Jenny Craig Reviews | Glassdoor

Jenny Craig Reviews

Updated December 4, 2017
324 reviews

Filter

Filter

Current Employees

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Jenny Craig CEO Monty Sharma
Monty Sharma
129 Ratings

324 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • It is also satisfying to be in a job where your goal is helping people be healthy and lose weight (in 110 reviews)

  • Literally see people change their lives in front of your eyes and have the oppertunity to train your team to guide their members to get to their goals (in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • Micro managing from upper management (in 46 reviews)

  • The owner does not do a very good job communicating information to staff or center director (in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Center Director in for the long haul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Director in Phila, PA
    Current Employee - Center Director in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I love this Company, I love my clients, and I love what we do to help them overcome their challenges. I've been here 15+ years and have seen many ups and down. The current ownership has been generous with giving us large raises last year, despite the fact that the Obama executive order didn't go through. They really didn't have to do this...but did so anyway

    Cons

    I think some of my peers tend to focus only on the negative and forget all of the good things we have. Some complain that they have to work on Saturdays. However, we close at 3pm. When I was in retail, we were open on Saturdays until 8pm.....Compared to that, our working hours are a gift. These same people complain that they have to see clients because we now have fewer consultants. For me, seeing clients is a privilege. Without them, none of us have jobs.

    Advice to Management

    I think the best thing that management can do is to figure out a way to market the Program differently. Our commercials are on TV; however, I wonder how many people actually watch TV these days. If we were able to get more UNS, many of the complaints would subside.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review and your perspective! We need your views to be contagious and I believe that in 2018 we can make it happen together. I'm excited about some things that our Marketing team... More


  2. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    helping my clients with their lives is so fulfilling. I love the company's new service model. So refreshing that we are getting back to what this business is all about.

    Cons

    the business is seasonal....super busy in the winter, slow around the holidays

    Advice to Management

    we need a new marketing approach. the same commercials with client/consultant are old

    Jenny Craig Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review! Our marketing folks are working hard on new approaches and you should see more in 2018!!

  3. "Helping people achieve goals in a teamwork atmosphere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Helping people be healthy, flexibility with hours, teamwork atmosphere, compensation is better than retail, advancement opportunities. You actually learn a lot of skills working here.

    Cons

    Can be fast paced, so expect to work when you are at work. The better you do, the more you are rewarded with hours and such.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review!


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Center Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The fulfillment that you get from working with clients and keeping them successful is the most rewarding

    Cons

    The company does not back there employees or support the needs to many changes to often and you’re not paid enough for the job description in the responsibilities that you take on

    Advice to Management

    HR and upper management don’t back there center directors they take the word of the smaller employee there’s no job security watch your back if you work for this company

    Jenny Craig Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    I'm sorry that you do not feel supported by management and HR. There must be an experience that you have had that makes you feel this way. I welcome the opportunity to hear from you to discuss. My... More


  5. Helpful (10)

    "Weight Loss Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in South Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in South Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Jenny Craig part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Program is top doctor-approved in country, it works for me, it is healthy and practical and changes behaviour; I like supporting clients with something I believe in; food is very good and I get it half-price as employee;

    Cons

    Unfair employee scheduling practices, little positive feedback or respect for goals met, company constantly increases goals to cut back on bonus payments

    Advice to Management

    You are losing many employees by cutting back their hours so drastically and cutting bonuses


  6. Helpful (7)

    "Jenny Craig is going down hill."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Director
    Current Employee - Center Director
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Help people with weight loss. Work one on one with members when the phone is not ringing or people aren't walkiing kijn the door.

    Cons

    As a manager, we were made to continually cut labor hours which left employees working in the center alone. The customer service went down hill fast. Seems as though the company is trying to show a profit by cutting one of the most important pieces out of the equation, consultants. There are absolutely no perks to being the manager anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate the labor hour structure. You are losing customer service.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    I'm sorry for your negative experience and outlook and I hope that you are open to seeing the changes we are making can have a positive outcome for our employees, the clients and our business. You... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "I know how good I have it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Director
    Current Employee - Center Director
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Worked in retail before this, so love the fact that I don't work evenings past 7, weekends past 1pm. Full time benefits at 30 hours. Get to help people change their lives.

    Cons

    Honestly, the biggest downer is the negativity of some of the long time employees. They complain about hours being cut, but they're unwilling to work certain shifts. They complain that they're not appreciated, but they cut corners and pretend like their making phone calls (but really aren't). The Market Director says that we have to deal with it because HR won't let her terminate anyone.

    Advice to Management

    We need to get some new blood in here. We've had a part time position that's been open for three months...we've only gotten one qualified candidate in that time frame. When jobs are open so long, it puts a strain on the rest of us, especially when some of the long term employees aren't flexible (or reasonable).

    Jenny Craig Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for the favorable review. Please contact your HR business partner to let them know you are not getting candidates. That's not ok and we need to work more with your recruiter to give them this... More

  8. Helpful (13)

    "Reduced hours, unsteady future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Sacramento, CA
    Current Employee - Consultant in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Jenny Craig part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Love helping people change their lives and get healthy!

    Cons

    Beginning of this yr 2017 they increased everyone's salaries. Yeah! BUT! Then January 2017 they also reduced our hours. Change sched a lot. 30 hrs is FT. They tryto give you below that so then they don't have to pay insurance. My paycheck is about a third of what it once was. Customer srvc not as good because only about 2-3 employees in centers doing same thing. Half the time you are by yourself in the office with phones ringing and clients walking in while your giving a consultation you get interrupted so many times it's hard to give a quality consultation. I can tell clients don't appreciate it.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "jcc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Jenny Craig part-time

    Pros

    helping people to achieve their weight loss goals

    Cons

    cut hrs in the bad times


  10. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Jenny Craig part-time

    Pros

    Great Company to work for

    Cons

    Mostly part time work only


Showing 324 of 632 reviews
Reset Filters