John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor

John Hancock Reviews

Updated June 16, 2017
360 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
John Hancock CEO Donald Guloien
Donald Guloien
124 Ratings

360 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Interesting work, great culture, management is flexible about remote work, emphasis on work/life balance (in 44 reviews)

  • Good flexibility and work from home or time off policies in place (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • Keep your talented employees by continuing to promote work/life balance and endless career opportunities for those who have the ambition and skill set (in 9 reviews)

  • Very large company and with companies of that size there is plenty of red tape to go around (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Competitive"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Global company, fair pay and benefits

    Cons

    training could be thought out better

    John Hancock Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback. We value the opinion of our employees to help us improve and achieve our goals.


  2. "HR"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work arraignments, casual dress, Benefits

    Cons

    Communication, Canadian Management has no respect for US

    John Hancock Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. We value your opinion and this information will help us deliver on our goals. If you wish to follow up with ... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits and decent salary. Parental leave is awesome, 3 months for Fathers and 5 for mothers. 401k and pension is great.

    Cons

    Could have more flexible hours and work from home options.

    John Hancock Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!


  4. "Insurance Underwriter"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive pay, work from home, great co-workers

    Cons

    Lots of unpaid overtime expected

    Advice to Management

    Pay for overtime

    John Hancock Response

    Jun 14, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Financial Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The company tries to maintain a positive feel for new staff but as I grew more with the company my growth diminished and support reduced.

    Cons

    The senior managers and execs are not invested in the success of the junior or new team members. I have been self-teaching myself. Colleagues are senior and don't seem interest in helping other members out if help is needed. Might consider leaving.

    John Hancock Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing a review. As we constantly strive to improve and optimize the experience for our employees, we would welcome the opportunity to learn more from you at ... More


  6. "Loved my job!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, work from home opportunities, great benefits, and pay.

    Cons

    Management showed favoritism. People would get away with not doing their job and their responsibilities would fall onto others.

    John Hancock Response

    May 22, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you valued your experience with us.


  7. "Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ability to work from home, company match 401k contributions and various fringe benefits.

    Cons

    Lower pay compared to similar jobs at other companies, slow growth model, not a great place to work for younger people (in my three years of experience), etc.

    John Hancock Response

    May 22, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback. If you wish to discuss anything further, please feel free to reach out to us at TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

  8. "John Hancock"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Great culture
    - Strong Brand
    - Positive work environment

    Cons

    - limited advancement in small satellite location

    John Hancock Response

    May 16, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing this review. We constantly strive for the best employee experience, and we are happy to hear that’s what you received so far.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Experience of My Career"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Marketing in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at John Hancock full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The salary and pension were competitive.

    Cons

    Hostile work environment. Lack of constructive criticism. Selfish management. No room to advance. Non-collaborative. Disengagement.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management ignores festering problems. Engagement in department was lowest in Manulife chain (40%). HR was called in to see what the problem was, but then did nothing to correct things. Got worse and more hostile. Phony company fronting for caring atmosphere (Marathon and Red Sox sponsorship). I was told early on that I would "never manage people." Never is a long time and it also removed every shred of motivation I had to succeed. Management: you know you have problem, so fix it!

    John Hancock Response

    May 16, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and would like to understand more. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.


  10. "Great culture!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Culture, people, sponsorship, volunteer opportunities, flexible work from home

    Cons

    Not enough movement for promotion

    John Hancock Response

    May 16, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are excited to hear that you are having a great experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


Showing 360 of 412 reviews
Reset Filters