John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor

John Hancock Reviews

Updated May 21, 2017
355 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
John Hancock CEO Donald Guloien
Donald Guloien
124 Ratings

355 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Interesting work, great culture, management is flexible about remote work, emphasis on work/life balance (in 44 reviews)

  • Good flexibility and work from home or time off policies in place (in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • Keep your talented employees by continuing to promote work/life balance and endless career opportunities for those who have the ambition and skill set (in 9 reviews)

  • Very large company and with companies of that size there is plenty of red tape to go around (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "John Hancock"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Great culture
    - Strong Brand
    - Positive work environment

    Cons

    - limited advancement in small satellite location

    John Hancock Response

    May 16, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing this review. We constantly strive for the best employee experience, and we are happy to hear that’s what you received so far.


  2. "Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ability to work from home, company match 401k contributions and various fringe benefits.

    Cons

    Lower pay compared to similar jobs at other companies, slow growth model, not a great place to work for younger people (in my three years of experience), etc.

    John Hancock Response

    May 22, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback. If you wish to discuss anything further, please feel free to reach out to us at TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.


  3. "Great culture!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Culture, people, sponsorship, volunteer opportunities, flexible work from home

    Cons

    Not enough movement for promotion

    John Hancock Response

    May 16, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are excited to hear that you are having a great experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great Place to work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - N/A in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - N/A in Boston, MA

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to grow. Plenty of opportunities.

    Cons

    Haven't had a bad experience yet. So far i only have positive feed back.

    John Hancock Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.


  6. "Great Place to Work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Project Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Interesting work, great culture, management is flexible about remote work, emphasis on work/life balance

    Cons

    Salaries are higher for the same job in other companies.

    John Hancock Response

    Apr 14, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!


  7. "Worst Experience of My Career"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Marketing in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The salary and pension were competitive.

    Cons

    Hostile work environment. Lack of constructive criticism. Selfish management. No room to advance. Non-collaborative. Disengagement.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management ignores festering problems. Engagement in department was lowest in Manulife chain (40%). HR was called in to see what the problem was, but then did nothing to correct things. Got worse and more hostile. Phony company fronting for caring atmosphere (Marathon and Red Sox sponsorship). I was told early on that I would "never manage people." Never is a long time and it also removed every shred of motivation I had to succeed. Management: you know you have problem, so fix it!

    John Hancock Response

    May 16, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and would like to understand more. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.


  8. "Operations Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and training programs. A healthy lifestyle is promoted and encouraged. There are plenty of opportunities to work remotely.

    Cons

    Hard to advance due to tenured employees. Pursuing higher education is a benefit only if your direct supervisor has an advanced degree as well.

    John Hancock Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your positive feedback with us, as well as suggestions for areas of improvement. We are committed to top candidate and employee experience and this information will help us ... More


  9. "Misguided and needs much assistance"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Hours, Work Smart program, office location

    Cons

    Senior management (mostly an issue in US), lack of focus, competing and contradictory priorities, no vision, no strategy, not in tune w/ the era we are in, the wrong people get promoted for the wrong reasons, politics

    Advice to Management

    Bring in fresh new talent at higher levels to help change

    John Hancock Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.


  10. "licensing analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensing Analyst in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Licensing Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    name recognition, good benefits, tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    old company, old people, old culture. old systems

    Advice to Management

    create title advancements and levels to positions

    John Hancock Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback. We're sorry to hear your negative comments and are sharing these internally as we strive to improve the overall experience we ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "needs improvement"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fellow workers professional and bright. Willing to help.
    General atmosphere is one of cooperation.

    Cons

    Management needs work, personal vendettas, instructing work peers to not assist other workers. Telling employees not to share information regarding off hours pay with others.

    Advice to Management

    Clean up managers. Either train them to be managers or get rid of them.

    John Hancock Response

    Mar 22, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.


Showing 355 of 407 reviews
Reset Filters