Job Corps Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Job Corps Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.6
3%
Recommend to a Friend
6%
Approve of CEO
Job Corps National Director Lenita Jacobs-Simmons
Lenita Jacobs-Simmons
3 Ratings
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Every day is a new opportunity to learn. Working with youth keep you very active all day.

    Cons

    You work as a cantractor and there is always the reality that some day you will lose your job. Is very stressful.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2018-01-15
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Think twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Support Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interacting with teenagers and the lunch was okay most days

    Cons

    management is severely ignorant no matter what educational credentials they may possess. I was micromanaged to no end and everything with this organization is about “numbers” ... Centers receive funding based on how many kids are enrolled and they will fight tooth and nail to keep students there who blatantly defy rules. I felt not an ounce of remorse when I gave my 2 weeks notice!

    Job Corps2019-07-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Free Government Program = Poor Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Program for students on center

    Cons

    Low Pay/ Bad Management/ bad company culture/staff not competent

    Job Corps2019-08-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Complete WASTE of YOUR Tax Dollars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great idea on paper, but like every other federally run program, horrible implementation. Minimal bang for your tax buck.

    Cons

    $1.7 BILLION dollars to run this program each year. Very little results to show for it.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2017-08-09
  5. "bad leadership, unprofessional staff, and bad students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps full-time

    Pros

    Average pay with benefits. Some staff really care some students are really good. Very good ideas but no follow through.

    Cons

    Fights, gossip, changes every month, stressed, overworked, poor poor leadership, lack of direction, bitter staff, bitter students, no raises

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2015-11-15
  6. "Promises not kept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager in Penn Hill, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great job helping young adults who are in need

    Cons

    Lack of pay increases, incentives promised and not given.

    Job Corps2015-09-08
  7. "Health Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical and Health Services Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Improve the livelihood of under privileged young adults age 16 to 24. The focus was to provide education and skills for job training making health care available at no cost.

    Cons

    Not enough emphasis on bad behavior

    Job Corps2015-07-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews