Job Corps Career Transition Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Job Corps Career Transition Specialist Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
14%
Recommend to a Friend
Job Corps National Director Lenita Jacobs-Simmons
Lenita Jacobs-Simmons
0 Rating
  1. "Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Career Transition Specialist in Nemo, SD
    Recommends

    I worked at Job Corps for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved everything about the job, students, coworkers, and program.

    Cons

    Temp position so contract ended abruptly.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2015-06-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Transition Specialist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    3 stars for good health benefits

    Cons

    This review is for Glenmont & Delaware Valley Job Crops: Unattainable goals (students lack credentials employers look for!), center does not communicate well with remote CTS department, dated employment verification process, update the trades or atleast realize what employers are looking for! Poor pay

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2018-12-03
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Career Transition Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Transition Specialist in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the students do actually want to work for a good life who will make your job easier.

    Cons

    Horrible management, no accountability of the students, all performance goals based on a quota, management is never happy or satisfied. Extremely low moral among employees, high turn around, constantly chasing students for placements.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2017-06-05
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Career Transition Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Transition Specialist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall, the students are rewarding to assist with career transitional needs. I've been in awe of the strength and resiliency I've seen in some of the most motivated youth. Many have overcome tremendous obstacles. Job Corps offers motivated students a more level playing field in the employment arena and a much brighter career outlook for many.

    Cons

    Ive never worked at so hard in all of my 20 plus years of employment for so little pay. The caseloads are too high to be able to deliver individualized career guidance services to students. In order to come close to meeting performance expectations, I must at a highly frenzied work pace. I end up donating extra time to students. The job requirements simply can not be met in the 40 hours allotted as an hourly employee. Once benefits are deducted, the pay rate is greatly reduced and does not provide a living wage. It's disheartening to love the work and to give it your all--but struggle to pay bills. Performance based federal contracting in education and human services leads to unintentional consequences that hinder successful outcomes, in my opinion. The competitive nature of the program fuels a culture of fear and instability. Instead of fostering greater accountability, Job Corps becomes a "numbers game," emphasizing short sighted, short term gains. Fiscal accountability and controlling costs appears to burden front line staff members the most....It is difficult to keep up in a competitive environment with outdated technology and cumbersome policies that discourage access to resources.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2016-07-13
  5. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Transition Specialist in Medina, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helping the students was the greats part of my job. I loved being able to see them leave and get great jobs, some making more than I did!

    Cons

    There are always cons with every employer. The management team seemed to tie our hands more and more, which made it harder to achieve goals.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2016-05-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Career Transition Specialist in Glenmont, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps

    Pros

    it was a monday-friday 8-5 type of job, full benefits, and ability to advance quickly due to high turn over rate

    Cons

    Completely numbers based, seriously only concerned with getting surveys from students, most of the kids there don't care and act wild, high turn over rate, honestly it really felt like everyone hated their job, complete lack of training for this position

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2015-08-31
  7. "Great to work for when you have the right contractor and right staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Transition Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging but rewarding work, excellent team to work with, flexible schedules, and weekends are off.

    Cons

    Vacation time accrues slower than I would like. Can be thankless work at times.

    Job Corps2015-07-25
  8. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Transition Specialist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helping others while earning a salary

    Cons

    Sometimes having very challenging students

    Job Corps2014-03-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good company to gain entry level experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Transition Specialist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diverse staff and students to work with for those working in mental health.

    Cons

    Government funded, limited funds allow for no raises EVER.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2013-06-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Rat Race"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Transition Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps full-time

    Pros

    Working with disadvantaged population of young adults. Always keep you on your toes and it's great to teach them new things

    Cons

    Too many different contractors with their hands in the cookie jar. It's just a rat race with a government contract. Job instability. Asked to re-interview for my job after a year.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2012-07-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews