Jenny Craig "center director" Reviews | Glassdoor

Jenny Craig Employee Reviews about "center director"

Updated Nov 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Jenny Craig CEO Monty Sharma
Monty Sharma
278 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helping people to get healthier & change their lifestyles is very satisfying and rewarding(in 120 reviews)

  • "Satisfaction of helping clients improve their quality of life(in 48 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "center director"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I feel lucky to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I (along with all of my co-workers got a $2.50 per hour) pay raise at the beginning of the year. A friend of mine is a Center Director and got a $10000 pay raise at the beginning of the year. I'm considered full time as a 30-hour per week employee. The company has rolled out a new service training that focuses on helping our clients lose weight. we have great clients.

    Cons

    I have to work some nights until 7pm and Saturday morning/afternoon. however, considering my former job working in a restaurant, these are easy hours. sometimes, it's a bit stressful...but what job isn't stressful? Some people's hours have been cut. However, they won't work on the weekends when we need them, so I have no sympathy.

    Continue reading
    Jenny Craig2017-05-31

    Jenny Craig Response

    July 14, 2017Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review and your perspective. We do have amazing clients and amazing employees. One of our Company Values is to Embrace Change. We are constantly trying to help people to get through change processes but if they cannot and it becomes unproductive to coworkers and clients, the leaders must address it appropriately. Thanks for your words of advice.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (17)

    "Enter At Your Own Risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Independence, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Monthly Bonus as center director or site supervisor if you meet quota Relationships made (client and co-worker)

    Cons

    Working by yourself - you are the janitor, consultant, stocker/order pull and manager. They do not have a cleaning service for smaller centers so you are forced to break down boxes, take them out to the dumpster and clean the bathroom/mop floors etc. on top of doing your job. You are supposed to build your center in order to gain a part-time consultant (10-15 hours). Safety - no alarms, cameras, security APH - payroll hours are determined by how many active clients you have. Some have been forced to use PTO to pad their paychecks No company support to bring in new clientele. They do no marketing or advertising. Forced to try to contact the same clients that quit the program daily...up to 3 calls/emails per day per client Unable to take PTO when needed. Have to coordinate with other short-staffed centers to poach their help. No Saturday's off. 2-4 or more hour splits during the day. No receptionist, so you have to answer the phone during consultations or risk being chewed out by an angry client. Conflicting communications within upper managment. Using personal vehical for company errands and not being reimbursed. Managment can be subjective and push to get rid of people they do not like. Do not care about work/life balance. JCC arent paid enough. Excessive meetings. Corporate does not work holidays but expects us to. Training is too long and repetitive. Company scripts are impersonal and fake. Manipulation of clients is encouraged. Food is too expensive and need more high protein, sugar free options. Some clients are very entitled. No way to move up in the company because the upper managment are holding on for dear life. High turnover (client and employee) Fear of retaliation if you speak your mind and voice concerns.

    Continue reading
    Jenny Craig2018-11-24
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Good for Something To Do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Montclair, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jenny Craig full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to make a difference in the life's of others by being a positive role model.

    Cons

    Horrible management at the Center Level and above. They DO NOT care about their employees. They cut hours at a literal moments notice and you have to clock out and leave, not a good thing if you are working here to make a living. They keep changing on how to keep records/information on consultations, going back and forth between an outdated computer system and - get this- paper. Certain center directors come in late, go home early, sit and gossip about other center directors on the phone while there are clients waiting in the lobby. Very condescending environment, I felt like I was treated like a lesser being, like a child.

    Continue reading
    Jenny Craig2018-08-02

    Jenny Craig Response

    October 23, 2018Vice President Human Resources

    I want to acknowledge that I've read and will share your comments . It's disappointing to hear the experience your had with your CD. We do encourage our employees to interact with their regional management, HR or the Compliance hotline when there are ethical concerns.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Prevented From Truly Delivering 5-Star Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Jenny Craig

    Pros

    Changing clients lives. Seeing their confidence increase as they see results.

    Cons

    Working for this company nearly 20 years, I have seen the same unprofessionalism happen as streams of employees come and go. The last 10 years working for Jenny Craig was hell! Center Directors came and went; I was bullied by a co-worker for several years and when trouble-shooting ideas to problem solve this challenge with my CD’s, I got nowhere. They, too, couldn’t stand this individual employee as they couldn’t manage them either, yet nothing was ever done. I was the top consultant in that center for years, yet I had to transfer centers, leaving most of the clients so upset that I left that they quit the program all together. They tried to “follow” me, but no one would tell them which center I was at. This shows that if our team was solid (like the team in the new center I went to) and all consultants provided the same 5-star service to all clients, then it wouldn’t have mattered to the clients that I left as they would have the confidence they would receive the same service no matter the consultant. You would think I would have been valued more than this, with how long I worked for this company and the service I gave to these clients, hence being #1 in the market at least 10 out of 12 months! After being emotionally dehydrated, I had to quit. I finally saw, no matter what I tried to do to make things work, nothing was changing; I was working my tail off, while clients and I would see and hear other employees hanging out; still came to work early, left late; cover shifts when co-workers were on vacation, etc. I just couldn’t do it anymore and consequently, clients were “dropping like flies” (said to me by the CD), which really upset me! Those clients came to us to help them and this is what they get?! They were the ONLY reason I stayed as long as I did, so I could get them to their goal. They refused to see anyone else in the center because they didn’t think they cared (no matter how much I would reassure them that they did).

    Continue reading
    Jenny Craig2018-05-28

    Jenny Craig Response

    June 5, 2018Vice President Human Resources

    I'm sorry to hear of your frustrations and wanted to acknowledge that I have read your review and advice.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great job for 1 on 1 consultant training..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health and Wellness Consultant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They really care about training you correctly and the consistency through out all of the workers and locations. It is a great place to get experience if you want to get into weight loss work in the future, or health coaching, or personalized medicine, or even psychology.

    Cons

    Center Director a little unorganized.. hours are not promised every week and can really vary drastically from week to week.. wish communication was better

    Jenny Craig2018-01-16

    Jenny Craig Response

    June 5, 2018Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review. We are working together with the Market Directors to shore up the schedule variances as we understand the drastic swings are difficult. Hang in there!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (13)

    "A former believer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weeknights Management will only work until 7 pm at the latest 2 pm close on weekends Flexibility in scheduling Non micro management Learning business operations Learning true customer care

    Cons

    Staffing Pay HONESTY In November of 2016 it was announced that all store level employees would receive raises. However, hourly employees then saw their hours cut by anywhere from 40-70% depending on location. This left many unable to continue as full time employees with a livable wage. In February of ‘17 many Centre Directors were phoned (without prior warning) on a Friday and told their center would no longer carry a CD. The only option was to accept a site supervisor role with a 20k pay cut or regisnation. Many, myself included, have been unable to live off of this massive cut. 20k loss without any kind of prior warning is more than life changing. Along with the pay cuts cake changes in labor distribution. Site supervisors do 95-100% of the work. All management duties performed by center directors AS WELL as the daily tasks formally delegated to hourly employees now fall all on the site supervisors. The “advice” given by market directors and HR is to find a second job to make ends meet or look for new employment. What kind of loyalty is that? The changes were made under the guise of “profitability.” However, this has been proven untrue. North Castle Equity, who owns Jenny Craig currently, continues to open new JC locations. The massive pay cuts were used as a way to fund these new locations. HR, market directors, and etc will feed you company lines about profit but in reality they are not being 100% honest.

    Continue reading
    Jenny Craig2017-10-13

    Jenny Craig Response

    December 11, 2017Vice President Human Resources

    Please reach out to your Divisional Director or HR to have a conversation about your concerns and hear the facts. I understand that many people have felt frustrated, however, please know that many of the things you have said above are not accurate. We have spent a great deal of time on improving our labor efficiency at the center locations to prevent the need to close them. Your MD has P&L access and can walk you through your location to help you better understand. Our managers can do a better job of sharing this information with you so that you and your co-workers are educated business people and can help build business in 2018 and beyond.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Service Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dubuque, IA

    I worked at Jenny Craig part-time

    Pros

    Meeting and working with clients and helping them through their weight loss journey is very rewarding Great Staff Easy to learn the computer system and other job duties

    Cons

    Pay is not ideal for full time employees There were things promised in the interview that did not happen The owner does not do a very good job communicating information to staff or center director Sometimes you have to work from 8am to 7pm The middle of the day tends to be really slow and there is a lack of work to be done

    Continue reading
    Jenny Craig2017-08-15

    Jenny Craig Response

    October 4, 2017Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your input. I appreciate hearing from a franchise location!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Unbelievable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, co-workers, clients and relationships built

    Cons

    Center directors who are in the center less than the part time employees but account for 40 hours of the payroll. Who show on the gandt that they are in the center 8-5 but show up at 10 and are gone by 2 or 3. Access rmaul from home to make MD think they are working. Taking "PTO" when everyone knows there is no way they have any left. Bringing their children into the center while working and asking consultants to babysit while they jump on their weekly phone meeting with DM. Pushing their responsibilities off on their consultants under the umbrella of team work. Using the cash drawer as their own petty cash. Taking selfies and constantly being either on Facebook or personal cellphone. Using company materials for personal use. Being proud of making all subordinates cry at one point or another and bragging about it or if not liking someone making them miserable until they quit. Making inappropriate comments. Taking credit for others accomplishments. Just to name a few things...

    Continue reading
    Jenny Craig2017-07-22

    Jenny Craig Response

    July 24, 2017Vice President Human Resources

    Thanks for your review and I would really like to ask you to reach out to your HR Partner to share more details. The actions you have described are not appropriate and if you will follow up with us, we will help you.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (19)

    "The Titanic of weight loss companies.......A sinking ship."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great team that I work with, but now NEVER see, wonderful clients that we help meet their weight loss goals and help to change their lives for the better.

    Cons

    What was once a wonderful job at a great place with fabulous co-workers, has turned out to be extremely depressing and very sad for both the staff and the clients. All off these positive reviews from employees in the centers are clearly fictional. Meant to make Jenny Craig look like a good place to work. Do not be fooled. Management does not care about staff or clients. Our hours have been cut so much, that we can barely pay our rent or mortgages. Those of us who have benefits, have to use our PTO every week to make 30 hours to keep them. We are all looking for work elsewhere. It is heartbreaking. We all make significantly less money year to year.....even with the salary increase in January. Quotas are unattainable, especially because we are barely in the center long enough to make a phone call to contact some of our clients and get them back in our schedules. We are a family that now never sees each other. Out center director is totally being taken advantage of. She is working long, long hours because she is salaried. There is usually just one person in the center....which is very unsafe, especially in the evening. Consultants are getting let go. Clients are complaining that they often do not see their regular consultant, because of constant changes to the schedule, and us being told not to come in, or only come in for 2 or 3 hours...which may or may not be illegal for full time employees. We barely have time to prepare the freezers for the shipments, because we have to run out the door the second the last client leaves. Confirmation calls to clients barely get done also, since we can't work a minute longer than allotted on the schedule. If we do work a few minutes longer, our center director gets a phone call, and the trouble begins. It is very stressful when a client walks in as you are about to leave, and then you can't stay to see them, and then they have to wait for someone else to be free....or they leave. It is now a nightmare. This is the private equity company trying to make us look more profitable than we are. We were a great company. Now we will lose more clients, and certainly some fabulous consultants. Every week, several clients or potential clients walk out because there is no one to help them, with only one consultant working in the center. I believe upper management wants us all to find work elsewhere, and they have driven us to that point. This is a company wide issue in every center, not just the one I work in. I am sad to think this wonderful company has deteriorated to this level....thank you very poor upper management! I pray every day that a miracle happens, and we are sold. Wouldn't it be nice if Amazon purchased us!!

    Continue reading
    Jenny Craig2017-06-26
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Weight loss consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jenny Craig part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Its not a physically demanding job. We actually get to help people lose weight. The scheduling is not bad vs working a late shift job.

    Cons

    I'm not sure where all these good reviews are coming from. Maybe they are from new employees, but I have been with Jenny Craig for many years and this company and spiral down. We are waiting to be sold to another company, but to make us look "healthy" they are cutting down hours like nothing. Many full time consultants are struggling to even get 20 hours a week. People are forced to leave because the CPH is not enough. It varies each week and you will always have uncertainty. I have to worry if I will be able to support myself every pay check. They raised our salary in the company, but what did they do? They cut our hours. Every single Center Director in our market had enough with Jenny Craig. They are forced to work almost every single day because the consultants aren't allowed to work. Center Directors are paid salary, so it doesnt matter if they worked every day of the week, which some actually do. Check our market, we dont even have a CD for one center and then our other center is only ran by one person.

    Continue reading
    Jenny Craig2017-06-14

    Jenny Craig Response

    July 7, 2017Vice President Human Resources

    I'm sorry that you are not enjoying your time with Jenny Craig. We are focused on building the business for the future of our employees and our clients. Staffing appropriately to ensure that there are clients being serviced during the hours of operation and employee schedules has been important focus for us. Thanks for your feedback and the advice.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 43 reviews