Janney Montgomery Scott Reviews | Glassdoor

Janney Montgomery Scott Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Janney Montgomery Scott CEO Tim Scheve (no image)
Tim Scheve
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice people work there, no pressure cooker(in 14 reviews)

  • "Excellent company culture, friendly work environment, fair compensation, great work experience(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have never seen such high turnover in my career, but it is easily explained given that Janney doesn't conduct exit interviews(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Janney Montgomery Scott full-time

    Pros

    Great start out pay. Team is awesome. The staff her is so nice and kind. Even the stock brokers are nice! I really love it here. Chances to move up the corporate ladder are great.

    Cons

    Only thing I can say is the 401k sucks and is not worth investing in and medical package is really high.

    Advice to Management

    None I can think Of, but keep doing what you are doing.

    Janney Montgomery Scott2019-07-11
  2. "Enjoy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered PCA in Port St Lucie, FL

    I have been working at Janney Montgomery Scott full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, supportive home office employees

    Cons

    Even though salary employee, track hours via electronic timeclock and paid hourly

    Janney Montgomery Scott2019-09-16
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Private Client Associate in Pittsburgh, PA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Janney Montgomery Scott full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, good software and technology

    Cons

    benefits and payroll system is unclear

    Janney Montgomery Scott2019-09-10
  4. "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Settlements Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Janney Montgomery Scott full-time

    Pros

    Learn a lot, room to move up if you so desire. Might take some time, but it's possible.

    Cons

    Resistant to changes other firms have implemented long ago.

    Janney Montgomery Scott2019-08-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not a place for women to thrive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Janney Montgomery Scott full-time

    Pros

    Convenient Center City Philadelphia Location

    Cons

    Low salary, no advancement opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Get new leadership

    Janney Montgomery Scott2019-08-21
  6. "Average Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at Janney Montgomery Scott full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Helpful Staff Access to senior officers

    Cons

    Little to no training for new employees. Completely on your own.

    Janney Montgomery Scott2019-05-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Wealth Managers are Wealth Hoarders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Janney Montgomery Scott full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Downtown Philadelphia Walk to work

    Cons

    "Customer focus" are superficial talk but inherently GREED is their primary motivation. They present themselves as Fiduciary Advisers but secretly find ways to circumvent SEC & FINRA and maximize trading activities and profit. I've sat in meetings and overheard conversations about "diversifying" and "re-balancing" savings and retirement accounts (buzz words) but realistically, it was actual Churning maximized.... The culture here is Greed but its all wrapped in pretty paper and ribbons designed to fool customers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow a heart

    Janney Montgomery Scott2019-05-19
  8. "Most "advisor centric" investment firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Vice President in New Haven, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Janney Montgomery Scott full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The most advisor centric investment firm in the US.

    Cons

    Lacks a trust department but have several trust alternatives

    Advice to Management

    Continue to involve financial advisors in decision making.

    Janney Montgomery Scott2019-04-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Third tier firm, lacks leadership and direction, high overhead keeps comp below avg."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Janney Montgomery Scott full-time

    Pros

    Nice people work there, no pressure cooker

    Cons

    Please see the headline above

    Advice to Management

    Find proactive management, invest more in the business, less in dividends to parent

    Janney Montgomery Scott2019-03-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Horrid middle management, very high turnover, archaic technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Janney Montgomery Scott full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful office in Center City Friendly coworkers Not much else

    Cons

    I have never seen such high turnover in my career, but it is easily explained given that Janney doesn't conduct exit interviews. Nor do they invest in performance reviews (you will never be given the chance to give feedback on your manager.) So the same position will turnover 3 times in fewer than 18 months. Managers/VP's become managers only because they are the only people not saavy or qualified enough to leave,... not because they are good managers. Systems are poor, data management is archaic (I have spreadsheets that were 750k rows (and I was not in data analytics!) Processes are extremely manual, you focus less on analysis and more on data extraction and manipulation (again, I didn't work on IT or Operations.) Leadership is truly pathetic at the Manager and VP levels, I had better managers working at a diner and Starbucks. Men leave jobs in Wealth Management , and women are hired into them at half the pay. Entire departments quit at the same time, leaving management desperate and scrambling, thus perpetuating the same cycle. You will be miserable if you work here, don't do it. Benefits are extremely expensive, I basically paid for all of my own healthcare because my deductible was $1,500, and I had the most expensive plan. Sick days are limited to 7 PTO days, though you'll still have to do most of your work here upon you return.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers - and yourselves. Invest in exit interviews, unless you really don't care what happens to Janney. Invest in technology. Offer more affordable health plans.

    Janney Montgomery Scott2019-01-18
Found 110 reviews