KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

John Muir Health

Engaged Employer

John Muir Health

Add a Review

John Muir Health Employee Reviews about "nurse"

Updated Jun 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 317 reviews

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
John Muir Health President and CEO Calvin (Cal) Knight (no image)
Calvin (Cal) Knight
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and salary offered(in 32 reviews)

  • "John Muir Health has a team based culture(in 23 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No cons experienced with John Muir yet(in 15 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of opportunities for growth if you’re not a nurse(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of John Muir Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "nurse"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Intern

      Clinical Nurse Leader Intern

      Oct 12, 2017 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Top rated hospital in U.S. News. Receives Magnet nurse recognition and operates by Shared Governance model. Provides patient centered care.

      Cons

      Can make improvement in reducing medication error. The hospital is currently experiencing 3% medication error rate and evidence-based intervention can be implemented to reduce the number of errors in order to improve patient safety.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Employee review

      Jun 10, 2021 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great nurses - smart and competent. No nurse to nurse bullying that you commonly see at other hospitals. Physicians seem responsive and work w staff to provide the best care for their patients.

      Cons

      Admin has great power. Not true magnet as admin runs the show. Nurses have minimal say in my opinion and nurses are afraid to speak up.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Very good hospital, great staff in many departments

      Mar 11, 2020 - Program Coordinator in Concord, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, good work environment

      Cons

      Not a lot of opportunities for growth if you’re not a nurse

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      so/so

      Mar 21, 2020 - Labor and Delivery RN 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      **Just this year 2020, JMH has finally started giving employees their breaks (after losing to a lawsuit). For every 4 hours you work, you get 15 mins break. Every department may do it differently, but you are offer your breaks. For example, in L&D, we now have a break nurse. There is a break log where break nurse keeps track of break times. This has made a huge different and I love my breaks. If you are not offered a break, JMH will pay you an hour for it, but if you end up missing more than 1 break, you only get paid one hour even if it means you missed all your 15 mins for your 12 hour shift. For postpartum, they have times where you sign up when you want to go on your breaks... and that means even taking at your breaks at 8am or even going to lunch as early as 10am! (I hope this has changed) ** Holiday rotation schedule; you're put into groups and each group gets rotated to work different holidays each year so you don't end up working the same holiday each year. ** Before tax bonus of about $1000 each year if you're RNC. ** On call/request for cancel is base on hours; not base on who requested first. ** You have a baby nurse to do vitals, measurements and to give medications. ** You have in house MD on the floor, anesthesia designed for labor&delivery, in house ped, on call neonatologist and perinatologist. ** There are many different shifts you can work. 12 hrs or 8 hrs all starting at various times. 7a-7p, 7a-3p, 11a-7p, 11a-11p, 3p-11p, 7p-7a, 11p-7a

      Cons

      ** Vacation requests for day shift is difficult to be approved. Only a small number of people can be off the schedule. Schedule varies; no track schedule, or block schedule. ** Supplies & linen often runs out; I don't know who stocks L&D but I dislike working when you don't have supplies in your room or PACU or even when the entire hospital is out of pillow cases! How are you suppose to do your job? Or when there is absolutely no more small scrub pants to put on?! ** low staff; always hiring. As magnet status as we are, I feel like our turnover rate is high. Be prepare to work hard, no one is watching your patient; everyone watches their own. If you have a decel, you often don't have anyone coming in to help you - at least on day shift. You set up your own delivery tables, and you clean everything up yourself after each delivery. ** Nurse- Doctor relationship can definitely be worked on. I've heard where doctor has thrown instruments in the OR.... it has gotten better but can still be improved. **Antepartum unit is very disorganized. Polices are unclear. ** Hardly any bonuses.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      RN

      Oct 12, 2018 - Staff RN 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff & teamwork.

      Cons

      It changed a lot since 2011. More emphasis is placed on financial gain than patient safety. The organization expects status quo and is not fond of employees speaking up about patient safety issues. Staffing is always short and based on numbers instead of the patient's acuity. It is not uncommon to miss breaks. Nurse bully from the top-down is not uncommon and it causes patient safety issues. This organization does not seem in-line with its own branding and mission unless it benefits them.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Registered Nurse

      Sep 17, 2018 - Registered Nurse in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff, free parking, nice building.

      Cons

      Unsafe patient assignments, no break nurse, old equipment, and lack of transparency in regards to pay and retirement matching. Nurses need to unionize!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      John Muir Health Response

      Human Resources Business Partner

      Dear Employee: Thank you for expressing your thoughts and concerns. John Muir Health welcomes and encourages employee feedback and questions regarding our work environment. John Muir Health is very proud that both of our medical centers have been awarded Magnet® recognition status for excellence in nursing services and quality nursing care. The Magnet Recognition Program® recognizes health care organizations that demonstrate excellence and adherence to national standards for the organization and delivery of nursing services. Magnet recognition is the highest level of recognition that the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association can accord to a health care organization. This recognition honors the nurses and nursing service at our Concord and Walnut Creek medical centers as among the best in the nation. As an organization, we firmly believe in openness and transparency. We firmly stand by our “Open Door” Policy, and warmly welcome the opportunity to speak with you as well as employees at all levels, who have concerns. In fact, our Senior Vice President of Human Resources recently held more than a dozen open forums with Registered Nurses, such as yourself, to discuss issues relevant to your work experience at JMH. If you weren’t able to attend one of these sessions, we encourage you to reach to one of our HR professionals with your questions or find out how to attend another informational meeting. John Muir Health encourages our employees to openly communicate concerns by speaking with their direct supervisor, reaching out to a seasoned HR professional or anonymously speaking to a qualified representative. We encourage you to exercise our Brand Promise of, “We Listen – We Explain – We Work Together as a Team” and seek out any of the above options to further communicate and address your concerns.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      RN

      Apr 6, 2018 - Staff RN in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This review is from a bedside MSICU RN. * Great teamwork! * Feels like family. * Great benefits. * Opportunity to learn new skills like CRRT and develop in the relief Charge RN role. * Well supplied. * Self scheduling. * Above average pay. * Opportunities to get involved in Unit Council and committees gives staff a voice in management.

      Cons

      * Disorganization of supplies makes work harder. * EPIC charting is set up in a way that unnecessarily complicates charting and takes time away from patient care. * Advancement in organization does not put enough emphasis on educational preparation. * Nursing Leadership needs managers that have degrees with a management focus from the Charge Nurse level and up. It’s hard for people put in those positions to function in managerial roles when their baseline educational preparation is BSN or Masters with a focus on education. * An infrequently used skills lab would be helpful for keeping skills up to par. * There is opportunity for improvement in the communication between MDs and bedside staff.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Nurses have to deal with poor management and favoritism

      Apr 3, 2017 - Registered Nurse in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wages & benefits are about all, unless you fit into a clique

      Cons

      supervisors give preference to those they like and are from the same culture, at the expense of being fair and equal to all. They say one thing and do another. It's like high school all over again but with lives at stake, literally. Schedules do not take into account that state law requires breaks for RN's, but no one is there to cover for you, so if you take a break, your patients are left with no nurse. In more than 10 years I can count on two hands how many 15 minute breaks I have had.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      John Muir Health Response

      Human Resources Business partner

      Thank you for your feedback; this is why we encourage our employees to engage with us, sharing their concerns in the Employee Survey! It is our every intention to ensure our workplace exceeds employee’s expectations and that your employment experience with us is a growing and rewarding one. We invite you to take advantage of our "Open-Door" policy, and speak with your Manager, Director or Human Resources.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      RN

      Nov 7, 2016 - RN Staff Nurse in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nurse driven environment and lots of support from health team members. This organization also supports and offers opportunity for higher learning.

      Cons

      In the past employee parking has been difficult, but they have taken measures from to provide a shuttle for employees to/from parking lot especially at night

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Excellent Nurses

      Oct 2, 2014 - Registered Nurse in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      John Muir supports a team oriented work environment and makes your work more enjoyable. They give very good salary and good benefits.

      Cons

      They should hire more nurses and nurse assistant to better serve thier patients. But overall its a great place to work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with John Muir Health Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at John Muir Health? Share Your Experiences

    or