John Holland Group Reviews | Glassdoor

John Holland Group Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 81 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
John Holland Group CEO Glenn Palin
Glenn Palin
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "The pay is good and John Holland are still getting work in these tough times(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good Salary and better working environment then other construction companies(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company while your on a project"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Holland Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fairly good choice in Project management

    Cons

    you need to fight to be placed onto your next project.

    John Holland Group2017-08-01
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Learning and Development Specialist 

    I worked at John Holland Group full-time

    Pros

    Previous business leaders were excellent

    Cons

    may have changed since new owners

    John Holland Group2019-09-25
  3. "Best place to do the hard yards and learn as a young professional."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Holland Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Exceptional room for growth. - Experience driven, learn by doing. - A lot of support if you have the right attitude. - fair compensation when spending out of pocket.

    Cons

    - some parts of jhg need to get with the times. - personnel and equipment may feel constrained. - choppy work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Upper management seem to be out of touch with their different arms in their business. Needs work in determining what works on site and between ourselves in the customer, to win work and retain talent.

    John Holland Group2019-09-24
  4. "SPM in Building"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Holland Group full-time

    Pros

    Good framework and structure to understand required outcomes.

    Cons

    Poor communication from exec team particularity on future projects. Long working weeks, longer than industry standards.

    Advice to Management

    Review the need for 6 day working weeks.

    John Holland Group2019-09-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Hard-nosed big business, sweatshop mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cost Planner in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Holland Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big bid teams on big bids usually include some very good people (although not always well led).

    Cons

    Company core values are nothing more than a marketing tool. This is a hard-nosed big business with a sweatshop mentality. People are replaceable resources who need to toe the line. Management are distant and good people receive no recognition. Promotion tends to be based on political alliances within the business rather than merit which results in some terrible leadership but also lack of opportunity for the... genuinely talented people.

    Show More
    John Holland Group2019-10-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Warning ... watch you own back with this Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Sydney

    I worked at John Holland Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to be involved in large infrastructure projects

    Cons

    No one will back you up and you have to watch your own back with this company. There is no support from managers, and there is a lot of blame culture in the company. IF you disagree and formally lay a complaint to HR, they will kick you out especially if you are non-white. There is a level of ignorant racism within the company, you can feel it as a non-Caucasian, the lack of diversity within the senior leadership... team does not help either.

    Show More
    John Holland Group2019-10-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Narcissistic, disorganised boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Holland Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Broad multi-discipline experience - parts of the company are underresourced and chaotic so you end up doing a lot outside of your role and learning new things.

    Cons

    The part of the company I worked in was new and disorganised. I had a very difficult boss (who is a senior manager). He made big promises about my future at my interview but turned out to be so condescending, disparaging, sexist and narcissistic that I often cried after work. He terminated my employment on the last day of my probation period because I didn’t meet his needs (but perhaps also because I complained... informally to HR) and I was immediately walked out of the office.

    Show More
    John Holland Group2019-09-30
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not a good place to work as a female"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at John Holland Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, good experience

    Cons

    Very difficult place to break into as a woman compared to other builders, deeply engrained boys club mentality among senior management in some parts of the company. I am a highly experienced, qualified professional and have never been made to feel so inferior in a team of men before.

    John Holland Group2019-09-25
  9. "Staff management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at John Holland Group full-time

    Pros

    You are accountable for your work.

    Cons

    Management tends to be sarcastic when you take leave or medical leave

    John Holland Group2019-08-19
  10. "Good salary- Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in Melbourne

    I have been working at John Holland Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary and better working environment then other construction companies

    Cons

    Hard to maintain work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    Although they bang hard that they have to make sure there is a work life balance but they need to put more effort in making sure there is work life balance at ground level.

    John Holland Group2019-09-02
Found 81 reviews