JoVE "9 5" Reviews | Glassdoor

JoVE Employee Reviews about "9 5"

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
JoVE CEO Moshe Pritsker
Moshe Pritsker
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "Kind of place where you work 9-5 and leave, no home work or late night emails(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great people, that are passionate about a really innovative product(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "9 5"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work. Smart people, positive vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JoVE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Like the headline says, smart people. Launching innovative new products, great benefits. Kind of place where you work 9-5 and leave, no home work or late night emails. People are laid back.

    Cons

    Some Managers are better than others. Work from home is starting to happen slowly in some departments, but it is not encouraged.

    Advice to Management

    Keep launching innovative new products. Develop a comprehensive work from home policy, or at least one on a department by department basis.

    JoVE2019-06-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not a BAD job...but definitely not for everyone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JoVE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Has weekly socials and a happy hour once a month - Close to the MBTA and they pay for a monthly pass - 9-5 with 1 hour lunch (literally everyone, including most of sales, leaves at 5 on the dot) - Free dental - Social/friendly sales team

    Cons

    There is literally nowhere good to get good food. The "cafe" in the building is so gross. There are food trucks sometimes but there's not much variety and it's expensive. There is a Bertucci's in walking distance but everything else you need to drive to unless you want to walk for 25 minutes. Yes the office is in Cambridge but it’s basically in Arlington. It's in an incredibly boring area so if you're used to... working downtown or in a urban environment you might not be happy here. Some people complain there there is no sales training. But honestly I think that the way they just throw you in as a BDR is the way to do it. No need to sit in classes for a month. This isn't a "call center" job but you will be making 100+ calls a day as a BDR. And it's awkward...bothering professors while they are trying to work. Cold calls are hard and potential customers HATE IT. So be prepared to feel like the most annoying person on earth when you are cold-calling. Some people have thick skin and are amazing at it...but for most it can be very uncomfortable. 90% of your work is done on the phone, not email. As an Account Executive you make less calls, but still in the 100s range and they will talk to you if you're not making a certain amount of calls a week. I am not saying any of this is necessarily a BAD thing...just a heads up so you know what you're getting into. This is different than most Account Executive jobs. Friends of mine in sales might make 100 calls a week, not a day, and even that would still be a lot for them. A lot of people quit/get fired after 6 months because they just cannot handle the call volume. The turnover here is incredible. I think one person on the sales team quit/got fired every month I worked there. Life is kinda hard on the New Business team. There is (was?) one employee who kills it but everyone else pretty much struggles on a daily basis. JoVE has been hounding colleges and universities for YEARS so a lot of the good prospects already subscribe to JoVE or they are so turned off by JoVE’s sales tactics that they hang up on you immediately. I had a large well known university basically refer to our sales process as “bullying” and said that under no circumstance do they ever want to be contacted by us again. All the other schools are so small that they can hardly afford anything JoVE offers. It's a slow sales cycle and when you eventually make a sale it's SO small compared to the Subscription Team's commissions. It's pennies. The JoVE Journal is a really, really cool resource...the Science Education library? Not so much. Even the school's with unlimited subscriptions barley use the Science Education portion of it. I’ve looked at the numbers. Science Education is a cool product but not a necessary one. So getting a school to renew once they realize that no one uses the product can be hard. I wouldn't say that JoVE is a BAD place to work. I am just writing this review so people know what they are getting into because I wish I had known.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't even know. I read a lot of reviews on here and I think things have changed since 2014/2015. I don’t think the CEO is a bully and I enjoyed my experiences with management. I would maybe change the quotas for New Business. Just because one of your employees can hit quota doesn’t mean it’s realistic.

    JoVE2019-07-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JoVE full-time

    Pros

    - JoVE is a good place to work. Get in, do your job, and leave. - Amazing HR & Office staff makes JoVE a friendly environment. - Wednesday Socials - Beer Trivia - 9-5 with Hour Lunch - Josephine, Briana, & Alex are JoVE, without them, it would fall apart.

    Cons

    - Lack of company culture, most employees are extremely intelligent but awkward. Not really a place for a person with an outgoing personality. - No activities outside of work: Softball, Kickball, Basketball etc... - Lack of Support and training - Meaningless meetings. - A waiting list for a parking pass.

    Advice to Management

    - Needs to be more organized. - Implement work from home. - Create "Active JoVE" - Mix up teams for Trivia so that everyone gets a chance to meet each other.

    JoVE2017-10-12
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Manage your expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JoVE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Despite the negative things, there are perks to working at JoVE. The healthcare plan is excellent, work never spills over to non-work hours, and is strictly limited to 8 hours of work/day (you get a 1 hour lunch break) for full-time employees. There is flexibility in terms of starting and ending work at a time of you choice (e.g. 8-4, or 9-5) if your managers approve of it. The work environment is casual, and... depending on the stability of the team you are in there can be very little stress on a day-to-day basis. The overall work-life balance is pretty good. Employees are friendly and there is a good sense of comradery in general and within groups. Additional pro: location is right next to the T station.

    Show More

    Cons

    Jove dips into the pool of life science PhDs from the greater Boston and New England area who would rather be underpaid than unemployed. This enables Jove to hire highly skilled and talented individuals and hence produce a product that is exciting and of seemingly high quality. Business practices and management strategies are extremely questionable and so the company suffers from very high employee turnover. When... someone leaves for a better paying position it stresses their colleagues work-wise and effectively pushes them to quit as well. Lack of appreciation of good work is one of the many problems. Promotions are generally rare and usually based on seniority, so if you willing to stay at a low pay endlessly maybe you will someday get promoted.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Increase base pay levels - Reward employees that excel, with increments and bonuses to prevent them from getting from frustrated and leaving - Don’t solicit reviews on glassdoor, it makes you look sketchy

    JoVE2017-08-18
  5. Helpful (10)

    "HR pumps fake reviews, CEO keeps the heat up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JoVE full-time

    Pros

    Dependable 9-5 work day (who gets that anymore?) Good Health, Dental insurance - if you're patient/lucky enough to qualify

    Cons

    Management (meaning CEO) changes focus often, levels threats, and indiscriminately hires/fires Frequent turnover, low morale NEVER closes during the worst blizzards HR keeps pumping fake reviews - C'mon, do you think folks can't spot them?!

    JoVE2017-07-27
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Fake reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JoVE full-time

    Pros

    you can coast for a while and collect a paycheck

    Cons

    on here you will see a bunch of reviews of how they loved to work at jove, how the company is great and more and more BS that will be a waste of your time to read. They write that 9-5 is great working hours (lady wake up the whole world operates 9-5 without OT). Management will have you on a different project or using a different strategy every 3 weeks because the CEO has no clue how to run a business. You wont be... appreciated and you wont get anything you were promised. They fired a sales rep after making a 100k deal to keep the commission. There being sued by 2 out of the 3 original owners. Wake up and smell the coffee. Its a suicide mission working there. I promise you every positive review was either written by HR or HR begged the employee to write a good one. I geuss if youre desperate for a job give it a shot they hired anyone no matter what

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let your CFO and VP run the show because you my friend are running it into the ground

    JoVE2017-01-19
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Honestly, JoVE is a pretty good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JoVE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work behind the scenes, so I know my experience isn't the same as everyone's, but I wanted to share how I felt about the company. Overall, it's a pretty good place to work, and I’m happy here. (I've worked at enough bad companies with equally bad Glassdoor reviews to know the difference). Here’s why: - I LOVE the hours. Younger employees don't understand how amazing it is to work 9-5 without overtime. It... really gives you your life back. I'm sure it's a rude awakening when they leave to discover that 9+ hours is becoming the norm. - I never have to worry about healthcare. It's fabulous. Small copays are pretty much all you'll have to pay, and it comes very affordable to the employee. Believe me, the company saves you a lot of money by taking on that cost—whether you go to the doctor or not. - Employees here are relaxed. It's a comfortable environment where people joke around and make friends. People have fun. Managers are also pretty cool people who want to succeed and want their teams to succeed. Not everyone is perfect, but they try to do right by their employees. - More importantly, the company has REALLY made an effort to improve JoVE’s environment and morale. There is now a 401K program, socials are happening more often, and there is a bigger emphasis on celebrating teams when they do well. People seem happier than when I started over a year ago, and the company appears to be listening to some of the negative reviews here on Glassdoor. I really appreciate that. The company is also financially steady, and it's a terrific product.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are a lot of reviews on Glassdoor for JoVE, both good and bad. Some are warranted and some are particular to that person. It's hard to judge a person's experience at JoVE, because I think different departments experience the company differently. Based on reviews here I knew that coming in, so it didn't come as a surprise to me, but it’s something people should know. It tends to really segregate the company.... Recent grads also expect JoVE to be a tech company, which it isn’t. It’s a publisher. We don’t have the same benefits and employee perks as a tech company, and I think employees get frustrated when it doesn’t fulfill their expectations. It’s hard to deny that there is really high turnover, especially in performance driven roles in sales and editorial. It’s the root of most of the negative reviews here on Glassdoor. It’s really sad to see so many wonderful people go.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust and respect your employees. If they come in a few minutes late, trust that they’ll stay late or make up the work in another way. If someone has kids and needs to stay home, trust that they’ll make every effort to work from home to catch up. A little trust and understanding would go a long way to alleviate the micro-managing feel of the company. For heaven’s sake, be more cautious in the winter. I shouldn’t... have to be afraid for my life every time I have to go into work during a blizzard. I’ve gone into work on days when the conditions were very dangerous. Care about the safety of your employees! Lastly, invest in your employees. The recent trainings are a terrific step forward, but continue to work with employees to make the most of their potential. Don’t give up on them so fast. If someone is struggling, help them to be better. It’s way more expensive to keep hiring new people than to invest in the good people you already have.

    Show More
    JoVE2016-08-30
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Who said growing was easy?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JoVE

    Pros

    I've had two stints at JoVE with 5 years at the company overall so am fairly well positioned to comment on the experience, culture and product. What needs to be stressed is JoVE is a revolutionary product that one can truly label disruptive. That said, start-up environments are mainly turbulent places to be for one main reason; the company is trying to get to that inflection point where rapid growth ensues. Most... start-ups fail before they even get there, this number is even greater in the academic publishing community where large publishers monopolize most of the new business available and suffocate most of the new entries; An even greater testament to the power of the product. Having been there from a very early point, we worked exceptionally hard to ensure the product and the company stayed afloat. Of course we made a bunch of mistakes but we also learned really quickly. The fact that the company not only survived but grew to establish a global footprint in the UK, Australia and India illustrates the value of both the product and the teams that continued to drive the product. From the outstanding and talented production team, right through to the executive leadership the process has been to refine and evolve the go-to-market strategy and business processes. Again, this is not always achievable in a serene manner but the goal of a growth company is to grow. This needs to be understood. Fortunately, several core staff have remained in place and thrived in their management positions allowing for a period of sustained growth, better HR processes, sales management and process. Indeed the revolving door in editorial and sales departments has stopped spinning during the last period and the sales strategy has shifted to a big picture strategy. JoVE has grown from boot-strap beginnings to late-stage start-up and all without VC funding - a huge plus. There's a bunch of feature benefits to the job that have been covered by all that are worth revisiting: Outstanding health and ancillary benefits (life insurance, 401k etc), relaxed dress culture, true 9-5 environment, Best-in-Class product

    Show More

    Cons

    You're going to find the same problems in almost all companies. What most tech companies have mastered which JoVE could probably learn from is the culture playbook. Building a perceived company culture - get photos on the website of summer parties, events, employee of the month award. JoVE needs to move beyond weekly grub hubs, and go the extra mile. Sports team competing in local business sporting events. Invest in... a proper coffee service - location leaves decent coffee hard to get hold of. I think a central Boston location should be considered. Alewife attracts a certain kind of employee and I think the future of the company can afford to be represented differently.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think the time has arrived to hire a COO. The CEO is a dynamic and passionate leader. There's been a huge evolution to his leadership style and he continues to be at the centre of the daily decision making and continues to have an enormously impact on the growth of the company. He demands the very best from you and long may that continue. However, support in the shape of a proven COO who has worked in that late... stage expansion phase would lend massive support to him and the company. Lastly, build out a career hierarchy, and introduce sales training (both of which I believe were being discussed as I was leaving).

    Show More
    JoVE2016-04-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company if you're a results based person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at JoVE full-time

    Pros

    JoVE has a fantastic product and there is a huge unmet need in science for this type of content. This company values results based work and good ideas. It's all about results; if you can deliver, you will be rewarded. If you can't, you'll be let go. There are fantastic opportunities for advancement and senior management is largely easy to work with. It's also very easy to move around in the organization, which can... be huge plus if you're aiming to get experience. JoVE gets a bad rap on here, which I only partially understand. If you're looking to just float by and mess around on the internet, then yeah you'll have a bad time. If you put your head down and do your job, sooner or later you'll be in middle management and get a decent pay bump. It's kind of that simple. Like i said before, this is a results based environment. I work well under those circumstances and have been rewarded for that work ethic. Also, this job is definitely a 9-5 job, which is really nice. I don't answer emails on weekends or after 5pm and no one bats an eye. You get an hour for lunch, there are weekly social hours, and occasional department outings. Benefits are solid and at or above industry standard. 401k plan, Health Insurance, Life Insurance, Dental, FSA accounts, decent vacation time, sick time, workers comp, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    Compensation definitely leaves something to be desired. it depends on what department you're in. Sales apparently is well compensated, this should be addressed for the rest of the departments as well. No flex hours, which is somewhat difficult to get around. There is a strict 9-5 working schedule, which is rarely changed. Working from home is rarely an option, only under extreme circumstances.

    Advice to Management

    Reward your longer tenured employees with added incentives. More flexible work hours would go a long way. As long as your work gets done, you should allow for greater flexibility with work from home options.

    JoVE2016-03-02
  10. Helpful (29)

    "Just Don't Do It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JoVE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    First off this review is based solely on my experience in the Sales department, and I'm not able to comment on how any other division is run. That being said I've had 5+ years of experience in sales and while some may call that green I feel that I've had enough experience to know what to expect from a great employer, one that is mediocre, and one that is awful. Where JoVE stands out is benefits, people, and hours.... When I started, JoVE covered all costs for benefits, and has since changed its policy but you only pay a small portion for coverage, and in comparison to other employers it is uncommon and a great perk. 99% of the people you will work with are genuinely great coworkers and potential friends. The hours are 9-5 with an hour lunch break, but there has been some discussion on that so it may now be a half hour.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'll emphasize some cons that fellow employees have highlighted, but having spent this past winter in Boston I wanted to address an issue I think speaks volumes about the management at the company and I haven’t really seen anyone mention. If you experienced this winter in Boston, and had any type of commute whatsoever to your place of work then those weeks may be a bitter memory for you. At JoVE this stands out to... me as one of the biggest signs of disrespect and disregard for their employees. People have mentioned how those 9-5 hours are rigid and if you aren't in your seat at 9 then you most likely are spoken to or pulled aside over your tardiness. Couple that with a crippled transit system, white out conditions and a dangerous commute. The only time your absence from the office was allowed was when there was a state of emergency and there was NO public transit and you couldn’t legally be on the road. Now obviously the company is not required to close or issue work form home days when the weather is rough, but when a fellow coworker of mine was faced with the option of shoveling out their car for close to an hour, and driving in more than difficult road conditions, and then would have been 2+ hours late to work, common sense says work from home....but not at JoVE. She was told she had to take a personal day if she could not make it in to the office because employees can’t be trusted to do their jobs while not under the watch of their managers. While that is well within the rights of the CEO to demand, I think that a prospective hire should know what to expect come winter. On to some other expectations. Sales is a high pressure job no question about that and always has been. But my past experiences have never left me with a fear for my job almost weekly. It didn’t matter that in publishing the sales cycle should be quarterly vs monthly, or that your territory was already saturated, or that almost every 3 months the CEO had a new idea how to structure the Sales team and its offerings. If you didn’t hit your numbers, you got a warning followed by the door. The managers did their best they could to shield you from it, and make the lemonade out of lemons, but at the end of the day what the CEO says goes. If you can stomach that kind of pressure and unrealistic expectations, then maybe the above Pros are good enough for you. And I could keep going on and on, but at the end of the day its already been said before. Some reviews on here look to be personal, but they aren’t wrong.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Whenever HR tries to combat a negative review by asking a mild mannered employee to write a positive one, it infuriates people and it has a bit of a hydra effect. You have a lot more pissed off former employees than current happy ones, so maybe keep that in mind and accept the reviews because until the CEO cares that he has created a toxic and depressing environment you are going to keep the negative image that it... almost seems like he is creating willingly.

    Show More
    JoVE2015-11-02
Found 12 reviews
</>Embed