Jenny Craig Reviews | Glassdoor

Jenny Craig Reviews

Updated July 12, 2017
69 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Jenny Craig CEO Monty Sharma
Monty Sharma
37 Ratings

69 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • It is also satisfying to be in a job where your goal is helping people be healthy and lose weight (in 104 reviews)

  • Literally see people change their lives in front of your eyes and have the oppertunity to train your team to guide their members to get to their goals (in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • Micro managing from upper management (in 46 reviews)

  • There is not a lot of room for growth and advancement in the company, not very many promotions available, great for experience (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "one year with company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Counselor in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Counselor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Helping my clients lose weight. I'm using some of the coaching skills I've learned with my kids!! Benefits are good, much better than previous retail job. plus we get 50% off food.

    Cons

    July is slow season so I have to travel to another center to get enough hours. Open every day except Christmas and Thanksgiving, so we work holidays.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Worked for the company for 11 years. Left for family reasons. I wouldn't have stayed that long if it was a bad place to work. A very rewarding job because I got to help so many people.

    Cons

    You have to be flexible with your hours. Work schedule will change from week-to-week.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review and for the time you spent here changing lives.

  3. "help others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Central Islip, NY
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Central Islip, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Over the years, I've met some wonderful people and have been able to help them with their weight and food struggles. The other ladies that work in the Center are like family to me. Our weight loss program is the best one out there.

    Cons

    We aren't as busy as we used to be. I remember during the Kirstie Alley days when the phone rang off the hook and we had trouble keeping up.

    Advice to Management

    Need a new marketing campaign or promotion to bring in new customers.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your commitment to your clients and your coworkers. We are working on the fall '17 and Jan '18 ad campaign and hope you like it!


  4. Helpful (1)

    "17 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I worked for the Company for 17 years. I've went through the ups and downs. Had numerous managers...some were terrible, some were terrific. What kept me there for so long was the impact I made with my clients.

    Cons

    The Company needs to figure out a way to compete against Nutrisystem, Weight Watchers, Medifast, etc.

    Advice to Management

    It's great we're spending much more on advertising. However, it's not getting us more clients in the Center.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your service and for your impact on the clients.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Director in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Center Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I was hired from outside the Company into a Center Director position. Been here for 1.5 years. We have an incredible group of consultants who help clients lose weight. The program works.

    Cons

    Wish we were busier in the summer. Not many people want to go on a diet in the summertime.

    Advice to Management

    We get quite a few clients who ask about organic food. Maybe it's something we should explore.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review and advice.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "came back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I left the Company for a couple of years and came back. A lot has happened since I've been gone. New computers in the Centers, the menu/food has been redesigned, they increased our base pay and got us off of the terrible commission program, and they introduced a new service model.

    Cons

    I don't really have any. The gas wasn't greener. I'm happy to be back.

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes, we get online sales appointments that are really RTAs. Figure out how to fix this.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review and advice.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Center Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Director in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Center Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    It might sound "corny," but I feel like I help change people's lives for the better.

    Cons

    We are busiest on Saturdays and Sundays. It's tough to find good employees who want to work on the weekend.

    Advice to Management

    Look at offering a gluten free menu. Lots of clients ask for it.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review...and it isn't "corny"! As you read these reviews, it is overwhelming how many of our staff love to help people change their lives. We have a special thing!

  8. "love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    love helping my clients. This is a great part time job for me. It pays decent, I can work on weekends during the morning/afternoon and still enjoy my weekend evenings.

    Cons

    Listening to some of the long term employees complain about how it used to be.

    Advice to Management

    Our Center needs new carpet.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review.


  9. "Center Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Center Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I came in as a Consultant a couple years ago, was able to prove myself, and am now running my own Center. With my clients and my staff, I feel like I'm making a difference every day.

    Cons

    Some of the people in the corporate office are a little out of touch of what happens in the centers. For example, I'm not sure they understand how difficult it is when we run out of stock of items that are on the menu.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe try to use humor in our advertising. I think this worked when Kirstie Alley was the spokesperson several years ago.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Congratulations on your career progression with Jenny and I'm happy to hear that you love making a difference in the lives of our clients. You also have the fortune of making the difference in the... More


  10. "Couldn't have done it without me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Last week, one of my clients hit her goal weight. She was in tears and said "I couldn't have done it without me." Such an awesome feeling.

    Cons

    I don't really have any ill will toward the Company. Is it perfect? Of course not. However, the Company is taking steps to improve the business by implementing a new service model, increasing our pay rates, and moving out some of the negative people.

    Advice to Management

    I ould love to get commuter credit reimbursement for taking public transportation to work.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review! I will have our Benefits team look into this commuter credit. Please feel free to follow up with us at benefits@cjc.com and we will find out if this is an option we can... More


Showing 69 of 604 reviews
Reset Filters