Cover image for JibJab
Logo

JibJab

Engaged Employer

JibJab

Add a Review

JibJab Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 52 of over 58 reviews
4.2
79% Recommend to a Friend
JibJab CEO Gregg Spiridellis
92% Approve of CEO

Found 52 of over 58 reviews

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
JibJab CEO Gregg Spiridellis
Gregg Spiridellis
41 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

560

77 Comments

Tech

564.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=JibJab~37910
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about JibJab? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with JibJab employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work

    Nov 29, 2022 - Senior Financial Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to Work and have freedom

    Cons

    None at all very good work environment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    One of a kind

    Apr 28, 2022 - Financial Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture at Jibjab is one of a kind, they really care about their employees and it's a happy oriented place not just in the app but for their team too.

    Cons

    When I first started working there, although I felt very comfortable, I wished there was more cultural diversity. After 3 years they have hired more diverse employees.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the JibJab team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Master the change

    Dec 9, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in The Jungle, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of changes ... lots

    Cons

    May be to many changes

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Jib Jab is a solid company who takes really good care of employees

    Dec 6, 2019 - Director in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They offer hands on training and would never talk down to you everyone is equal.

    Cons

    There is always room for improvement on every side of the spectrum.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Cutting edge

    Apr 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Tight knit team, high performing, doing work that makes people happy and teaches kids

    Cons

    Being in an office studio gets challenging. Wish we had more time off.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    A solid company to grow up at

    Jan 3, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gregg is a CEO you can talk to. My manager was good.

    Cons

    Tech absolutely rides backseat to every other department.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Supposed fun place not so fun

    Sep 20, 2018 - Programmer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free Cheez-it’s, cool building, located in Marina Del Rey, California.

    Cons

    A lot of H-1B’s feel indentured to work for fear of being sent back home to there home countries. Perhaps because of this, there are a lot of cliches which exclude people in the organization. The schizophrenia persists even at higher levels where the division between “tech” and “production” exists in high contrast and rarely do the groups interact even for a small company. It’s all very weird like being in a divorced family under the same roof. Tech sits on one side of the building and production on the other divided by the precious children’s slides, which are meant to demonstrate how fun Jibjab is but rarely does anyone use them, only during photo op’s for visitors. Even if you are lucky enough not to have the H-1B status lorded over you, you still may find yourself fired or in the midst of a purge if you dissent or offer your own opinion to the organization or worst yet the show, the StoryBots show. People, animators included, have been fired from here over the Christmas break which is especially cold-blooded for any organization. Look to their walls and you may find telltale signs of the organizations true heart. Inside Jibjab’s building are huge banners and idols on those banners proclaiming the main, core words of the organization’s mission. One of those idols is Hannibal, the Carthaginian general who led an invasion force to Italy in the 3rd Century BC, ONLY after nearly losing 2/3 of his force including war elephants crossing the Italian alps in the dead of winter. Is this the ideal you want to hold high to work towards? A mad general blood-drunk, hell-bent on revenge with no ear for reason? Yes, there are other idols like Ghandi and Grace Hopper present to give relief but their visage was only manifested after others protested that the selection of idols only featured men with no diversity. Some of the female employees also commented that they felt uneasy in the presence of one of the brothers due to their body language. Also, John Lasseter who was fired from Disney/Pixar for sexual misconduct was invited into the Jibjab studio to give a presentation on his work, though at the time he was on leave from Disney due to the allegations before being fired. Why invite someone like that into a safe workplace when they are under investigation for such actions?

    3 people found this review helpful

    JibJab Response

    CEO

    I really appreciate your honest feedback though respectfully disagree with this assessment. I’d like to respond: * The complaint about the separation of tech and art cultures is fair but exaggerated. The one thing that differentiates our company from others is that we are equal parts art and engineering. While we have always done our best to integrate artists and engineers, the left-brain vs. right-brain worldview is real and melding those points of view takes work. While we may have not perfectly integrated the cultures, I think we do it better than any company out there. * The idea that H-1B visas are indentured is categorically false and absurd. Unlike most companies that ship their animation work overseas, we do it all here in the US. We hire the best artists in the world and support our international artists by helping them obtain visas to work in the US, including paying all related fees. We also offer a path to a green card for every international employee, specifically so that no one ever feels trapped. After 3 years, we pay for green cards, which I do not believe other studios do. Bottom line, we would never want to hold onto any employee who did not believe in what we are building. * No one has ever been fired over Christmas break. Never. And we have never fired anyone for voicing a dissenting opinion. Anyone who knows us knows that we love constructive alternative viewpoints and debate. * With regards to Hannibal, we do have a quote on the wall in support of our core value of "dedication" that reads "we will either find a way or we will make one." While my knowledge of Carthaginian history is limited, I am sure this reviewer is correct in stating that Hannibal was not a good human being. That said, I still like the sentiment in the quote. * The most troubling part of this review for me was the accusation that an employee felt uncomfortable because of mine or my brother's body language. This is a very serious accusation. While I question the veracity of this review, I do not want to diminish this comment. I don’t want anyone to ever feel uncomfortable at work (and beyond). We have built a strong culture based on mutual respect. If anyone has any concerns, we employ a third-party HR service (ADP) to receive feedback and address any issues in an anonymous, safe forum. * John Lasseter has never been invited to speak here, before or after the events that led to his exit from Disney. I have no idea where that came from. Thank you for taking the time to read this response. If you have any questions about the company, please read the other reviews, find someone who works here to talk to, or feel free to email me directly at gregg at JibJab dot com.

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Experience!!

    Sep 20, 2018 - Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun, great atmosphere, plenty of opportunity to grow

    Cons

    None that i can think of!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Time at JibJab

    Jul 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, across all departments, eager to help and teach.

    Cons

    Not many if any, perhaps better communication at times.

    2 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Don’t do it

    Jun 30, 2018 - Illustrator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It’s a cool space for sure.

    Cons

    There’s no organizational structure and it’s $ first. Very little employee empowerment.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    JibJab Response

    CEO

    I am sorry this person had a bad experience. I'd like to take a minute to address the concerns raised in this review. There most definitely is an org structure at the company, it's just very flat. It's not the kind of place to come if you prefer middle levels managers defining and managing your tasks and responsibilities. Our company culture leans more towards self starters. It works for some, but not those who prefer a more rigid/structured environment. With regards to the company being money first, all I can say is that you do not get into Internet cartoons if your first priority is money. There are far better/easier ways to make money. We funnel all of our profits back into new art, story, and interactive experiences. Finally, with regards to diversity, this person is factually accurate. At the moment, our three execs are white men. This is unusual in the history of the company. In the past, you were more likely than not to find women minorities on the exec team. While we find ourselves here at this moment, it's important to note that the broader company benchmarks a higher % minorities than the tech industry average across every category. As the company grows, increasing diversity at all levels of the organization is a priority. It's something I take very seriously because I believe it is critical for us to be successful. Thanks for taking the time to read this response. I welcome anyone interested in working with us to talk to me directly about any of these issues. Just send a note to Gregg at JibJab dot com.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 52 Reviews
</>Embed

JibJab Reviews FAQs

JibJab has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 58 reviews left anonymously by employees. 79% of employees would recommend working at JibJab to a friend and 81% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, JibJab employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at JibJab. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

79% of JibJab employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated JibJab 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.3 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at JibJab to be career development, management, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership .

Popular Careers with JibJab Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at JibJab? Share Your Experiences

JibJab logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

JibJab Photos

+ Add Photo
JibJab photo of: JibJab Offices
JibJab photo of: JibJab Offices
JibJab photo of: JibJab Offices
JibJab photo of: Office space!
JibJab photo of: JibJab's New Offices
JibJab photo of: JibJab Offices
JibJab photo of: We do employees laundry every week!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

JibJab Job Seekers Also Viewed

Hulu Logo
Hulu

3.9

837 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 58 JibJab reviews submitted anonymously by JibJab employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if JibJab is right for you.