John Deere "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

John Deere Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Dec 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
John Deere Chairman & CEO Samuel Allen
Samuel Allen
1,195 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance issues for few support departments(in 53 reviews)

  • "It’s not sunny California in the midwest(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "UX Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - User Experience Intern 

    I worked at John Deere

    Pros

    Great work environment and interesting projects.

    Cons

    No cons I can think of.

    John Deere2019-11-04
  2. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at John Deere full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, and the people really care about their work.

    Cons

    Sometimes processes can be a burden.

    John Deere2019-12-17
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planner in Waterloo, IA

    I worked at John Deere full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative work environment where you work with multiple teams

    Cons

    Large company which can be a pro and con.

    John Deere2019-12-14
  5. "Perfect Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - IT Intern in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Deere for less than a year

    Pros

    - Very relaxed work environment - Interns work on great projects for the summer which actually have results and get deployed - Incredibly nice coworkers - Excellent company sponsored housing - Active, large intern community

    Cons

    - Didn't enjoy living in Iowa - Had to work with another intern on our project (not common at Deere)

    John Deere2019-10-20
  6. "Great Summer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Product Engineering Intern in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Deere for less than a year

    Pros

    - Given a lot of responsibility to work on projects that will impact the company - Co-workers were friendly and eager to help - Collaborative work environment where you work with multiple teams - Lots of intern events to participate in including baseball games, bowling, and volunteering opportunities

    Cons

    - Location can be seen as a con but you can definitely find plenty of things to do if you are actively involved

    John Deere2019-10-09
  7. "Great company to be apart of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Welding Engineer in Moline, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Deere full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have noticed that Deere treats their employees very well. Lots of benefits and the work environment is fun and rewarding.

    Cons

    It was very challenging coming into the work place. New people, procedures, and responsibilities. It took me a while to get the hang of things.

    Advice to Management

    Keep trying to guide us to what helps the company and get to know the people that you work under and understand their personality.

    John Deere2019-10-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Field Service Representative in Waterloo, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Deere full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits Great Working Environment Nice equipment to work with Chances for Advancement

    Cons

    IT and Help Desk process is slow and repetitive.

    John Deere2019-09-30
  9. "A Fair Company to Work for in a Stimulating Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weld Manufacturing Engineer in Ottumwa, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Deere full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fast paced work environment - Ability to advance is only limited by yourself - Encouraged to be creative in problem solving - Able to wear many hats and gain good experience - Ability to visit other factories and network quite easily - Countless opportunities to be involved in intriguing projects

    Cons

    - Dozens of systems and acronyms to learn in an overwhelming environment (at first) - At Ottumwa Works, many pieces of manufacturing equipment are worn out - One sometimes feels like small fish in a large ocean - Job hierarchy is tedious; it is sometimes a chore to get things done

    Advice to Management

    Do more to make employees feel as if they are doing a job well done. Appreciation goes a long way in such an intense and usually unforgiving environment.

    John Deere2019-10-02
  10. "Meaningful Work, Excellent Internship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Product Developent in Dubuque, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Deere for less than a year

    Pros

    - I felt that I was able to make an impact in the three months I was an intern - Management and leadership were all personable and receptive to what said - Excellent company culture. There were so many smart people, yet the work environment was collaborative, not competetive

    Cons

    - There isn't much opportunity to live in a large city and work at John Deere. Most of the opportunity is in Waterloo, Dubuque, and the Quad Cities area.

    Advice to Management

    None! Excellent job

    John Deere2019-09-22
  11. "Nice corporate position for organized person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Content Analyst in East Moline, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Deere for more than a year

    Pros

    Deere does a lot of the right corporate benefits things. The work environment is supportive and pleasant. It's a nice place to work.

    Cons

    It is somewhat a very traditional, stoic organization. They move much more quickly on technology than on social issues, but they're reasonably well-behaved as a company.

    John Deere2019-07-26
Found 128 reviews