Jefferson County (Colorado) Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Jefferson County (Colorado) Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Jefferson County (Colorado) County Manager Don Davis (no image)
Don Davis
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and a true desire to help others(in 7 reviews)

  • "Decent benefits, allows for work life balance, re nice helpful employees,(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jefferson County (Colorado) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, decent benefits, get to work outside

    Cons

    Limited room for growth, no pto for temp employees

    Jefferson County (Colorado)2020-01-05
  2. "Great job, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Paraprofessional 

    I worked at Jefferson County (Colorado) full-time

    Pros

    Working with kids, school schedule, awesome staff

    Cons

    Very low pay, $1000 - $1500 per month

    Jefferson County (Colorado)2019-09-25
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jefferson County (Colorado) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great professional development and opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Don't pay as much as other nearby districts

    Jefferson County (Colorado)2019-09-09
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Jefferson County (Colorado) part-time

    Pros

    benefits, good management, positive work environment

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    Jefferson County (Colorado)2019-02-20
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commissioner in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jefferson County (Colorado) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a "team effort" at Jeffco. Everyone's contribution is valued.

    Cons

    Can't think of any! Pay could be better, but the benefits are great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to staff. Speed up the application process for job applicants.

    Jefferson County (Colorado)2018-12-28
  6. "Human Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jefferson County (Colorado) full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, Monday-Friday work schedule, Hire from within

    Cons

    Favoritism is blatantly obvious; Constantly tell you that you have the resources and help you need to do your job but when it comes to looking or asking for help, you can't get any of the so called help that they speak of. Supervisors and higher ups act like they are better than you and are extremely unapproachable. Divisions are Cliquey. Low morale. Seems like none of the employees really care about the work they are doing and are just there to get their pay check-- can't really blame them since none of their leads or supervisors show that they really care about the clients or work they do. Also, surrounding counties pay significantly more for the same positions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be a role model...you can't expect the employees to care or get the work done if you don't demonstrate that care yourself. Treat everyone equally, whether they've been their a month and you barely know them, or they've been there 10 years and you're best friends.

    Jefferson County (Colorado)2018-11-09
  7. "Human Services Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jefferson County (Colorado) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoy working for Jefferson County. There is a culture of innovation and a desire to be the employer of choice. There are lots of training opportunities and strong partnerships with the community.

    Cons

    The cost of living in Colorado is very high at this time. Raises are struggling to keep up with how quickly the price of everything has increased.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time listening to employees and be willing to take risks for the further good of the agency.

    Jefferson County (Colorado)2018-10-17
  8. "Jefferson County Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - County Manager in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jefferson County (Colorado) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dedicated, caring and motivated employees Beautiful County

    Cons

    Tabor limitations to budget constricts service High cost of living

    Jefferson County (Colorado)2018-10-01
  9. "Jailer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jefferson County (Colorado) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great job for anyone who works there

    Cons

    Very good pay and structure

    Jefferson County (Colorado)2018-07-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Has potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Golden, CO
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jefferson County (Colorado) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, work schedule options, location, training's available

    Cons

    the downside to working with Jefferson County is the directors, managers, and supervisors. Unfortunately, this is the only piece that makes Jefferson County's turnover so high. The positions don't lure in talent because the pay isn't that appealing, the schedules are not as flexible and their is lack of support for leadership. So, they end up hiring young inexperienced people who rule with an iron fist, micromanage and create toxic work environments. They lack people and communication skills let alone management skills. The program director and supervisors in my department are new (within past 3 years) and within this time frame we have had more turnover since they came in than the department has experienced in over 20 years. People use to retire causing an open position, now, people are leaving quickly. The turnover causes instability and stress for case coverage followed by unreasonable bosses and juvenile attitudes it makes for a horrible place to work. We have discussed these issues, tried to vocalize, filled out survey monkeys and have done our part, however, we have found those who spoke up or mentioned the issues were found to be disturbances and became targeted and the way they were treated made them leave. The director here and supervisors love to name drop, so be careful when you bring something to their attention. Now, the rest of us who remain keep quiet, our heads down and don't engage with anyone anymore. It all very unfortunate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire people just because they apply. We would rather you re-post and have a vacancy than be under the thumb of an ignorant individual. I would recommend allowing the supervisors schedule to be flexible too, and pay more appealing. Working from home is the future and technology allows for every aspect of communication and work as if you were in the office. There are qualified, intelligent people who would consider a supervisor position if it were more appealing.

    Show More
    Jefferson County (Colorado)2018-08-07
Found 71 reviews