John Hancock Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
John Hancock President and CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
70 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Awesome Company to Work For!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busineess Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Work-Life Balance, Salary, Care about Employees

    Cons

    None of any consequence, one of the better companies out there!

    John Hancock2019-10-03

    John Hancock Response

    October 4, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you had a positive experience.

  2. "Awesome Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay. Great family life balance. Paid time off. Meaningful work. Great co-workers. Awesome benefits. Training is thorough. Everyone is helpful.

    Cons

    It's a lot to learn at one time :)

    John Hancock2019-12-28
  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Reputable name with top tier products - Great pay and benefits - they care about their employees and their customers...not just providing lip service

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    John Hancock2020-05-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company Meh Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Systems Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Company Perks, Community involvement and Volunteer opportunities

    Cons

    A lot of Managers that shouldn't be Managers, Brown Nosing is rewarded more than exemplary work

    Continue reading
    John Hancock2020-05-15
  5. "Wonderful place and people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful people and place to work

    Cons

    The pay could be higher

    John Hancock2020-04-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well established company. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Commute. Lack of communication. Building closures.

    John Hancock2020-03-31
  7. "Consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA

    I worked at John Hancock part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Hours and location. Projects are interesting and people want to help you grow.

    Cons

    Nothing as such, didn't work for a long time.

    John Hancock2020-02-23
  8. "Charity Superstar!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I am very proud of all the company does for the community and charity. Most people who work here are great to work with!

    Cons

    Outdated technology. Too many legacy systems.

    Continue reading
    John Hancock2020-01-31
  9. "Big company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good steady job with smart people

    Cons

    Big company so not a lot of influence

    John Hancock2020-02-06
  10. "Solid Company with Great Benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Location, Location, Location. In Back Bay Boston near Mass Pike, commuter rail and two rail lines. Solid pay and great benefits

    Cons

    Long business legacy preventing full revamp of IT. Struggling to get to newest technology, ongoing shake ups have employees uneasy

    John Hancock2020-01-22
Viewing 1 - 10 of 524 Reviews