John Randolph Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

John Randolph Medical Center Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
John Randolph Medical Center CEO Suzanne Jackson
Suzanne Jackson
3 Ratings
  1. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Hopewell, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at John Randolph Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is truly a family like environment. Administration has undergone recent changes and the trickle down has been a positive change to the floor staff. The staffing ratios have had a complete overhaul allowing more time for quality patient care. Directors and nurse leaders are genuinely interested in creating and maintaining a positive environment for both patients and staff.

    Cons

    There is a lot of breakdown in communication and tends to be too much negativity and lack of respect between units and departments. The units are dated and the rooms are small making navigation in the rooms difficult at times. The roles of support staff isn’t clearly defined nor consistent from unit to unit. The uniform policy needs an overhaul. Without knowing individual staff and their role, it is at times impossible...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get back to basics. Update the patient rooms and make better use of the space on the units. Recognize positive leadership behaviors from nurses, not just nurses in defined leadership roles. Continue to encourage unity and teamwork across all departments. Revamp the uniform policy to create a more professional and cohesive appearance.

    John Randolph Medical Center2017-12-28
  2. "focused on the wrong things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at John Randolph Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    excellent team of peers who are dedicated to their work

    Cons

    administration cares more about collecting data than making changes people are not valued information is only partially given regarding benefits, schedule and pay HR takes forever to respond to anything Administration makes clinical decisions without clinical input

    Advice to Management

    be more sincere and less data based when engaging with staff worker harder to retain the staff you had as opposed to mandating meetings to generate data to retain future staff members

    John Randolph Medical Center2018-12-27
  3. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at John Randolph Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nothing, there is nothing positive to say. You live each day on the edge.

    Cons

    There is no upper mgmt support. You are considered guilty until proven otherwise, then you are still guilty.

    Advice to Management

    The mgmt on the behavioral health unit are awful.

    John Randolph Medical Center2017-07-30
  4. "It started out good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Technician in Hopewell, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Randolph Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people I work with are cool.

    Cons

    There is no Team work, everybody is for themselves, management act as if they are scared of staff, short breaks for 12hr shifts.

    John Randolph Medical Center2017-07-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "transporter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hopewell, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at John Randolph Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    i like helping sick people that can't help them self

    Cons

    i don't like when they pass away

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work i really enjoyed being part of the team.

    John Randolph Medical Center2016-08-25
  6. "annonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amelia Court House, VA

    I worked at John Randolph Medical Center for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful Coworkers and friendly peers. Everyone tries to help each other get through the shift.

    Cons

    Short staffed, everyone is pushed to the limit.

    Advice to Management

    Money is not everything. Try having lower patient-nurse ratios! It's nice to have it on paper but better to have it in reality.

    John Randolph Medical Center2016-07-19
  7. "Nursing assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at John Randolph Medical Center part-time

      Pros

      I love working with my patients.

      Cons

      The management staff needed improvement.

      John Randolph Medical Center2016-03-04
    • "Promising"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Hopewell, VA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at John Randolph Medical Center

      Pros

      Leadership interested in employees suggestions. Most staff motivated in their positions.

      Cons

      Access to hospital entry after-hours changes almost daily, no consistency 're which door to use or which is locked.

      Advice to Management

      Keep listening to the staff :)

      John Randolph Medical Center2015-01-06
    • Helpful (2)

      "Has a view of the river"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Hopewell, VA
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at John Randolph Medical Center part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      I was born in this hospital and know a lot of things about it.

      Cons

      Staff to patient ratio is not the best. Needs to be refurbished.

      John Randolph Medical Center2014-07-31
    • "John Randolph Medical Center"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Patient Care Companion in Hopewell, VA

        I have been working at John Randolph Medical Center part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The staff at John Randolph is respectful and helpful. I have also found the nursing directors to be very accommodating. Joh Randolph serves a small community which is very tight nit and friendly.

        Cons

        There didn't seem to be much room for advancement in my position (patient care companion). The hours are pretty difficult and the position is pretty boring but you get what you sign up for.

        John Randolph Medical Center2014-04-02
      Found 12 reviews