John Sisk & Son Reviews | Glassdoor

John Sisk & Son Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
John Sisk & Son CEO Paul Hackett
Paul Hackett
8 Ratings
  1. "Undergraduate Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at John Sisk & Son full-time

    Pros

    Well explained hiring process

    Cons

    No relocation money is paid

    John Sisk & Son2018-05-19
  2. "Quick review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in London, England

    I have been working at John Sisk & Son full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Looks after their employees fairly well

    Cons

    Pay is quite low compared to the market average

    John Sisk & Son2017-10-27
  3. "Great Projects - Poor Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    BUILDING SERVICES ENGINEER in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Sisk & Son for more than a year

    Pros

    People are generally great. Interesting projects to work on.

    Cons

    Salary. Unpaid overtime as standard. No work-life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Improved salary, benefits and working hours need to be addressed.

    John Sisk & Son2017-06-16
  4. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Project Manager in London, England

    I worked at John Sisk & Son for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Encompasses strong family company values

    Cons

    Progression within the work place

    John Sisk & Son2016-11-07
  5. "Good work ethic and overall exposure to the construction industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at John Sisk & Son

    Pros

    Working on large scale projects with excellent exposure to all kinds of construction, trades, companies, teams and management styles. You work hard and learn fast. Excellent for those that want to learn and gain experience.

    Cons

    Excessive hour and not great pay.

    Advice to Management

    Careful on how you pick site management, some of the team just aren't 'believers' in safety culture which can make or break a project.

    John Sisk & Son2016-05-19
  6. "It Doesn't Get Much Worse....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Sisk & Son

    Pros

    Reasonable salary and benefits, some very good people have worked there.

    Cons

    Benefits boy do you have to earn them. If you divide your package by the number of hours you have to work, you're better off accepting a job on £5k - £10k less. If you want any work life balance or family time then forget it. Work, work, work, work mentality, still stuck in the who works the longest hours, not who produces the most mentality. Lots of redundancies (kept under the radar by small batches) in the... UK as a result of poor tendering and leadership. New MD for South left after 3 months in the job, say a lot HSEQS very poor leadership coming from Ireland management. Dogmatic approach to staff management. Senior staff from HSEQS have left in droves in the past 18 months. HR advised that staff turnover was nearing 40% in the UK. That's more than three times the average in the construction industry?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Come out of the dark ages and stop treating your staff like they expendable...

    John Sisk & Son2016-05-08
  7. "Student in Sisk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trainee Site Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Sisk & Son

    Pros

    As a civil engineering student the opportunities given to me by sisk have been outstanding. I have been welcomed into a working environment where I have been allowed to experience civil engineering and shown the opportunities available to me as well as learning new skills and procedures used by site engineers.

    Cons

    I do find the work tiring and the hours are often unsociable but it is apparent that these factors are a part of the construction industry

    Advice to Management

    I feel the management team do an admirable job in their roles but do sometimes feel they are perhaps somewhat distanced from the realities of site work.

    John Sisk & Son2016-01-04
  8. "Enjoyable few years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quantity Surveyor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at John Sisk & Son full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting work and good people to deal with

    Cons

    Sometime Monotonous and was hard to drive yourself

    John Sisk & Son2015-01-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Foreman in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at John Sisk & Son full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you can play the system you'll be grand.

    Cons

    Too Many players not playing for the team

    Advice to Management

    Look at who you are employing.

    John Sisk & Son2013-06-18
  10. "Sisk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at John Sisk & Son

    Pros

    Good Place to Work and get Constuction Experience

    Cons

    Current construction activity in lreland

    John Sisk & Son2013-02-22
Found 32 reviews