Job Corps "making a difference" Reviews | Glassdoor

Job Corps Employee Reviews about "making a difference"

Updated Mar 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Job Corps National Director Lenita Jacobs-Simmons
Lenita Jacobs-Simmons
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love helping young adults realize and meet their potential(in 19 reviews)

  • "only reason to work there is the students and making a difference(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Understaffed and over worked staff members(in 9 reviews)

  • "The upper management is very demanding and generally doesn’t treat their employees well(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "making a difference"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Residential Assistant in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Job Corps for less than a year

    Pros

    Feel like you make a difference Hands on experience Small organizations within a larger system

    Cons

    Bureaucracy Sedentary positions Huge systematic soldiering effect Small mistakes can have huge real world consequences

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2016-07-10
  2. "corrupt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Job Corps full-time

    Pros

    students. only reason to work there is the students and making a difference

    Cons

    Complete incompetence at the management level; seems intentional to hire mangers and directors who are incompetent, corrupt, lazy, and milking the system just to get their paycheck. Desire to help the students is only there among the lower staff

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2018-03-27
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Gary Job Corps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Job Corps full-time

    Pros

    I love being able to make a difference in a young persons life. I work M-F 8-5. Off holidays. It's almost impossible to be fired.

    Cons

    It's almost impossible to be fired. It's all about numbers and money to the management companies. It's about quantity over quality.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2018-02-02
  5. "Career Transition Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Job Corps full-time

    Pros

    It was nice to make a difference in the lives of young people.

    Cons

    Micromanaging from management can be overwhelming. No real opportunities to move up.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2017-03-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work is extremely rewarding, you truly feel like your making a difference in your community. The starting pay is competitive for novice teachers.

    Cons

    Management hold nobody accountable. They don't value their employees ideas. No pay raises for three years. You could drowned in all the government red tape.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2017-02-14
  7. "Data Collection Secialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Collection Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to mentor young (16-24) people and make a difference. Seeing when they 'get it' is awesome. Love the program!

    Cons

    Integrity is a hard job when numbers are involved. Filing each day in correct order is what is looked for when auditing.

    Job Corps2016-09-14
  8. "Manager of Social Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    working with at-risk young adults is a challenging and rewarding thing to do with your life. I felt that everyday I was making a difference.

    Cons

    It could be a difficult job at times, it was essential that you took time for self-care. It was a non profit job so the pay was minimal.

    Job Corps2016-01-18
  9. "Admissions Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Admissions Counselor in Iowa City, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, macro managing and freedom to do the job how you want. I loved working with students and making a difference in their life.

    Cons

    Company politics! Horrible management, lack of consistency within the company. No real training, you have to be very self motivated to make your goals otherwise you will be written up.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2016-01-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Albany, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Job Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get the chance to interact with the youth and help them make a difference in their life.

    Cons

    Petty, immature staff that have been there for over a decade and are not open to change. Staff speaks to students in a disrespectful tone. Medical equipment needs replaced or updated. Communication is terrible!

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2015-11-03
  11. "Substitute Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Substitute Teacher in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Job Corps

    Pros

    Helping students to succeed and making a difference. Love to meet the many students who come and go. Very close knit family like staff morale.

    Cons

    Shifty hours because of it being a 24 hour facility.

    Continue reading
    Job Corps2015-09-04
Found 10 reviews