KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

JibJab

Is this your company?

JibJab

Add a Review

JibJab Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 of over 54 reviews

4.2
78%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
JibJab CEO Gregg Spiridellis
Gregg Spiridellis
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Jibjab is a very innovative community and this makes for an exciting workday 99% of the time(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great people, benefits, and fulfilling work(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Employee turnover at JibJab is pretty high(in 4 reviews)

  • "Being in an office studio gets challenging(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Master the change

      Dec 9, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in The Jungle, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of changes ... lots

      Cons

      May be to many changes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Jib Jab is a solid company who takes really good care of employees

      Dec 6, 2019 - Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offer hands on training and would never talk down to you everyone is equal.

      Cons

      There is always room for improvement on every side of the spectrum.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A truly amazing place to work!

      Jan 30, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’ve worked on the creative staff at JibJab Bros. Studios for nearly five years, and my experience has been overwhelmingly positive. The two brothers who run the company have a strong creative vision and a great sense of what makes good product. This makes a huge difference in an entertainment/social expression company. They go out of their way to hire top talent, so both the creative and technical teams are staffed with vibrant, energetic, dedicated people. They also have an unusual ability to analyze and adapt to the rapidly changing landscape of online entertainment. This creates a dynamic, exciting work environment where new projects and opportunities are just over the horizon. On the inevitable occasions when I’ve had creative differences with directors, I’ve always found them reasonable and willing to listen. I’ve won some battles and lost others, but I’ve always felt that my opinions were valued. If you’re passionate, creative, and dedicated, this is a uniquely great place to work.

      Cons

      The one significant drawback for me is the high rate of turnover in the staff. Most of the hiring is done through internships, so team members typically come in right out of school and are still exploring career options. I’ve worked with some exceptionally talented people who’ve left to do other things. A more clear-cut system of promotions and financial incentives might help with retention.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Favorite job ever!

      Feb 2, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best group of people I have ever worked with! The company is a firm believer in the 'no a**holes' rule. The environment is fast-paced so I am constantly engaged in creative problem solving. If you don't like a challenge this place is not for you. The management team has BIG plans and it's great to be part of something on the way up. I also love being at the intersection of Technology and Art and that the company mission is to make "Billions of People Happy". Our job is to spread laughter across the globe and what better way to spend your days?

      Cons

      The company is incredibly nimble so if you don't like change I could see that being a major con. The management team sets goals and even though the goals don't change, the paths to get there can shift depending on developments - both internal and external. There are no rules to the work being done here so change is inevitable. It's certainly not for everybody but I personally love having to use my brain every day!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fun Start-up With Mixed Feelings

      Sep 10, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Venice, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Although the previous reviewer considers it not fun, I had loads of it. People have a good sense of humor, and some do not have much of a filter, making it more interesting than super corporate environments. It is quite corporate in many ways, but this is probably for the best since the company has been around since 1999. Some salaries are high, some are low, but everyone is treated equally. Lots of cute little gimmicks and parties make up for some of the more ridiculous moments. For creative people, they let them have free reign in may cases, so there's always something new and cutting edge going on. I made a lot of friends here and stayed in touch with practically everyone I met. The Brothers Spiridellis are very friendly people who expect a lot out of you. Make them happy, and they will repay you in kind.

      Cons

      Long hours and low interaction outside production. When I was there, they had high turnover because they were always looking for people who really fit in rather than just any schmuck who has the right experience.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Dynamic Environment, Smart People, Fun Opportunities

      Feb 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The brothers who run JibJab have "done it all" themselves... their extensive knowledge in almost every role in the company ensures correct expectations are set across the board and also allows for a deeper level of understanding and patience when things go awry. Beyond that, they are extremely approachable and passionate people I'm grateful to work for. One of senior management's top priorities is hiring the absolute best people to work at JibJab – they spend a TON of time on recruitment, making sure our colleagues come to the table with great experience and a work ethic that embodies our core values. Employees who consistently take on challenges beyond their job description to help improve the business tend to be rewarded accordingly. Some nice perks are free laundry, snacks, beverages (alcoholic and non), equipment of your choice to work on, fully-paid HMO plans and inexpensive PPOs, and an incredible new building! We have slides. And nice bathrooms. And sunlight. Last but not least, our products are a lot of fun and make a lot of people smile. I think that's pretty neat.

      Cons

      No matching 401K or paternity leave, somewhat limited vacation time compared to other companies.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Fun place to work but team building is needed & your creative input is necessary

      Oct 7, 2014 - Jibberjabber in Venice, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some very awesome artists and smart co-workers. Parties, Free Snacks, Laundry. JibJab is open to ideas and it's fun if YOU make it fun. It's too bad some complain about JibJab not being fun; it only means they've contributed nothing to better the company or culture. It's worth a shot to run your ideas through to management or the PA. This is a place for outside-the-box thinkers. If you're new at JibJab, I'd say don't worry about fitting in, just try to stand out. Good luck! If you're not in a 'clique' who says you can't start your own?!

      Cons

      There is a need for more teambuilding activities. Every new hire should know what the Core Values are; I'm afraid current staff has already forgotten what they are. Not a con to me, but some do not agree with management's decisions to fire certain people; but the decision is usually in JibJab's best interest.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome place to work!

      Aug 19, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee morale is very important to Gregg and Evan and that translates into a very positive, fun, relaxed yet productive work environment! If you are a self-starter and like working with talented people then this would be a good fit. It is a very fast-paced environment and things change from time to time but that is to be expected in a start-up. Gregg and Evan do their best to keep everyone in the loop! People here are very nice and everyone gets along, we do a lot of team building activities and there are food and beverages stocked in our fridge at all times. Oh ya, they do your laundry too. Can't complain about the perks here. Aside from that, you will be constantly motivated due to the excitement of our products and future plans. Jibjab is a very innovative community and this makes for an exciting workday 99% of the time!

      Cons

      If you are not good at being a self-starter then you may find yourself not fitting in here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I work at JibJab Media full time.

      Jan 27, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - fun and welcoming environment, more often feels like a family than a business - never get bored working on the same project, always something new to work on and learn from - extremely transparent, keep all employees in the loop - opinions and suggestions are always taken into consideration and make a large impact - new beautiful studio with plenty of room - hugely talented and inspirational staff - easy to manage work-life balance - free laundry, plenty of snacks

      Cons

      - fast paced work environment with sometimes irregular work schedule - vague hierarchy of employees, especially since the company is small - expected growing pains with an expanding company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Room for improvement

      Jun 9, 2015 - Jibjab Employee in Marina del Rey, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have the usual SoCal-tech perks like flexible work hours, casual attire and free drinks and snacks. And laundry but there are differing opinions on how great a perk that is. That's it though -pretty sparse.

      Cons

      It's a company full of yes-men/women. Also, take all these glowing reviews with a grain of salt. The owners sent out not one, not two but three emails almost demanding employees to go on and write good reviews. Benefits are pretty blah, too. Yes they offer medical and dental but the company they partner with is crap and the benefits are expensive for the little you receive. Not a ton of room for career growth as the company doesn't seem to be growing very quickly. Could be in your same position for years but just have new responsibilities added to you list.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      JibJab Response

      CEO

      As CEO, nothing bums me out more than waking up to a negative review on Glassdoor. Seriously, nothing. The well being of our employees is #1 on my priority list and clearly this former employee did not have a good experience. That sucks for everyone. I'd like to follow up on just a few of the points in this review: 1. I believe transparency is necessary to build a great company. Glassdoor is a vehicle by which employees can tell us what they are thinking -- the good, the bad and the ugly -- in a trusted, anonymous forum. The idea that we "demanded" good reviews is patently untrue. We invited employees to share ALL of their experiences, good and bad, so that we could identify any issues and tackle them. Opening ourselves up like that was a big risk and not something a lot of companies do. To have it listed here as a negative against us hurts. 2. Regarding comp and benefits, there are plenty of reviews on Glassdoor that tell the opposite story so I invite readers to reference those reviews for counter points. I will say that I am a voracious reader of market compensation data and like to keep the team at the top of the range. Sometimes there are bubbles and newly financed companies skew the market, but those companies don't stay in business for 15 years like we have. I believe we offer the best blend of comp, benefits and job security (e.g., we're not going to blow through our venture capital money in 6 months) in the LA market. 3. I am not sure what growth this former employee is referring to but to say we are not growing is uninformed. Revenue, headcount, etc. are all up and to the right as they have been since we started seriously scaling the business in 2008. We also just moved into a great 21,000 square foot studio. Lack of growth is certainly not an issue. 4. Regarding career growth, if you are looking to do big things and OWN what you do, then the sky is the limit at JibJab. Other companies have big teams with small contributions by each member. Here, each team member makes a meaningful contribution. Our technologists write code and our artists produce content that is used and seen by hundreds of millions of people. There are many, many examples of people at JibJab who have grown into big roles by exuding passion and dedication to their craft. Thank you for taking the time to read this response. I am truly sorry this former employee had a bad experience and wish he or she would contact me directly so I can get more insights into what went wrong with their experience. That said, if you are considering a job at our studio and have any concerns about what you have read here, please email me and I would be happy to discuss. My email is simply my first name at JibJab dot com.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews

    JibJab Reviews FAQs

    78% of JibJab employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated JibJab 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at JibJab to be career development, management, benefits and the cons to be compensation, senior leadership.

    Popular Careers with JibJab Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at JibJab? Share Your Experiences

    or