JoS. A. Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

JoS. A. Bank Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 815 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Doug Ewert
170 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "los of bureaucracy in upper management(in 63 reviews)

  • "I made less than minimum wage some weeks and was not given my 30(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Jos. A Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Carmel, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JoS. A. Bank for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The people. The ones you work with and the ones you get to interact with on a daily basis.

    Cons

    As a manager the hours are brutal sometimes and i work with much older coworkers, so computer systems are sometimes problems for them

    Advice to Management

    Stay positive. Every problem has a solution and its your job to find as quickly as you can.

    JoS. A. Bank2016-02-06
  2. "Could Do Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Vass, NC
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JoS. A. Bank full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The “potential” to make really good money is there if you’re on commission and work in a high volume store.

    Cons

    Low base pay for employees on commission. Low hourly wages for those that aren’t. Hours are horrible. Don’t expect to have a normal life. You’re expected to dress up every day which gets expensive if you aren’t in a high volume store and depend on commission.

    Advice to Management

    Revise business hours for stores not connected to malls. Give better pay to employees, particularly to SM’s, ASM’s, and ASM-II’s. $6.50-$8.50 an hour is not sustainable in low volume stores. Give CSA’s more than $8.50 - $9.50 hourly. Ease up on dress code. Suits are slowly becoming a thing of the past. If you sell it they should be able to wear it (within reason). There isn’t a reason why an employee shouldn’t wear sportswear...

    Show More
    JoS. A. Bank2019-05-04
  3. "Entry Level Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

      I worked at JoS. A. Bank full-time

      Pros

      Salary plus commission, pick your own hours if you have a good store manager

      Cons

      Different schedule each week

      JoS. A. Bank2019-04-11
    • "Great Place to Be"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Department Manager in South Salt Lake, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at JoS. A. Bank full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Easy to sell product Decent salary potential

      Cons

      Your income is based mostly on commission

      JoS. A. Bank2019-04-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at JoS. A. Bank full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great team, really great support from colleagues, understanding district and upper management.

      Cons

      My biggest problem with my personal experience was picking up the mess the previous store manager left behind. There is still alot of issues I'm dealing with now that was caused by previous mismanagement.

      JoS. A. Bank2019-04-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Worst Job I’ve ever had"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Management in Tucson, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at JoS. A. Bank full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Cannot think of a single one

      Cons

      EXTREMELY low pay Commission is minimal at best Inadequate and ineffectual management. Often made to perform extensive duties outside of ones job or pay-grade Do not promote from within Employee discount irrelevant as regular sales are Better deals. Employee satisfaction unimportant

      Advice to Management

      The entire business model and corporate policies need to change. There’s not enough time to write out my suggestions.

      JoS. A. Bank2019-05-08
    • Helpful (4)

      "They want to have their cake and eat it too"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Chattanooga, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at JoS. A. Bank full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      It's not incredibly challenging, and the pay is OK

      Cons

      They expect you to hit unreasonable numbers in a dwindling market, while continuing to devalue their product with constant sales. The customer base has been trained to seek sales and the only people who are willing to buy a full price suit are desperate folks attending a funeral.

      Advice to Management

      Less nepotism, and figure out how to set reasonable expectations. Less managing the company by committee.

      JoS. A. Bank2019-03-29
    • "Ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Department Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at JoS. A. Bank part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Hourly plus commission with no draw to reach

      Cons

      It’s a Reatail job

      Advice to Management

      Increase salary base on store level

      JoS. A. Bank2019-03-07
    • "Flexible and Fun!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at JoS. A. Bank part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Manager allows me to work around my school schedule. Wonderful coworkers.

      Cons

      Employee discount is only helpful on custom clothing and shoes. Some policies do not seem sensible or fair.

      JoS. A. Bank2019-03-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Promoted to assistant manager within 3-weeks"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at JoS. A. Bank

        Pros

        Ability to move up, uncapped sales, overtime pay for management staff, employee discounts.

        Cons

        Management is shady and uneducated, constant changes to commission policy to steal money from you, small staff means you have to cover a lot for employees, constant rotation of sales annoys customers, strict on pushing unreachable numbers. SMs and SSMs are lazy and take credit for the work the rest of the staff does, then takes the bonuses that the store earned for themselves.

        Advice to Management

        Stop changing prices on customers and stop stealing from employees. Within 4 years you constantly pay less commission and only give bonuses to upper management when your lower wages workers earned it more than store managers.

        JoS. A. Bank2019-02-21
      Found 815 reviews