John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor

John Hancock Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 480 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
John Hancock CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at John Hancock full-time

      Pros

      Lots of opportunity to grow

      Cons

      Lots of autonomy and ability to make change

      John Hancock Response

      December 3, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

      We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

    • "Cool place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Full Stack Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great work culture and freedom, lots of learning, Flexibility is work

      Cons

      Nothing I am aware of so far

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work

    • "Careful of who you work for here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Individual training for anyone but no direction from management

      Cons

      Management is the worse. They only care about themselves.

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of the bad middle managers. There are plenty of them.

    • "Such a disappointment..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great benefits being a very liberal company from a very liberal state.

      Cons

      Utter chaos in regards to HR and management style. While you work for John Hancock, everything is run through Manulife, their Canadian owner. Total cluster trying to deal with Canadian HR.

      Advice to Management

      Stick to what you do best, Insurance manufacturing and distributing. Stay away from your non core competencies.

      John Hancock Response

      March 1, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

    • "I liked working at John Hancock"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Director 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      They have good benefits and salaries.

      Cons

      There wasn't a lot of collaboration. Not a team environment.

      John Hancock Response

      February 19, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience.

    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at John Hancock

      Pros

      Really great benefits, I would go back

      Cons

      It was hard to define a career path in my business area

      John Hancock Response

      February 6, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      We are happy to know you had a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

    • "Prepare to be patient"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Investment Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      -Safe, steady employment -Friendly, diverse employees across all stages of life -Few role models at the top to look up to -Strong brand name -Ability to shape career in a self-directed manner

      Cons

      -Some people have only worked at this firm; they have no outside experience which clouds their ability to be open-minded and see the reality of the industry -High performers frequently frustrated with incompetent peers -The oversharer, the naysayer, the loner, and the controller exist in every department. People dislike working with them -Toxic work personalities may even thrive in this environment because there is...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Implement an upward feedback mechanism to keep managers in touch with their performance as a manager.

      John Hancock Response

      February 6, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Horrible leadership/very political/non meritocratic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Nice buildings and real estate

      Cons

      Everything inside is tainted. Horrible culture and leadership team.

      John Hancock Response

      February 15, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Company but misleading"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Sales Coordinator/Customer Service Representative in Portsmouth, NH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at John Hancock full-time

      Pros

      I liked working for my immediate managers and the team I had was great. I initially started as a CSR in 2016 and quickly moved up in the sales team in Portsmouth NH. I enjoyed it very much. What I didn't like was there was no direction, higher management from sales team in Boston had little to no input. I was told I would be going into a higher role which never happened and the sales department I worked in was diminished...

      Show More

      Cons

      Like i said in the pros, little room for advancement.

      Advice to Management

      Do not keep having secret meetings and keeping people out of the loop. Yes, Marianne is doing a great job making this job more tech savy, however it is worrisome to the current employees to see if you are outsourcing all departments or just some. Customer service also has been outsourced to which is concerning to the Portsmouth Operations office.

      John Hancock Response

      January 21, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you are not having the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Advanced Innovation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Current Leadership investing more into modern technology and prioritizing customers

      Cons

      Frequent organizational changes impacting productivity and causing confusion

      Advice to Management

      Employees put in their best when there is less org changes

      John Hancock Response

      December 21, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

      We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

    Found 480 reviews