Job Corps Student Reviews | Glassdoor

Job Corps Student Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
51%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Job Corps National Director Lenita Jacobs-Simmons
Lenita Jacobs-Simmons
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in Morganfield, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free education so it’s not a bad deal

    Cons

    Very rude employees. Bullying students sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2019-08-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Get your GED and just join the Military ASAP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Morganfield, KY

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Place to live, food to eat, GED, Drivers Ed and a sense of independence.

    Cons

    They oversold the program, completely... If you go there to learn a physical trade like welding, construction or auto repair you may be ok when you get into the adult workforce, but if you want an office job or to get into a medical the "experience" and trade certificate means absolutely nothing when you get into the real world unless it's a CNA. Honestly, if you have to go there b/c you (like me) come from a poor economic or troubled background and REALLY want to make something out of your life, my best advice is to go there, get your GED and immediately start working with a counselor to get things going to join the Air Force, (my personal 1st choice) Navy or Army. Trust me, the military will offer you far better pay, real leadership skills, a chance to see the world on their dime, lifelong benefits and far more opportunities then the job corps ever could dream of. And for those worried about war, if you come from "the hood" or meth'd out areas everything outside of your door is a war zone and If you go to JC its bc you wanted to leave all that behind and make a descent life for yourself.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2019-12-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Helpful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They allowed me to learn while I stayed on campus with no cost to me.

    Cons

    Campus culture varies from center to center, and in some cases, can be overwhelming.

    Job Corps2019-11-03
  4. "THIS PLACE BLOWS!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Literally the only upside is the fact that you're learning a trade

    Cons

    Staff lie cheat, steal and manipulate more than students do. Even after you "graduate" THEY WILL TAKE FOREVER AND WON'T SEND YOUR CERTIFICATIONS

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2019-11-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "It is like a hands on college campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Wolf Creek, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Job Corps part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has free living dorms, phones, free 3 meals a day, and off campus activities payed for by the company.

    Cons

    All though the food is free, it isn’t very healthy and the medical is as fast or proper as it should be.

    Job Corps2019-08-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "JOBCORP WY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student in Riverton, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only "PRO" at JobCorp is the free education. That is it.

    Cons

    Sadly. Jobcorp has many CONS. The JobCorp located at Riverton,WY is way out of line. The staff does not care about the students, not one bit. They don't care about your daily life, they don't care about your mental health, they don't care if you're sick and they sure do not care about your opinions. They will "write you up"for unnecessary reasons and have a board ready for you, to decide weather you get to stay or go.They will make you feel as if you are not capable of doing the basic things in life, they will treat and talk to you like a kid even though they ask you to act like an adult and they will make sure that you know that your opinion does not mean anything at this center. Also, the number one issue they have here is their WELLNESS department. They are supposed to give you medicine when you are sick, but they don't. Only at their own time. They talk you as if you are a homeless dog on the streets asking for food.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2019-08-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Think twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Support Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interacting with teenagers and the lunch was okay most days

    Cons

    management is severely ignorant no matter what educational credentials they may possess. I was micromanaged to no end and everything with this organization is about “numbers” ... Centers receive funding based on how many kids are enrolled and they will fight tooth and nail to keep students there who blatantly defy rules. I felt not an ounce of remorse when I gave my 2 weeks notice!

    Job Corps2019-07-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "This place was meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent food, Students are tolerable

    Cons

    Disrespectful Staff, Lack of communication

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2019-04-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Student Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Student 
    Recommends

    I worked at Job Corps for more than a year

    Pros

    Job Corps serves an amazing purpose to society by taking young adults who may be struggling in life and teaches them how to maintain their career and personal lives.

    Cons

    Many Job Corps seem to be for profit. This causes a noticeable lack of spending on the student's job corps is supposed to be serving.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2018-07-13
  10. "bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Student in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Job Corps

    Pros

    these reviews should be taken into consideration

    Cons

    they dont take them into consideration

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2018-04-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 30 reviews