John Jay College of Criminal Justice Reviews | Glassdoor

John Jay College of Criminal Justice Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
John Jay College of Criminal Justice CEO Jeremy Travis
Jeremy Travis
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay, great supervisor and great environment(in 9 reviews)

  • "Overall, I enjoyed working as a part-time notetaker(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay with no real avenue for promotion within the school administration(in 6 reviews)

  • "The down side I will say is working part time and not full-time(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Notetaker in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Jay College of Criminal Justice part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Attending different classes and taking notes for students was a great enriching experience. The college pay was also fair. Overall, I enjoyed working as a part-time notetaker.

    Cons

    I don't see any cons.

    John Jay College of Criminal Justice2019-03-28
  2. "Amazing people to work with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Adjunct Lecturer 

      I have been working at John Jay College of Criminal Justice part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Absolutely love the people I work with and the work environment I am in. Benefits are decent and pay is not too bad considering that it is a part time position. Supervisors are all really helpful and give constructive criticism to help be a better instructor. Coordinators are all really helpful too and supports the staff to the best of their abilities.

      Cons

      There is limited growth and even with a step up in pay rate it takes several semester “full time” to get an increased.

      John Jay College of Criminal Justice2019-06-11
    • "Not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - College Assistant 

        I have been working at John Jay College of Criminal Justice part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Stability, Health Benefits, Work Life Balance

        Cons

        Slow to improve on things. Pay can be low.

        John Jay College of Criminal Justice2019-06-23
      • "It was a short and definitely not sweet time"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Administrative Coordinator 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at John Jay College of Criminal Justice full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        One of the best reasons to work at John Jay College is to be able to assist/mentor college students in the pursuit of their college career. Professionally some of the the health and pension plans are good.

        Cons

        One of the downsides of working there is that it is "professionally cliquish" with various factions of professional cliques. Those professional cliques are not always obvious. For example, you my assume that all administrators at the same level would be a professional clique. That is not the case. A professional clique could include a director of the program, support staff and a professor. It could be a professional...

        Show More
        John Jay College of Criminal Justice2019-05-30
      • "Nice academic environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Office Assistant 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at John Jay College of Criminal Justice part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The collegues are nice. Sometimes you get involved in academic events. More opportunities to move up. College is closed to many restaurant.

        Cons

        I don’t see any cons.

        John Jay College of Criminal Justice2019-03-05
      • "It is an okay place."

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at John Jay College of Criminal Justice part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Flexible schedule. Nice supervisor and coworkers

          Cons

          Some students can be rude, especially during finals week.

          John Jay College of Criminal Justice2019-01-30
        • "Purchasing Agent"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Route Manager in Gaithersburg, MD

          I worked at John Jay College of Criminal Justice full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          I Trained Baruch College On the Cuny Firdt System.

          Cons

          None Found when I was working very nice place to work.

          Advice to Management

          Team Player.

          John Jay College of Criminal Justice2018-12-13
        • "Adjunct professor"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at John Jay College of Criminal Justice part-time

          Pros

          Interesting student body, albeit of vastly differing skill-sets. Once you're in the system, easy to move around departments and to find new adjunct positions.

          Cons

          Compensation (as part of CUNY system) is low compared to private universities. Large classes mean significantly more work (prepping, grading). Can sometimes be disorganized.

          John Jay College of Criminal Justice2018-11-26
        • "Staff Assistant"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - College Assistant in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at John Jay College of Criminal Justice full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Good benefits with weekend off.

          Cons

          Not much room to grow. Stagnant at the same position with the college.

          John Jay College of Criminal Justice2018-10-16
        • "Administrative Asst."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at John Jay College of Criminal Justice part-time

          Pros

          Laidback office environment. Supervisors were always helpful and accommodating.

          Cons

          Sometimes there was trouble communicating between different offices.

          Advice to Management

          Ensuring more open communication between offices would reduce wasted time and increase productivity.

          John Jay College of Criminal Justice2018-09-03
        Found 96 reviews