Janus Capital Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Janus Capital Reviews

Updated May 1, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Janus Capital CEO Richard M. (Dick) Weil
Richard M. (Dick) Weil
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Trade Ops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trade Operations Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Janus Capital for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, decent compensation

    Cons

    I can not think of any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Janus Capital2018-02-01
  2. "Client Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Janus Capital full-time

    Pros

    Work Hours, Flexibility, Great teammates

    Cons

    401k Match not full vested

    Janus Capital2018-05-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Benefits & Pay great if you can put up with the BS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Administrator in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Janus Capital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits & pay. The working conditions are nice and the company invests in architecture without issue. Up to date technology.

    Cons

    Managers and above had superior egos, treat underlings with little to no respect. High turnover lower down the totem pole.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with benefits & pay, train management to create a better group working environment, lose the ego, retain lower underlings.

    Janus Capital2018-03-28
  4. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Janus Capital full-time

    Pros

    Fair pay, good benefits and good people... mostly.

    Cons

    The loss of company morale in the last few years is unfortunate. I really don't know many employees who are happy there.

    Advice to Management

    People are your greatest asset. Treat them like it.

    Janus Capital2018-02-19
  5. "Janus is going through a lot of changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Janus Capital full-time

    Pros

    Good people, location and work/life balance

    Cons

    Merger with Henderson has been messy. Lots of jobs cut or not replaced

    Advice to Management

    Focus on creating a more positive culture

    Janus Capital2018-02-01
  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Janus Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance, PTO, Health Ins.

    Cons

    The usual corp. stuff, lots of buddy buddy system

    Advice to Management

    More involvement from junior staff

    Janus Capital2018-01-10
  7. "Here for a good time, not for a long time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Janus Capital full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, top notch benefits, management does their best to best to have your back, and prefer to promote from within

    Cons

    Typical chain of command management system, who you know > what you know

    Janus Capital2018-01-05
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A company begging for a lawsuit against them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Janus Capital full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers were generally friendly and very hard working people.

    Cons

    DO NOT go to HR with ANY issues or they will ignore your problem, talk to your manager about it, and attempt to terminate you from the company. In my department, we usually worked 9-9.5 hours, 5 days a week as hourly employees and were required to report 40 hours on our time card no matter what. The only employees that stayed, were the ones that didn't have any other options and needed this job for their rent check.... None of my co-workers had been there over a year

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I really don't believe your entire company is corrupt, because if it was, you wouldn't still be in business. However, pieces of your company are actually breaking labor laws, and that will come back to haunt you once an employee actually finds it worth their time to report you to the DOL (because obviously HR and mid-level management does nothing about it and tries to cover it up).

    Janus Capital2018-01-29
  9. "Senior Hr and Payroll Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Janus Capital full-time

    Pros

    Great company and good employee perks Flexibility Close interaction with Top management possible

    Cons

    Growth is very slow. Small team/single team member handling multiple business clients

    Janus Capital2017-12-18
  10. "Competitive with no expertise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Janus Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Just glad I got an office

    Cons

    I was on a small marketing that ended up being full of nasty, new employees who were all competitive for no reason. The management critiqued work on criteria they kept changing. The whole time I was there was a frustrating experience. Also, my contractor colleagues often told me they were paid extremely late

    Janus Capital2017-12-22
Found 161 reviews