Japan Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Japan Society Reviews

Updated Apr 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Motoatsu Sakurai
3 Ratings
  1. "Great experience as first intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Japan Society for less than a year

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      I can't come up with cons

      Japan Society2019-04-14
    • "Great for entry level positions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Japan Society

      Pros

      Nice environment, colleagues, and events.

      Cons

      Interns are unpaid and benefits for interns are not satisfactory.

      Advice to Management

      More

      Japan Society2018-09-05
    • "intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Japan Society

        Pros

        very nice people and working environment

        Cons

        not too much to do

        Japan Society2018-06-19
      • "Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Japan Society

          Pros

          - relaxed, calm environment - friendly employees - plenty of free perks: go to other museums, zoos for discounted prices/ free food sometimes/ free coffee

          Cons

          - might be a slow environment for some - no pay for internship but its a nonprofit organization & it's part time so it might be a con or pro for some

          Japan Society2018-05-31
        • "Nice team and environment"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Intern 

            I have been working at Japan Society

            Pros

            pretty nice team and interested events

            Cons

            Routines can be a bit boring

            Japan Society2017-10-31
          • "Graphic Design Intern"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
              Recommends
              Positive Outlook

              I worked at Japan Society

              Pros

              Nice office with a gallery and a library. Staff are friendly and helpful.

              Cons

              I don't know how it is now but the internship was unpaid in 1999. It could be depends on the role also.

              Japan Society2017-10-10
            • "Intern"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Career Opportunities
              Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I have been working at Japan Society

              Pros

              Fantastic work environment. Everyone is very welcoming and kind

              Cons

              I have not experienced any negatives.

              Japan Society2017-08-07
            • "Finance Intern"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I worked at Japan Society

              Pros

              Very nice work environment

              Cons

              Everyone is friendly and very nice work experience.

              Japan Society2017-04-13
            • Helpful (2)

              "Internship"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Current Employee - Intern in New York, NY
              Recommends
              Neutral Outlook
              Approves of CEO

              I have been working at Japan Society for less than a year

              Pros

              the people-- because it is a small non-profit, everyone is really friendly, relationship with other interns, learning about programs like Raiser's Edge, comparatively casual work environment, relaxed attire, many opportunities to apply for higher positions

              Cons

              the work is monotonous, and boring; compared to other departments, there are strict hour requirements per week; outdated formats for certain tasks that I suggested updating, but they do not want to have to change something that works, albeit slowly

              Advice to Management

              allot more varied work for interns; when there is need for more help, I get to do actually interesting work. But usually, I am given busy work that makes me want to fall asleep.

              Japan Society2016-04-13
            • "Accountant"

              StarStarStarStarStar
                Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
                Recommends
                Positive Outlook
                Approves of CEO

                I have been working at Japan Society

                Pros

                This is a great place to work, mixed with great people to work with. You will get a better insight of Japanese culture and in terms of accounting you will get a better understanding of nonprofit accounting!

                Cons

                There is no room for growth, but definitely still a great entry level accounting position

                Japan Society2015-06-03
              Found 15 reviews