KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

John Muir Health

Engaged Employer

John Muir Health

Add a Review

John Muir Health Employee Reviews about "john muir"

Updated Sep 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 of over 317 reviews

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
John Muir Health President and CEO Calvin (Cal) Knight (no image)
Calvin (Cal) Knight
126 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and salary offered(in 32 reviews)

  • "John Muir Health has a team based culture(in 23 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No cons experienced with John Muir yet(in 15 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of opportunities for growth if you’re not a nurse(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of John Muir Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "john muir"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      John muir

      Apr 2, 2021 - Patient Transporter in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working at John muir

      Cons

      temporary, unstable, pier diam, short term

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Diversity scam

      Jul 25, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      John Muir has always had an exemplary presence, working acceptance and inclusion of diversity in its people and practices.

      Cons

      John Muir, like many other corporations, has allowed itself to be bullied into spending huge amounts on meaningless and damaging diversity positions and programming, exemplified in the waste of money spent on the senior management diversity position. John Muir has always had an exemplary diversity presence and attitude among its administration, medical staff, staff and volunteers. One example which greatly compromises the quality of care is the Spiritual Care programming of the Concord campus and in the past several years in the whole system that caters to minority groups to the detriment of serving those spiritual, religious and cultural groups that compose the vast majority of the patient and staff populations. This includes having the majority of care provided by students, establishing a student level standard of care unlike any other profession in the organization.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Benefits

      Sep 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, affordable benefits including pension.

      Cons

      No cons experienced with John Muir yet

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Overall a great place to work.

      Mar 21, 2021 - Food Service Worker in Concord, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For what I do I am well compensated. Living in this region of California still means I'm struggling month to month, but I for sure wouldn't be able to survive here without the level of compensation that I received from John Muir.

      Cons

      None worth mentioning. People need to stop complaining about good enough situations. I'm not saying there aren't issues here and there at John Muir, but because of the level of compensation I receive, it's certainly not worth mentioning any of them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Na

      Aug 9, 2021 - Practice Manager in Berkeley, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There’s always opportunities for growth. Overall John Muir Health is good company to work for.

      Cons

      My location is the newer location and John Muir Health did not think to put managers from our previously well ran locations at this building to help open

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Teamwork!

      Jan 18, 2020 - Pharmacist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      John Muir Health has a team based culture. Physicians instill alot of trust in the pharmacy department which allows pharmacists to perform many protocol driven actions as clinical pharmacists.

      Cons

      No overtime is offered regularly.

      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Recent hire

      Nov 26, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had been trying to get into John Muir for a long time. Finally I got my current position and quickly learned that the inside does not match the reputation this organization has had for years with the community. The employees truly care and hold everything together but need support from leadership. What’s scary isn’t the staff that leaves. It’s the disgruntled ones that stay. They will not perform their best work if there is such a low moral throughout the staff.

      Cons

      Missed breaks, late lunches due to significantly low staffing. Not good for quality healthcare service.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Hospital

      Jul 9, 2019 - Epic Applications Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At John Muir Health, my team was wonderful to work with. They were very kind and hard working.

      Cons

      Busy area of California with lots of traffic.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Still one of the best places to work in the Bay Area, but aggressively regressing to the mean.

      Feb 17, 2015 - Registered Nurse in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a pleasure to work with some of the greatest nurses and doctors in the area. John Muir attracts some of the best of the best nurses from around the country. Nurses are generally well supported at the bedside. Our nursing leadership seems to have their hearts in the right place, although they have little control over the business decisions being made. Pay is competitive and benefits are good, but changing daily it seems.

      Cons

      Administration is currently rolling out a "revised compensation" program. Wages will be allowed to stagnate until we reach our stated goal of being in the 50th percentile of local pay. (currently above 70th percentile) Our exceptional child care facility offered to employees at a low cost is closing equating to a large pay cut for working parents. I fear these cuts will make it more difficult to attract top talent going forward.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great local company undergoing change

      Nov 14, 2014 - Manager IT 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      John Muir is a pillar of the East Bay and very connected to the community there. They have been providing premium care for 30+ years. There is some trouble with healthcare reform and the drive to lower costs. A lot of John Muir's premium care was delivered by ignoring the micro-cost management and focusing on helping their patients. Some would say that caused cost to get out of control, and maybe true, but it is also true that they loved their patients and took great care of them.

      Cons

      Healthcare is changing and so must John Muir Health. New leadership is shepherding in the new ear of cost consciousness and I think its traumatic for long-time John Muir Health employees. Being basically a monopoly for 30 years it has developed some political silos, but if you look at the population of management and employees across you will find great people who are working hard to maintain a level of quality they are accustomed to.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

    Popular Careers with John Muir Health Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at John Muir Health? Share Your Experiences

    or