John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor

John Hancock Reviews

Updated September 15, 2017
381 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
John Hancock CEO Donald Guloien
Donald Guloien
134 Ratings

381 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • no work/life balance, no training, VERY sink or swim (in 9 reviews)

  • very large company, no hand holding (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Culture is awesome. Most of the people I work with are very smart and I haven't had to deal with typical office politics here.

    Cons

    None? Sometimes I have to work more than 40 hours per week, but that's pretty rare.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    John Hancock Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and are happy to know that you are enjoying your experience with us!


  2. "IT Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Low stress; work from home options

    Cons

    Dull work; not much vertical advancement (must move around within the company to advance)

    John Hancock Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience, as we value feedback from our employees.

  3. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Divisional Administrative Assistant in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Divisional Administrative Assistant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Awesome Benefits
    Work/Life Balance
    Management
    Family Values
    Resources for advancement

    Cons

    None - awesome company to work within

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 30, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review on your experience with us. We are happy to hear you valued your time here!


  4. "VP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    People, culture, work/life balance, comp and benefits

    Cons

    big organization, can sometime be slow to move/adjust

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 24, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We're so happy to hear that you are having a positive experience with us and appreciate our benefits structure. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.


  5. "Enterprise Operations Associates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Great company with good benefits.

    Cons

    The company gives opportunity to employee

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. We value offering a positive experience to our employees, and we're happy to hear that is what you received!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Needs to improve employee career growth to retain talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    -Culture
    -Activism within the community
    -Work from home flexibility

    Cons

    -Slow in promotions
    -Constant re-orgs every few months
    -Below industry average salaries

    Advice to Management

    -Focus on employee career growth
    -Tightening budgets should not take away from small gestures as the annual holiday party, this really dampens employee morale and respect for the company

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and share suggestions for improvements. We are happy to hear that you are having a good experience with us!


  7. "Quality Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Analyst in Portsmouth, NH
    Current Employee - Quality Analyst in Portsmouth, NH

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, amazing career opportunities and courses!

    Cons

    Large workload, short staffed, lower end of salary range

    Advice to Management

    Hire more positions!

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 15, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!

  8. "Great co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Co-op in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Associate Co-op in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Collaborative, supportive environment that integrates co-ops and interns seamlessly into operations. Great people in a great structure.

    Cons

    Capped hours, but even then, the pay is great. Work can seem menial at times but the ramping of responsibilities had me doing some pretty heavy lifting by the fourth and fifth months.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support new entrants into the business of wealth management, and ideally, offer a segue from successful co-op experience into an advisor track role.

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you had a great experience with us!


  9. "Investment Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, good people, good benefits

    Cons

    Pay is below market, not a growth company

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we're happy to hear you are having a positive experience with us.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Yawn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good people. Mostly former insurance execs but for the most part management knows what it's doing. There are many who don't, though, who are extremely comfortable staying where they are until retirement.

    Cons

    This place is a sea of complacency. Coming from a real asset manager will be a mistake for someone considering it.

    Advice to Management

    Start thinking for yourselves instead of passing the buck.

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and would like to understand more. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com to discuss further so we... More


Showing 381 of 433 reviews
Reset Filters