John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor

John Hancock Reviews

Updated July 20, 2018
441 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
John Hancock President and CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
26 Ratings

441 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Fantastic culture and work-life balance" (in 57 reviews)

  • "Good flexibility and work from home or time off policies in place" (in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "work/life balance could be a little tough during busy times" (in 11 reviews)

  • "very large company, no hand holding" (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "Best company I've ever worked at--tons of opportunities and flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic culture and work-life balance. I'm able to work remotely as needed and can complete my work outside of the traditional 9-5 if I need to take some time off during the week for appointments, etc.

    I've been given a great opportunity to grow and have been consistently recognized for my work.

    I love the people I work with and the John Hancock culture. I'm encouraged to volunteer and give back.

    Cons

    Salaries are slightly low and from time to time our team is stretched a little too thin in order to keep an eye on budget, but no concerns that would prompt me to start looking elsewhere.

    John Hancock Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. We are happy to know that you are enjoying your experience with us!


  2. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Amazing team. Collaborative Efforts

    Cons

    There are no cons for working here. Great Company!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    John Hancock Response

    Jul 6, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review! We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience!

  3. "Administration Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company with great benefits.

    Cons

    Out of date technology. No where to grow in my department.


  4. "Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great people, relaxed, projects were interesting

    Cons

    Not a lot of work to do

    John Hancock Response

    Jul 6, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks you for your review. We are happy to know you are enjoying your co-op experience.


  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Opportunities to explore different career paths

    Cons

    Old school management style. Pay raises are small

    John Hancock Response

    Jun 25, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us!


  6. "Decent Firm To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to take training

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity to be promoted

    John Hancock Response

    Jul 9, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Thank you for your review.


  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Will help you in anyway to succeed

    Cons

    Nothing bad about this company or job

    John Hancock Response

    Jun 13, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We're happy to hear you are enjoying your experience.

  8. "Senior IT Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Senior IT Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexibility, new CEO @ President, climate

    Cons

    Some groups (mostly outside of IT) stuck in paper mode. Have difficulty moving to digitization.

    Advice to Management

    New Management Team is doing a great job! Very happy with changes I have seen in the last year.

    John Hancock Response

    Jun 11, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you're having a positive experience.


  9. "Internal Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Great corporate culture and travel and training opportunities.

    Cons

    Not a clear view of company vision. Management seems to keep things quiet until full announcements.

    John Hancock Response

    Jun 8, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to hear you are enjoying your experience.


  10. "Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst III in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Data Analyst III in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good work and life balance , Friendly work environment, good benefit,

    Cons

    Job security , too many reorg

    Advice to Management

    Give employee more recognition

    John Hancock Response

    Jun 8, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to hear you are enjoying your experience.


Showing 441 of 504 reviews
Reset Filters