Jawonio Reviews | Glassdoor

Jawonio Reviews

Updated 26 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
Jawonio CEO Jill Warner
Jill Warner
0 Ratings
  1. "Great Enviornment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Care 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Jawonio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of great people working hard. Management tries hard to support the employees and make them feel appreciated. Jill, the CEO, is very fair she helped me out when I needed her.

    Cons

    Non Profits are tough, not enough money to go around. Wish there were more promotional opportunities

    Jawonio2018-03-16
  2. "Depends on your department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Employment in Rockland, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Jawonio full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If working in Community Employment: Good management, good flexibility, overall good culture, Resume boosting experiences

    Cons

    Poor assisted technology, compensation doesn't match responsibilities, Inconsistent operation, favoritism, overburdened workforce

    Advice to Management

    Operational restructuring, increased compensation

    Jawonio2019-05-26
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jawonio full-time

    Pros

    Great CEO, senior management more program exposure

    Cons

    Salary is too low, benefits expernsive

    Advice to Management

    More visibility

    Jawonio2018-06-27
  4. "Curious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Jawonio full-time

    Pros

    Helping people with disabilities of any kind

    Cons

    Stressful, a lot of work

    Jawonio2018-03-21
  5. "lpn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jawonio part-time

    Pros

    good place to start new

    Cons

    hard to leave, when better jobs come up

    Jawonio2017-04-10
  6. "Direct support professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Support Professional in New City, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Jawonio

    Pros

    They are very flexible with needing time off or being late to work. There is a lot of overtime if you need it.

    Cons

    The outtings may be all day so I would plan ahead just in case. Emergancy visits also can be all day.

    Jawonio2016-08-26
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time in Rockland, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jawonio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co workers, learning environment, flexible with scheduling and time off. HR department is supportive and helpful during the hiring process. Decent benefits, tuition reimbursements

    Cons

    Salary could be better, but its hard with non profit work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep inspiring others to help others.

    Jawonio2016-08-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Don't Stay Here Too Long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Jawonio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being part of a company that works to help those in need. Nice health benefits and PTO.

    Cons

    Terrible upper management. Not sure how some of them made it to the top. No room for growth. No raises. Low salary.

    Advice to Management

    Reward those who actually work hard. Get rid of deadweight upper management and replace them with fresh brains.

    Jawonio2016-01-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Better places out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jawonio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours are okay. A very select few people are friendly. Sad that none of them are Sr Management. Nothing else I can thing of

    Cons

    Negative people. Poor pay. Only some people seem happy to be there. Sr. Mgmt have no clue how bad the environment is. Systems are old. Building smells.

    Advice to Management

    New Ceo needed badly.

    Jawonio2015-12-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Don't waste your time and energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Preschool Worker in New City, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Jawonio for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The children, location, parking availability, some of the consumers and co workers

    Cons

    They don't care about their employees only about making a profit! You can work hard for many years there and still be set up to fail so they can fire you. Low pay, no support, limited time off and if you take your vested time you're made to feel guilty about it, poor training for support staff, the list goes on and on........

    Advice to Management

    Treat your hard, long time workers with more gratitude and respect! Instead of what your employee can't do tell them what they do well and they'll want to work harder. Provide the support needed and be open to change.

    Jawonio2015-08-14
Found 16 reviews