John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor

John Hancock Reviews

Updated December 19, 2018
471 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
John Hancock President and CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
42 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Fantastic culture and work-life balance" (in 59 reviews)

  • "Work from home/flexible scheduling available on many teams" (in 31 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Lots of autonomy and ability to make change

    John Hancock Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.


  2. "Advanced Innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Current Leadership investing more into modern technology and prioritizing customers

    Cons

    Frequent organizational changes impacting productivity and causing confusion

    Advice to Management

    Employees put in their best when there is less org changes

    John Hancock Response

    Dec 21, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

  3. "Great people and culture, lower than average salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Employees tend to stay at John Hancock a long time, I know many people who have been there more than 20 years. Most divisions have a strong, positive culture. Also, the benefits are great.

    Cons

    The pay could be better.

    John Hancock Response

    Dec 10, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience.


  4. "Old school financial services morphing into the digital age"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Successful company, safe employment. Very good work-life balance. Great perks and treatment of employees. Trying to become more technological and innovative.

    Cons

    Some lack of communication from leadership (they're working on it).

    Advice to Management

    Provide a clearer strategy of the future to employees.

    John Hancock Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback.


  5. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, workplace flexibility

    Cons

    Little or no room for movement, stressful environment

    John Hancock Response

    Dec 21, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.


  6. "Office Manager/Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice people, easy systems, good communications

    Cons

    I don't see any Cons

    John Hancock Response

    Nov 23, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience.


  7. "Bagging groceries for all the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock part-time

    Pros

    He is really cool and flexible with my schedule

    Cons

    He doesn't let me off on some weekends`

  8. "Would recommend with reservations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Many opportunities to develop your career and move around in the organization
    - Competitive compensation
    - Great benefits (including work from home opportunities, 5 month maternity leave for US-based employees, and a pension plan)

    Cons

    - Poor work/life balance
    - Depending on which department you work in, you may not be recognized or rewarded for good performance or results. Some organization cultures are more cliquey than others.

    John Hancock Response

    Nov 19, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience.


  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule and great culture

    Cons

    Technology and product upgrades needed

    John Hancock Response

    Nov 19, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience.


  10. "Constant change with no direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    there are great people to work with

    Cons

    no procedures or process flows, lack of job definition

    John Hancock Response

    Nov 19, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review.