John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor

John Hancock Reviews

Updated December 7, 2017
403 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
John Hancock President and CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
5 Ratings

403 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Zero loyalty to hard workers, awful work/life balance even though they (in 10 reviews)

  • very large company, no hand holding (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment and work life balance

    Cons

    Difficult political structure and many bad leaders

    John Hancock Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review! We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience with us.


  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, IT in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Director, IT in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    They really care about their employees.

    Cons

    None at all. They are on the right track.

    John Hancock Response

    Nov 28, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for providing feedback. We are happy to know you had an enjoyable experience with us!

  3. "JH Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits: Working from home, 3-month paternity/maternity leave, Tuition assistance, 401K match

    Cons

    Company isn't growing at the moment

    Advice to Management

    None

    John Hancock Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email... More


  4. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good. I generally like the people I work with and the work I do is interesting. They do a good job rewarding people for their hard work.

    Cons

    There are a lack of opportunities at JH. The company isn't growing - they're only looking to get rid of people which makes it difficult to get a new position or get promoted.

    They expect a lot of hours out of their finance department, especially as the teams become smaller.

    John Hancock Response

    Dec 6, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review and providing valuable feedback. We appreciate this information as we strive to offer the best employee experience.


  5. "Good Company - Mediocre Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Great Benefits
    - Good people for the most part and very understanding of the work/life balance
    - Opportunity to make lots of money

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth unless you really put yourself out there. At least in my experience, unless you straight up ask for a promotion you're not getting one. Hard work and consistency isn't enough.

    Advice to Management

    Notice employees hard work and ask them where they see themselves with the company. Would create less turnover among younger employees

    John Hancock Response

    Nov 28, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your honest feedback, thank you for writing a review. We are thrilled to know you had a positive experience with us.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company name, zero loyalty to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, company name, great place to work if you happen to get a great manager

    Cons

    Zero loyalty to hard workers, awful work/life balance even though they “promote it”

    Advice to Management

    Pay close attention to the turn over in certain groups, it’s very obvious were the issues are. Upper management pretends to not notice. I watched amazing employees of 15+, 20+ yrs get let go during lay offs after they worked 24/7 for this company.

    John Hancock Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email... More


  7. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    The people who work here are brilliant

    Cons

    The pay and benefits are below average and the company seems to be shrinking

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to hire from within

    John Hancock Response

    Nov 28, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and offer suggestions for improvement.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company with good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Actuarial Co-op in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Actuarial Co-op in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people were great, the causes the company worked toward were great.

    Cons

    Sometimes too many co-op events that took away from my work with my team

    John Hancock Response

    Nov 10, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review and providing honest and valuable feedback. We appreciate this information as we strive to offer the best employee experience.


  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Great teams and people who make a good work environment

    Cons

    Outdated technology that makes work frustrating

    John Hancock Response

    Nov 10, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review! We are so happy to hear you are having a positive experience with us.


  10. "Great Work Atmosphere - Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Great work atmosphere

    Cons

    I loved it there and don't have any cons

    John Hancock Response

    Nov 10, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your feedback and are glad to know you had a positive experience with us!


Showing 403 of 459 reviews
Reset Filters