Jerry Leigh of California Reviews | Glassdoor

Jerry Leigh of California Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Andrew Leigh
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "My experience is that it is the best job I have ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Orlando, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Jerry Leigh of California

    Pros

    The product is of good quality. My manager is fair and family oriented.

    Cons

    There is always room fro growth. I feel with there Fl product line, they could focus more on product developement.

    Advice to Management

    The managers I deal with are AMAZING. They are very fair and understanding. As well, they are family oriented and very understanding of the stresses of the position.

    Jerry Leigh of California2011-01-01
  2. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jerry Leigh of California full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, always taking care of their employees!

    Cons

    Not really except for maybe pay rate.

    Jerry Leigh of California2019-06-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "CHEAP company. You are where you are thanks to your EMPLOYEES. Consider compensating them well for their work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jerry Leigh of California full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NONE, can't think of any. This company is by far the worst employer.

    Cons

    LOW pay, BELOW market rates. The workload is huge for the amount they pay.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who know what they're doing.

    Jerry Leigh of California2017-02-24
  4. "Accounts Receivable Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Van Nuys, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Jerry Leigh of California full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HR Department, Benefits for full time permanent employees.

    Cons

    A lot of temp positions. Low wages. Workplace politics "favoritism", gossip. Due to company size management is often unaware of issues of lower level employees.

    Advice to Management

    Avoid workplace politics.

    Jerry Leigh of California2015-11-10
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Too much construction!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Jerry Leigh of California

      Pros

      Overall, warm and friendly environment to work in.

      Cons

      From the time I've been there, there has been constant construction which is quite inconvenient and distracting. They never warned us of when construction was going to start and how long it was going to go on. It's very inconsiderate towards the employees that have to be surrounded by the noise and dust.

      Advice to Management

      Limit construction and construction noise; and for the consideration of employees, it would be nice to send out a notification of when and where construction will take place, and when it will be finished.

      Jerry Leigh of California2015-09-22
    • Helpful (5)

      "Same Old Same Old"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Graphic Artist in Van Nuys, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Jerry Leigh of California full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The company has celebrated 50 years in business, so the #1 pro is stability. There are a handful of employees who have worked there 15-20+ years. The office itself is fine, technology is decent. The benefits are excellent and the work itself is easy. Most employees are there for 9 hours a day but only actually work about 4 hours (remaining time spent looking busy). There is moderate comradery between employees, with...

      Show More

      Cons

      The cons probably outweigh the pros. The upper management is a joke, they are incompetent and lackadaisical. They cook the same recipes for every project, so growing the business or accounts is impossible. There is no middle management so opportunities for growth are nonexistent. When anything goes awry, upper management will never accept even partial responsibility, rather typically blame the creative staff and commonly...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Own up to your actions. Stop constantly revolving the people that actual create your product. There are many talented people that have worked for the company, but they have been treated like farm workers, opposed to respected like formally trained designers. Examine your sales team, they fail to land any new accounts of programs, they simply just fill orders with the promise "we can make whatever you want" to the existing...

      Show More
      Jerry Leigh of California2015-09-10
    • Helpful (2)

      "executive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Executive in Belmont Shore, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Jerry Leigh of California for more than a year

      Pros

      diversity career growth fair wages Creativity growth potential business management exposure strong business planning by Andrew

      Cons

      a lot of aged business habits within the work place community... needs new young bright strong driven fearless and innovative culture in the

      Jerry Leigh of California2015-08-23
    • "Do not judge a book by its cover."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Jerry Leigh of California

      Pros

      There are some very talented artists and technical people.

      Cons

      There is no structure and it is a free for all.

      Advice to Management

      Management should really understand the business aspect and what is needed to run a business as such.

      Jerry Leigh of California2015-08-05
    • "Stability over creativity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Van Nuys, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Jerry Leigh of California full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Stable job. Always working on projects. Good benefits. Strong work relationships. Good employees. If you stand out you will benefit. Very easy to balance work and life.

      Cons

      Location. Lack of recognition. Raises. Shaky Management. Questionable decisions made by management. If you don't stand out you'll get lost in the shuffle. Creativity can be stifling. Upward growth is limited by management.

      Advice to Management

      Advice? That ship sailed a long time ago. I love working here, but its for myself and my co-workers. Management just reaps the rewards.

      Jerry Leigh of California2015-06-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Okay place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Van Nuys, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Jerry Leigh of California full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Decent vacation policy and benefits. People are generally very nice. Projects can be fun to work on. I never felt excessively stressed or overworked during my time here. The art directors that used to be there (before the restructuring) were great to work with, eager to nurture new talent and encourage personal growth.

      Cons

      It's easy to get lost in the machine here, with some work being done that never seems to see the light of day. Not much room for growth anymore. Management and sales can be very disorganized and quarrelsome amongst each other, causing much frustration and discomfort for others. Money is spent frivolously on endless office renovations.

      Jerry Leigh of California2015-01-03
    Found 15 reviews