John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor

John Hancock Reviews

Updated August 15, 2017
375 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
John Hancock CEO Donald Guloien
Donald Guloien
130 Ratings

375 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • no work/life balance, no training, VERY sink or swim (in 9 reviews)

  • very large company, no hand holding (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Yawn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good people. Mostly former insurance execs but for the most part management knows what it's doing. There are many who don't, though, who are extremely comfortable staying where they are until retirement.

    Cons

    This place is a sea of complacency. Coming from a real asset manager will be a mistake for someone considering it.

    Advice to Management

    Start thinking for yourselves instead of passing the buck.

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and would like to understand more. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com to discuss further so we... More


  2. "Quality Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Analyst in Portsmouth, NH
    Current Employee - Quality Analyst in Portsmouth, NH

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, amazing career opportunities and courses!

    Cons

    Large workload, short staffed, lower end of salary range

    Advice to Management

    Hire more positions!

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 15, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Needs to improve employee career growth to retain talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    -Culture
    -Activism within the community
    -Work from home flexibility

    Cons

    -Slow in promotions
    -Constant re-orgs every few months
    -Below industry average salaries

    Advice to Management

    -Focus on employee career growth
    -Tightening budgets should not take away from small gestures as the annual holiday party, this really dampens employee morale and respect for the company

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and share suggestions for improvements. We are happy to hear that you are having a good experience with us!


  4. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    nothing good about working here

    Cons

    Hard to move up. Politics are everything.

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with us. We would like to learn more about your experience; please feel free to reach out to us at... More


  5. "Great co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Co-op in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Associate Co-op in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Collaborative, supportive environment that integrates co-ops and interns seamlessly into operations. Great people in a great structure.

    Cons

    Capped hours, but even then, the pay is great. Work can seem menial at times but the ramping of responsibilities had me doing some pretty heavy lifting by the fourth and fifth months.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support new entrants into the business of wealth management, and ideally, offer a segue from successful co-op experience into an advisor track role.

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you had a great experience with us!


  6. "Investment Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, good people, good benefits

    Cons

    Pay is below market, not a growth company

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we're happy to hear you are having a positive experience with us.


  7. "BS MONEY MAKING SCHEME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forklift Operator in Clayton, IN
    Former Employee - Forklift Operator in Clayton, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    None at all it wasnt worth it

    Cons

    All of the above that was stupid mistale

    Advice to Management

    Do not auto enroll a employee.
    Do not charge someone who has lessthen $1000 in there 401k to process the claim to get their own money...
    John hancock did a bang up job on my 401k! I recently switched jobs an got a better 401k took what money i had in mine which was $60 bucks really needed it because of me moving out of state an they charge me $25 for processing and never told me they were going to charge me that for processing! I never wanted the 401k to begin with i was auto enrolled by my company! Good job john hancock for kicking a man while hes down! Charge me $25 bucks to process $60 when. I really could have used it thanks a million!

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and would like to understand more. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com to discuss further so we... More

  8. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, a lot of young people, plenty of learning opportunities and training.

    Cons

    The insurance industry is very competitive.

    Advice to Management

    Pursue customer-centric initiatives.

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "AVP, Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are good

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities for women

    John Hancock Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.


  10. "BUSINESS ANALYST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good benefits, work from remote location,

    Cons

    very large company, no hand holding

    John Hancock Response

    Jul 27, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and are happy to hear you are having a great experience with us!


Showing 375 of 427 reviews
Reset Filters