John Muir Health Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
John Muir Health President and CEO Calvin (Cal) Knight (no image)
Calvin (Cal) Knight
75 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "EPIC charting is set up in a way that unnecessarily complicates charting and takes time away from patient care(in 7 reviews)

  • "Upper management is disorganized(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Teamwork!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist 

    I have been working at John Muir Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    John Muir Health has a team based culture. Physicians instill alot of trust in the pharmacy department which allows pharmacists to perform many protocol driven actions as clinical pharmacists.

    Cons

    No overtime is offered regularly.

    John Muir Health2020-01-18
  2. "ED Tech"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Emergency Department Technician in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Muir Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work culture is wonderful at JMH, they are very customer based.

    Cons

    The pay is not competitive.

    John Muir Health2020-05-18
  3. "Medical Assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Muir Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay - Great employee satisfaction - Excellent health care service - Incredible company!

    Cons

    Per diem employees (as MA's) can't don't have an option for health benefits.

    John Muir Health2020-05-16
  4. "Love it Here!"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Walnut Creek, CA

    I have been working at John Muir Health full-time

    Pros

    They have good benefits, strong community

    Cons

    None thatI have at the moment.

    John Muir Health2020-03-19
  5. "Advised this is typical rate per hour for part time excluding shift differential"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Patient Access Representative in Walnut Creek, CA

    I worked at John Muir Health part-time

    Pros

    People, nice physical surroundings, nice location

    Cons

    None. Market rate seems about the norm for part time for this position.

    John Muir Health2020-03-26
  6. "Very good hospital, great staff in many departments"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in Concord, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Muir Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good work environment

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities for growth if you’re not a nurse

    John Muir Health2020-03-11
  7. "Great place to work and culture."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Muir Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A team where you are offered the ability to be as innovative as possible. The pay and benefits are market leading, and opportunities for growth with the recent partnership with Optum appear to be on the horizon.

    Cons

    No cons to share to date

    Continue reading
    John Muir Health2020-03-09
  8. "so/so"

    3.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Labor and Delivery RN 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Muir Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    **Just this year 2020, JMH has finally started giving employees their breaks (after losing to a lawsuit). For every 4 hours you work, you get 15 mins break. Every department may do it differently, but you are offer your breaks. For example, in L&D, we now have a break nurse. There is a break log where break nurse keeps track of break times. This has made a huge different and I love my breaks. If you are not offered a break, JMH will pay you an hour for it, but if you end up missing more than 1 break, you only get paid one hour even if it means you missed all your 15 mins for your 12 hour shift. For postpartum, they have times where you sign up when you want to go on your breaks... and that means even taking at your breaks at 8am or even going to lunch as early as 10am! (I hope this has changed) ** Holiday rotation schedule; you're put into groups and each group gets rotated to work different holidays each year so you don't end up working the same holiday each year. ** Before tax bonus of about $1000 each year if you're RNC. ** On call/request for cancel is base on hours; not base on who requested first. ** You have a baby nurse to do vitals, measurements and to give medications. ** You have in house MD on the floor, anesthesia designed for labor&delivery, in house ped, on call neonatologist and perinatologist. ** There are many different shifts you can work. 12 hrs or 8 hrs all starting at various times. 7a-7p, 7a-3p, 11a-7p, 11a-11p, 3p-11p, 7p-7a, 11p-7a

    Cons

    ** Vacation requests for day shift is difficult to be approved. Only a small number of people can be off the schedule. Schedule varies; no track schedule, or block schedule. ** Supplies & linen often runs out; I don't know who stocks L&D but I dislike working when you don't have supplies in your room or PACU or even when the entire hospital is out of pillow cases! How are you suppose to do your job? Or when there is absolutely no more small scrub pants to put on?! ** low staff; always hiring. As magnet status as we are, I feel like our turnover rate is high. Be prepare to work hard, no one is watching your patient; everyone watches their own. If you have a decel, you often don't have anyone coming in to help you - at least on day shift. You set up your own delivery tables, and you clean everything up yourself after each delivery. ** Nurse- Doctor relationship can definitely be worked on. I've heard where doctor has thrown instruments in the OR.... it has gotten better but can still be improved. **Antepartum unit is very disorganized. Polices are unclear. ** Hardly any bonuses.

    John Muir Health2020-03-22
  9. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 

    I have been working at John Muir Health full-time

    Pros

    Amazing teamwork and coworkers, lots of resources to help and good pay!

    Cons

    Some time staffing is short but it is getting better by hiring travelers

    John Muir Health2020-02-15
  10. "JMH"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Records Clerk in Concord, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Muir Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Care shown to patients, amazing

    Cons

    Optum/United Health Care just partnered with Revenue Cycle.

    Continue reading
    John Muir Health2020-02-04
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 184 Reviews