Job Corps Counselor Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Job Corps Counselor Reviews

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Job Corps National Director Lenita Jacobs-Simmons
Lenita Jacobs-Simmons
3 Ratings
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Counselor in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company Is great at times

    Cons

    Company is off at times

    Job Corps2019-11-05
  2. "Upper management needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Manchester, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My direct supervisor and director were amazing. I enjoyed working with line staff and the support I received from them. Quotas are difficult but attainable.

    Cons

    Upper management has no idea how to work with students or staff. They consistently work against their best staff.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2020-02-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It's all a numbers game"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good program for vocational training

    Cons

    Poor salary. Success of job is in the hands of others.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2020-01-07
  4. "Not a long-term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    helping those who need it

    Cons

    processes unclear and no job security

    Job Corps2019-09-03
  5. "Job Corps Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Counselor in Edinburgh, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers, making an impact in students’ lives, helping others

    Cons

    Under-compensated for hours worked, work-life balance is difficult

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2019-06-26
  6. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Admissions Counselor in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Job Corps for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience in working the youth and young adults figuring out their career pathway. Experience in data entry Public speaking

    Cons

    No vacation/ sick days for 6 months High stress Overworked

    Job Corps2019-06-13
  7. "Ok place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Admission Counselor 

    I worked at Job Corps full-time

    Pros

    Food, staff, lunch, breaks, people

    Cons

    Pay and leadership, vacation time

    Job Corps2019-05-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to change lives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Counselor in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The students are in great need of guidance and care

    Cons

    Corporate stats can cause you to lose sight of the true work, and that is servicing the youth

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2019-04-20
  9. "Great unit to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Counselor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Job Corps full-time

    Pros

    Great people and rewarding employment.

    Cons

    Long term employees make for little room for growth at the top.

    Job Corps2019-02-16
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A decent start, but not a forever job -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Counselor in Vergennes, VT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great opportunity to work with some disadvantaged youth from across New England and the Virgin Islands.

    Cons

    Horrible management. Constant turn over of staff. Whenever a company comes in and the contract changed, we lost about 1/3rd of the staff. Things were always on edge to produce results that could be measured, without many of the management staff caring about real outcomes in the quality of life of students.

    Job Corps2018-11-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 25 reviews