JoVE "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

JoVE Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
JoVE CEO Moshe Pritsker
Moshe Pritsker
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "Kind of place where you work 9-5 and leave, no home work or late night emails(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great people, that are passionate about a really innovative product(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work. Smart people, positive vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JoVE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Like the headline says, smart people. Launching innovative new products, great benefits. Kind of place where you work 9-5 and leave, no home work or late night emails. People are laid back.

    Cons

    Some Managers are better than others. Work from home is starting to happen slowly in some departments, but it is not encouraged.

    Advice to Management

    Keep launching innovative new products. Develop a comprehensive work from home policy, or at least one on a department by department basis.

    JoVE2019-06-04
  2. Helpful (15)

    "JoVE is okay - but most of the positive reviews are fake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JoVE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is always work to do, and many of the middle-management or lower-tier leadership really want to make things better - both for their employees and the company overall. Many of the non-salary benefits are pretty good , such as the health insurance.

    Cons

    No work from home policy, despite being a technology company. This is entirely due to the CEO believing that people can't be as productive from home - and his main goal is maximizing output, not employee happiness or engagement. There appears to be a disconnected here, where he - like many CEOs - doesn't realize that happiness influences productivity. This attempt to "maximize output" often leads to unrealistic... deadlines, miscommunications, and rapid changes in responsibilities and directionality. There is little redundancy across the company, and efforts to save pennies often leads to poor decisions - such as overloading individual employees or not overlapping responsibilities. This leads to scrambling anytime someone wants to go on vacation or leaves the company completely. The phrase "many hands makes light work" is lost on them. This penny-pinching also becomes insulting when the CEO decides to spend large sums of cash on unnecessary flair instead of necessary improvements. Now, I'm comfortable in my position, but I see the bad decisions made unilaterally in others, and how it effects my coworkers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    First, stop faking these reviews and stop soliciting them from others. It's sketchy and pushes people to vent their real qualms publicly, like now. Second, really take a look at overall employee happiness - and that means valuing your people and your product, NOT just the money it makes you.

    JoVE2018-05-01
  3. "If you love technology, science and innovative learning - you should work for JoVE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JoVE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. You are allowed to try new ideas 2. Great balance of friendly and professional vibe in the workplace 3. You get to work for products which are truly making a difference in the academic and scientific world 4. Everyone is so motivated to innovate and improve - that's truly inspiring

    Cons

    1. Work from home option is not truly encouraged 2. Some departments get micro managed more than others 3. Salaries for certain positions (depending on departments) are not as competitive as other companies in the Greater Boston Area

    Advice to Management

    Maybe develop a plan for more outreach and awareness in the community.

    JoVE2018-02-23
  4. "Happily Employed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JoVE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been at Jove for over 4 years and am very happy. I have moved into different positions within the Company and have learned so much. That is one of the best things about JoVE - they encourage and support promotions within the Company, giving you the chance to learn and grow in different roles, thus really understanding how the Company works. I also enjoy the weekly socials and other gatherings that encourage... employees to get to know one another from different departments. Good team building.

    Show More

    Cons

    They have always been very flexible in most situations, but if I had to choose a "con" it would be the work from home policy during snowy conditions. I wish that you had 2 or 3 days per year that you could use as a wfh day. Its tough if you have kids and school is cancelled and you have to use a sick or vacation day. They did approve wfh once this year though so maybe its looking up!

    JoVE2018-01-31
  5. "Staff Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JoVE full-time

    Pros

    I have been working at JoVE for almost 2 years and it has been a wonderful experience. I really like all of my co-workers especially HR, it’s nice to be able to have someone else help finance when needed. JoVE is always looking out for its employees, they have the BEST health insurance in the world! Every year JoVE seems to add something great like our new MBTA reimbursement. The company allows you to grow and... provides you tools to do so.

    Show More

    Cons

    We’re not allowed to work from home Work stations are too small, I need more space

    JoVE2018-01-23
  6. "Seasoned employee's honest opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JoVE full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits Paid hour lunch CEO cares about his employees Paid flexible vacation time

    Cons

    Micro-management (some managers) No work from home policy

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, be kind and reasonable with your employees.

    JoVE2017-05-18
  7. Helpful (29)

    "Just Don't Do It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JoVE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    First off this review is based solely on my experience in the Sales department, and I'm not able to comment on how any other division is run. That being said I've had 5+ years of experience in sales and while some may call that green I feel that I've had enough experience to know what to expect from a great employer, one that is mediocre, and one that is awful. Where JoVE stands out is benefits, people, and hours.... When I started, JoVE covered all costs for benefits, and has since changed its policy but you only pay a small portion for coverage, and in comparison to other employers it is uncommon and a great perk. 99% of the people you will work with are genuinely great coworkers and potential friends. The hours are 9-5 with an hour lunch break, but there has been some discussion on that so it may now be a half hour.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'll emphasize some cons that fellow employees have highlighted, but having spent this past winter in Boston I wanted to address an issue I think speaks volumes about the management at the company and I haven’t really seen anyone mention. If you experienced this winter in Boston, and had any type of commute whatsoever to your place of work then those weeks may be a bitter memory for you. At JoVE this stands out to... me as one of the biggest signs of disrespect and disregard for their employees. People have mentioned how those 9-5 hours are rigid and if you aren't in your seat at 9 then you most likely are spoken to or pulled aside over your tardiness. Couple that with a crippled transit system, white out conditions and a dangerous commute. The only time your absence from the office was allowed was when there was a state of emergency and there was NO public transit and you couldn’t legally be on the road. Now obviously the company is not required to close or issue work form home days when the weather is rough, but when a fellow coworker of mine was faced with the option of shoveling out their car for close to an hour, and driving in more than difficult road conditions, and then would have been 2+ hours late to work, common sense says work from home....but not at JoVE. She was told she had to take a personal day if she could not make it in to the office because employees can’t be trusted to do their jobs while not under the watch of their managers. While that is well within the rights of the CEO to demand, I think that a prospective hire should know what to expect come winter. On to some other expectations. Sales is a high pressure job no question about that and always has been. But my past experiences have never left me with a fear for my job almost weekly. It didn’t matter that in publishing the sales cycle should be quarterly vs monthly, or that your territory was already saturated, or that almost every 3 months the CEO had a new idea how to structure the Sales team and its offerings. If you didn’t hit your numbers, you got a warning followed by the door. The managers did their best they could to shield you from it, and make the lemonade out of lemons, but at the end of the day what the CEO says goes. If you can stomach that kind of pressure and unrealistic expectations, then maybe the above Pros are good enough for you. And I could keep going on and on, but at the end of the day its already been said before. Some reviews on here look to be personal, but they aren’t wrong.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Whenever HR tries to combat a negative review by asking a mild mannered employee to write a positive one, it infuriates people and it has a bit of a hydra effect. You have a lot more pissed off former employees than current happy ones, so maybe keep that in mind and accept the reviews because until the CEO cares that he has created a toxic and depressing environment you are going to keep the negative image that it... almost seems like he is creating willingly.

    Show More
    JoVE2015-11-02
  8. Helpful (5)

    "A disappointment.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - JoVE Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JoVE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great concept, friendly employees, location, and a somewhat flexible schedule.

    Cons

    JoVE is small start-up company that has extremely poor management and pay. Someone mentioned that we are basically glorified telemarketers and I agree wholeheartedly. It is a soliciting phone calls and copy/paste based position that requires hardly any skill and the pay is embarrassing. You will definitely need a second job and just about everyone currently employed at JoVE is actively looking for a better job.... There is no room for advancement, and if you are "promoted" it truly doesn't matter. You will not gain any valuable experience or knowledge. If you enjoy harassing people on the phone and via email, sales might be a good fit for you but expect to be miserable due to the numbers-based stress. The Associate Editors work from home and on the weekends in addition to the 40hr work week. The CEO lacks any respect for his employees and will not consider any suggestions. The ignorance from this company is pathetic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A high turnover rate is not beneficial to the company. With each new hired employee you are degrading the company of work that would otherwise be done. Your employees are constantly interviewing for open positions on the phone and in person. When you do hire a new employee two-three persons are taking time out of their schedule to train them for about two days. Once the new hires are situated in their new position... there is STILL a learning hurdle. The amount of time lost with each new hire is astronomical. If you paid your employees more and strived for a better work environment, you would be able to keep those who are efficient workers. The company would excel and make more money due to an increase in productivity. Your HR is inadequate and the CEO is going to cause JoVE to fail because he will not work towards a more productive work force.

    Show More
    JoVE2013-05-20
  9. Helpful (9)

    "JoVE: better than cancer?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editorial in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JoVE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    JoVE is located near the T and since management seeks to hire the cheapest, most inexperienced personnel, the staff is pretty young and you can find some good people to hang out with. Unfortunately, people get pretty jaded within the first couple of months. Since most people are job-hunting, it's a pretty good place to get job market intelligence and build a "survivors' network."

    Cons

    The problem is really the upper level management who appears to adhere to a few core principals: 1) under pay for almost everything 2) employees are a problem to be minimized 3) the CEO is always right regardless of what the facts are. Since very few people have worked outside of academia, management and personnel have a warped perspective of professionalism and how private companies operate. This is especially... true for the rigid, capricious, closed-minded and micromanaging co-founder/CEO/Editorial Director/Deputy Director, who is more interested in adding new titles to his signature line than in learning and executing the responsibilities of someone with those titles. While it is unclear what the CEO does with his time (aside from micromanaging people who do jobs he doesn't understand), it is clear that he works less than the average employee. The result is that a great many important tasks are ignored or are dumped on people who are even less qualified than he is. The result is that random tasks will get assigned to people regardless of whether it matches their jobs. The hours are rigidly enforced as 9-5, regardless of whether it makes sense for a phone-based sales force that recruits internationally. Work from home is rarely allowed, there is no retirement contribution and each employee gets 2 personal days and 2 sick days all year. Promotion is relatively haphazard and the only real requirement to get promoted is to "drink the cool aid." As long as the CEO decided he likes a person (usually within the first few days of their employment), and the person does not disagree with the CEO, they will most likely be promoted. Those who are promoted tend to perpetuate this philosophy, creating an environment where managers aren't selected for their abilities beyond being able to suck-up to their supervisors. Expect to see all plum assignments and promotions going to people's friends and people getting promoted to management despite a grand total of 4 months work experience. Employees are viewed as a problem whose solution is elimination, so there is a great deal of effort put into making each job as simple and mind-numbing as possible. This seems to be done in order to maximize activities that the CEO believes are successful (he does not take suggestions from people actually doing the work) and to make it easier when people inevitably quit. Since the CEO does not recognize non-immediate costs, like those of replacing and training a new employee, he doesn't understand that it is in the company's benefit to keep talented employees. Instead, he takes a "I don't care what other companies do, if you don't like it, work harder or leave" approach. It is this attitude that leads the CEO to misrepresent pay, working conditions, job descriptions and available opportunity to people he is trying to hire; unless you get it in writing, do not believe what you are told. Not surprisingly, most people choose to leave and a surprising number are so miserable they leave without another job in the wings. Between the miserable culture and the low pay (be prepared to get a second job or go on food stamps as many do), the rate of turnover is no surprise. This job is billed as a good transitional one, but since employees do not learn any real marketable skills (unless you want to go into telemarketing/sales), JoVE is only a place to work at if you have no other choices, and even then, keep looking.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    At this point, the best thing management can do is step aside and hire someone with management experience to run this business.

    JoVE2013-04-16
Found 9 reviews
</>Embed