Central
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jane Street full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    working with a lot of smart people

    Cons

    Ocaml...working hour is a bit long in HK office

    Jane Street2013-05-13
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Jane St Capital Trading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trader 
    Recommends

    I worked at Jane Street

    Pros

    The payout is very very satisfying. It is very challenging. You are working in an environment with a lot of very very smart people.

    Cons

    You are constantly challenging yourself, your peers are the smartest people in the world. In the beginning, it is extremely hard to make money. Almost all traders fail at the start, but they teach you how to later be very profitable.

    Continue reading
    Jane Street2010-05-03
  10. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Jane Street

    Pros

    Great salary and smart people

    Cons

    Long hours and not the best work environement

    Continue reading
    Jane Street2010-03-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews