Jenny Craig Employee Reviews | Glassdoor

Jenny Craig Reviews

Updated March 29, 2017
542 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

542 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Helping people get to healthy weight (in 95 reviews)

  • i can't even give a pro other than the fact that I was able to help people change their lives in a positive way (in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • I wish upper management knew how he acted (in 41 reviews)

  • There is not a lot of room for growth and advancement in the company, not very many promotions available, great for experience (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Weight Loss Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Plano, TX
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love working with the clients. Job is fast-paced and the day goes quickly.

    Cons

    Sometimes unusual shift times, seven days/week.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jan 20, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! If you have any ideas on how we can improve scheduling please reach out. Thank you for your commitment to our clients.


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Fun Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multi Unit Center Director in Charlotte, NC
    Former Employee - Multi Unit Center Director in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great Training and coworkers -- love watching clients results great program that produces results

    Cons

    Payroll Constraints and false promises -- Stick to policy -- was told one thing by regional managers only to learn it was not allowed I personally lost money as a result -- abide by travel policies -- company is very fragile was sold same year.

    Advice to Management

    Honesty --especially when travel is involved the IRS is watching what you are telling employees.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jan 20, 2017 – Human Resources

    We are glad you had great training and coworkers during your time at Jenny Craig. We apologize for the poor communication. Your feedback is helpful and we have a plan to improve the training of our ... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    benefits, work life balance, and very flexible

    Cons

    long hours, schedule not great, work on saturdays

    Advice to Management

    higher pay and compensation for the consultants

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jan 20, 2017 – Human Resources

    We are so happy you love it here. We agree that the Consultants are important to our business. Reviewing pay structures will continue to be a part of our process to ensure we remain competitive as an ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (5)

    "Company has no regard for emplolyees"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Centre Director
    Former Employee - Centre Director
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Helping people. Developing strong bonds with patrons

    Cons

    Undervalued. Negative management tactics. Motivated through fear of job security.

    Advice to Management

    None. Many have been made on deaf ears

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jan 6, 2017 – Human Resources

    One of our values is to demonstrate passion and commitment to help others succeed. It sounds like we failed you in that respect. Our objective is to ensure that employees are heard and their ideas ... More


  6. Helpful (9)

    "Consultant- Don't work here if looking for a career"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant
    Former Employee - Consultant
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Seeing people's lives change and helping them along the way. That's the only pro. Just filling up space to meet the 20 word min.

    Cons

    Where to start...... the compensation is an absolute JOKE. Thanks for the bait and switch on our new compensation. Raise our hourly, yet cut everyone's hours so you are making the exact same thing you were before. Plus cutting the bonuses down to almost nothing didn't help. The last year I stayed with the company hoping things would turn around in 2017 for compensation, but it's a facade, and quite frankly as an employee of 5 years insulting, unmotivating, and devaluing of the people who are doing the toughest job out there, the consultants! No one can stay and work as a consultant and pay their bills. Meanwhile the center directors got a very nice raise, yet do no where near the amount of work the consultants do and skip out early each day.

    Materials needed for new menus are never on time. Food doesn't arrive on time when corporate says it will or mysteriously has "shortages" on food and informs its consultants at the very last shipment, leaving us to deal with disgruntled clients. Consultants are held accountable to impossible metrics, especially having the WORST marketing done for a weight loss company. How are we supposed to bring new people in the doors if the company doesn't advertise properly or advertise in a way that actually effects people.

    The centers are old and run down. The dialogue that corporate gives the field team for selling programs and making sales are completely unrealistic.

    Zero reward for hitting any type of weight loss metric. Aren't we a weight loss company? Shouldn't we be getting some type of bonus for helping our clients reach and maintain their optimal health?

    I at one point wanted to move up in the company to a center director, but I am so discouraged with where the company is going.

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to your employees at the bottom and treating them better. Otherwise everyone will keep walking out the door with sour tastes in their mouths and nothing nice to say. This company has become nothing but money hungry and greedy. If you treat your employees correctly they want to be at work and are optimistic in continuing to create and grow as a whole company. All of us are so beaten down and panic stricken over bills and the atmosphere of sell sell sell sell it's a horrible place to be. You need to really do the 360 turn around your employees were praying for in 2017. We can't do all the work we need the support and encouragement from corporate management.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jan 6, 2017 – Human Resources

    We are sorry to see you go. It's true, our hours typically do reduce at the end of the year, prior to quarter one which is when the business picks back up after the holidays. We are currently ... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Whittier, CA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Whittier, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Helping people live a healthy lufestyle

    Cons

    Centers are run down and not curb appeal.

    Advice to Management

    Food is taken away and say it will return but months go by and lno explication to give to unhappy clients

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jan 20, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you so much for leading your center. We completely understand your concern and have recently implemented new processes to reduce any miscommunication to our field employees. Please reach out to ... More


  8. Helpful (11)

    "Consultants"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jenny Craig full-time

    Pros

    Working with my clients to help them achieve there goals.

    Cons

    Human Resources?? Notice how Jenny Craig replies to negative ratings?

    The biggest complaint of working for Jenny Craig is bad management and unlivable wage.
    They say we're sorry YOU feel that way which is a physical response of putting it back on the person. I in no way see that they care. And as for going to Human Resources they are of no help what so ever, in fact because of me calling HR for extremely valid reasons I then was harassed and bullied by management until the awful stress made me leave which is what they wanted. HR is part of the bad management they work together. I would never trust this company there is no remnant of what it was base on it is just a number and that's how they treat there employees. Is "I'm sorry you feel that way" a real apology? Why?
    Definitely not. If anything it's the opposite of an apology, suggesting as it does that the person who is "sorry you feel that way" has done nothing wrong, and that the fault lies with "you" for feeling otherwise. A more patent way of phrasing the sentiment expressed would be "Too bad for you that you can't get over it."

    Advice to Management

    I have none they don't care and will never change. You obviously want a high turn over of consultants so you can pay them less.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Human Resources

    We are not sure of your particular situation, but it is difficult to hear this feedback. Please give us a call so we can make it better. Good luck on the next chapter of your career.


  9. Helpful (12)

    "Work anywhere else but here..."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant
    Current Employee - Consultant
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    The ONLY pro is the food is good and you get a discount on it.

    Cons

    Horrible Upper management! This company obviously doesn't care about their consultants or their well being. They are constantly changing expectation and lowering pay. This company is barely keeping their head above water, and it's just a matter of time before it sinks. Do yourself a favor, don't get on board this sinking ship!

    Advice to Management

    Start treating you "secret sauce" employees better, stop cutting hours and pay, especially during the holidays! Without the work consultants do, Jenny Craig as a company could not function. Rather than cut bonuses and try and appeal to us y slightly upping hourly pay, stop cutting hours. No duh will the business be slower in November and December, but why should we be cut back to less than most part time employees?? And the last month we can get a "decent" bonus, no one is allowed to work enough hours to get the top tier. You want to keep consultants around and avoid turnover, treat us with respect!!!

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jan 6, 2017 – Human Resources

    You seem upset and that's concerning to us. Please call your HR Business Partner so we can talk through this.


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Helping people lose weight and change their habits is extremely rewarding

    Cons

    The center director is not very supportive, and her style is an old fashion punitive one. Many of the clients are afraid of her because she overwhelms them with too much information at one time. I've seen people actually run away from her.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the CDs accountable to helping the business develop and grow rather than micromanage. It really is not possible to make a living with what we can get for compensation.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jan 6, 2017 – Human Resources

    Glad you feel like you are making a difference! That being said, we hate to hear that you don't feel supported. Please call the HR department so that we can work through it together.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Ok for entry level"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Jenny Craig full-time

    Pros

    Discount on food and exercise equipment.

    Cons

    Poor communication between management and employees. CSC do all the hard work but don't make nearly as much in commissions as the weight loss consultants.

    Jenny Craig Response

    Jan 6, 2017 – Human Resources

    We understand your concerns. We encourage our CSCs to apply for our JCC roles to increase their pay.



Showing 542 of 548 reviews
Reset Filters