John Snow, Inc Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
John Snow, Inc President Joel Lamstein
Joel Lamstein
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "JSI is a good employer ,rewards good performance and pays good salary(in 22 reviews)

  • "Staff are shown respect by upper management and work-life balance is generally promoted through office policies(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "JSI is actually quite hierarchical - although you can talk to people at different levels, decision making is often opaque(in 16 reviews)

  • "This means it is very hard to get promoted beyond entry-level positions, even with a master's degree, since the titles literally don't exist(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to get broad public health experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Project Associate in Boston, MA

    I have been working at John Snow, Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a lot of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    No clear professional development plan

    John Snow, Inc2020-03-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Project management & admin rules, flexible working possible but not for lateral thinkers or change agents"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Adviser in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Snow, Inc full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some flexibility in working arrangements. If you can drive an issue and also get money in the door this is a great place - especially if you are starting out in global health or mid career. Great if you want to implement a project in country, not ask too many questions and keep your head down. Fantastic maternity benefits and great place if you are a young woman. Great people generally. Great office environment.

    Cons

    Easy to get stuck on one project or team - very hard to change without knowing someone in the 'inner circle'. JSI is actually quite hierarchical - although you can talk to people at different levels, decision making is often opaque. Long term staffers are in charge, sometimes resistant to change and can be 'group think' at times. Not really place for people who may want to get involved with policy changes at global level. Progression and career development very dependent on supervisor relationship - lots of subjective decisions on who gets what. Not much thinking or corporate emphasis on integration, PHC or health systems - driven by projects that are more issue / program / disease specific.

    Continue reading
    John Snow, Inc2020-01-02
  3. "Standard international development"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Program Officer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Snow, Inc full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, generally supportive culture

    Cons

    Inconsistent management, lower pay, limited opportunities

    John Snow, Inc2019-12-06
  4. "Overall good work culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Officer in Washington, DC
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at John Snow, Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Okay benefits and flexible

    Cons

    Longer work hours and heavy workload on junior staff

    Continue reading
    John Snow, Inc2019-12-15
  5. "Great working environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Officer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Snow, Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive supervisor/mentor, interesting projects and opportunities.

    Cons

    The new office in Crystal City is not the most convenient location.

    John Snow, Inc2019-11-15
  6. "Niceeee"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at John Snow, Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work and learned a lot.

    Cons

    Too much work at times

    John Snow, Inc2019-07-17
  7. "Ideal workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Country Program Officer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at John Snow, Inc full-time

    Pros

    John Snow was an incredible experience of a supportive environment, challenging yet inspiring work, and motivated colleagues. My skill set grew immensely while enjoying my work.

    Cons

    Can be a fast paced environment with short deadlines at times however I always felt supported

    Continue reading
    John Snow, Inc2019-05-28
  8. "CEC"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cec 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Snow, Inc part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and good co-workers.

    Cons

    Put on whatever project is available if any. No resume building experience and poor pay with no benefits. No growth or direction.

    John Snow, Inc2019-05-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Managers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Arlington, VA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Snow, Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generally a nice working environment.

    Cons

    Managers are long term staff who have become unnecessarily hierarchical (in a place that boosts a flat structure), and have little checks and balances. Many are promoted based on loyalty, not solid management skills. Junior staff are nurtured based on their luck-of-the-draw with supervisors and managers.

    Continue reading
    John Snow, Inc2019-04-19
  10. "GOOOOD"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at John Snow, Inc part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pretty good i liked it a lot

    Cons

    pretty bad in some areas though

    John Snow, Inc2019-03-27
Found 211 reviews