KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Jenny Craig

Is this your company?

Jenny Craig

Add a Review

Jenny Craig Employee Reviews about "center director"

Updated Nov 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 of over 964 reviews

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Jenny Craig CEO David Pastrana
David Pastrana
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very rewarding, I loved helping people reach their goals and feel good about themselves(in 124 reviews)

  • "Able to help clients achieve their weight loss goals(in 77 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management was terrible and unfair(in 54 reviews)

  • "Center Director a little unorganized(in 35 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Jenny Craig and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "center director"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I feel lucky to work here

      May 30, 2017 - Weight Loss Consultant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I (along with all of my co-workers got a $2.50 per hour) pay raise at the beginning of the year. A friend of mine is a Center Director and got a $10000 pay raise at the beginning of the year. I'm considered full time as a 30-hour per week employee. The company has rolled out a new service training that focuses on helping our clients lose weight. we have great clients.

      Cons

      I have to work some nights until 7pm and Saturday morning/afternoon. however, considering my former job working in a restaurant, these are easy hours. sometimes, it's a bit stressful...but what job isn't stressful? Some people's hours have been cut. However, they won't work on the weekends when we need them, so I have no sympathy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Jenny Craig Response

      Vice President Human Resources

      Thanks for your review and your perspective. We do have amazing clients and amazing employees. One of our Company Values is to Embrace Change. We are constantly trying to help people to get through change processes but if they cannot and it becomes unproductive to coworkers and clients, the leaders must address it appropriately. Thanks for your words of advice.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Part time consultant

      Jun 5, 2016 - Par Time JC Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clients, co-workers, and my amazing CD!! I left a fantastic job to work at jenny Craig. JC changed my LIFE when I was just a mere client of the center. When I was asked to work there, I didn't even hesitate. I adore my fellow consultants, and center director!! We are a family. A little crazy at time, but support and honestly care and help one another. We help each other when seeing back to back clients. We laugh and cry with all the amazing clients, and celebrate their successes even if it's not one of own "clients". Our market director is lovely and extremely friendly. She visits our center a lot and acts like one of us.

      Cons

      No PTO hours. Odd hours. Not always able to see "my clients" weekly due to times I work there.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Sold my soul to the devil!

      Feb 3, 2015 - Centre Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping people change their lives is very rewarding.

      Cons

      No consistency,work long hrs as Center Director w no break, low pay, new structure worse for pay, not enough support for finding quality staff, not enough ads, pay based off of how well company doing, upper mngmnt living in la la land. Spend more $ on new menus/tools than keeping quality employees, it's a food based program so get a focus on new food more often, that's all the client wants!

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Weight loss consultant

      Jun 14, 2017 - Consultant in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its not a physically demanding job. We actually get to help people lose weight. The scheduling is not bad vs working a late shift job.

      Cons

      I'm not sure where all these good reviews are coming from. Maybe they are from new employees, but I have been with Jenny Craig for many years and this company and spiral down. We are waiting to be sold to another company, but to make us look "healthy" they are cutting down hours like nothing. Many full time consultants are struggling to even get 20 hours a week. People are forced to leave because the CPH is not enough. It varies each week and you will always have uncertainty. I have to worry if I will be able to support myself every pay check. They raised our salary in the company, but what did they do? They cut our hours. Every single Center Director in our market had enough with Jenny Craig. They are forced to work almost every single day because the consultants aren't allowed to work. Center Directors are paid salary, so it doesnt matter if they worked every day of the week, which some actually do. Check our market, we dont even have a CD for one center and then our other center is only ran by one person.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Jenny Craig Response

      Vice President Human Resources

      I'm sorry that you are not enjoying your time with Jenny Craig. We are focused on building the business for the future of our employees and our clients. Staffing appropriately to ensure that there are clients being serviced during the hours of operation and employee schedules has been important focus for us. Thanks for your feedback and the advice.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Horrible upper management

      Dec 16, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was lucky to have a phenomenal center director and supportive team!! I can't say that for the other centers I have worked at. I have flexible hours and able to take off if I need to. Also, I meet a lot of great people and have enjoyed most of the people I have met.

      Cons

      Market directors are horrible.... We are required to work on most holidays and the pay is horrible. Directors can favor consultants and help them make more money than others. Higher ups assume we can make grown adults want to lose weight. Also, they are terrible at hiring new people when needed and leave whole centers with only 2-3 employees. This makes it impossible for anyone to take vacation or call in sick. The market directors don't care if your on vacation and will call 15 times to bother you. They should know better but don't care

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Unbelievable

      Jul 22, 2017 - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, co-workers, clients and relationships built

      Cons

      Center directors who are in the center less than the part time employees but account for 40 hours of the payroll. Who show on the gandt that they are in the center 8-5 but show up at 10 and are gone by 2 or 3. Access rmaul from home to make MD think they are working. Taking "PTO" when everyone knows there is no way they have any left. Bringing their children into the center while working and asking consultants to babysit while they jump on their weekly phone meeting with DM. Pushing their responsibilities off on their consultants under the umbrella of team work. Using the cash drawer as their own petty cash. Taking selfies and constantly being either on Facebook or personal cellphone. Using company materials for personal use. Being proud of making all subordinates cry at one point or another and bragging about it or if not liking someone making them miserable until they quit. Making inappropriate comments. Taking credit for others accomplishments. Just to name a few things...

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Jenny Craig Response

      Vice President Human Resources

      Thanks for your review and I would really like to ask you to reach out to your HR Partner to share more details. The actions you have described are not appropriate and if you will follow up with us, we will help you.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Long time at jenny

      Jul 4, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, can make good money, meet and help great clients, can be a good working environment ( depending on who the center director is and if each employee does everything they are supposed to do to make the center work )

      Cons

      center directors come in late, leave early, most do not put in their 40 hours, spend a lot of time talking to other center directors about their own lives, have their own clients when employees could be seeing them to make money and build their own book -- hourly employees LOSE money when taking PTO -- only get paid hourly wage and small percentage of what would normally make with commission -- that's one reason I rarely take PTO -- can NOT afford to lose the rest of what I would be making if working

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Is everyone here for the right reasons?

      Oct 13, 2014 - Weight Loss Consultant in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with the clients is the best part of the job. Lots of satisfaction there. You're helping people everyday to reach their health goals.

      Cons

      Very few managers are good at managing and training. A lot of employees including management are Prima donnas especially the ones who have been with the company for 5+ years. Compensation is terrible. New compensation package doesn't show any appreciation for consultants. Upper management rarely keeps anyone informed about changes. The center directors and consultants get the whiplash effect of whatever upper management does. Many people are leaving and/or looking for new jobs because of how ridiculous the expectations are between keeping clients active and motivated , and keeping the center deposit high. If you wanna make money now you have to work ridiculous hours and that's IF your center can afford to have u working full time hours.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      People oriented environment; working with the clients is very rewarding.

      Feb 6, 2015 - Center Director in Rockville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training programs are excellent. I thought the sales / program director training in particular was very valuable. I continue to use these skills in my current work environment. I was able to fast track from counselor to program director to center director in less than one year. The salary was average; benefits were above average. Promotions were creative and fun.

      Cons

      As a center director, having to cover for counselors or program director due to illness or other unscheduled absences, was sometimes a challenge, particularly in the larger, busier centers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good for Something To Do

      Aug 2, 2018 - Consultant in Montclair, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to make a difference in the life's of others by being a positive role model.

      Cons

      Horrible management at the Center Level and above. They DO NOT care about their employees. They cut hours at a literal moments notice and you have to clock out and leave, not a good thing if you are working here to make a living. They keep changing on how to keep records/information on consultations, going back and forth between an outdated computer system and - get this- paper. Certain center directors come in late, go home early, sit and gossip about other center directors on the phone while there are clients waiting in the lobby. Very condescending environment, I felt like I was treated like a lesser being, like a child.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Jenny Craig Response

      Vice President Human Resources

      I want to acknowledge that I've read and will share your comments . It's disappointing to hear the experience your had with your CD. We do encourage our employees to interact with their regional management, HR or the Compliance hotline when there are ethical concerns.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Jenny Craig Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Jenny Craig? Share Your Experiences

    or