Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
42%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center President Richard G. Bennett
Richard G. Bennett
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing staff and a great work environment(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great benefits for employees and families(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Hopkins employees have to pay for parking(in 9 reviews)

  • "They will tell you that benefits like tuition reimbursement make up for the low pay, but if you’re not in college using that benefit, it’s useless(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      tech

      Nov 6, 2020 - Patient Care Technician in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good floor and people are nice

      Cons

      none really fine staff and facility

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Response

      Nurse Recruiter

      We value you, your hard work, and our patient care support staff. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Apr 7, 2021 - Part Time Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Has free parking which is great

      Cons

      There are actually no cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A union might be a good thing

      Apr 17, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Old Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are great to work with. Insurance premium is reasonable. 90/10 insurance if you stay in network. They care about the patient a lot ( but at the cost of the employee. ) Campus is pretty

      Cons

      my opinion. Take it with a grain of salt. You must be aware of hospital politics and cliques, including in leadership. Leadership is lacking. Same people have been in charge for years and years but lack connection, vision, and ability to reach employees. No transparency from leadership. Told about new changes at the last minute. We are not stakeholders in the decision making process. You can’t really take things up the chain. I have tried and nothing is done. Leadership has their favorites. No room to bargain with anything job related. Do as your told mentality. “If you don’t like it, leave” Needs a union but I feel that staff are too afraid to unionize. I’m too old for that but I hope the next generation will do something. I would leave, but I’m still earning toward my pension and I enjoy seniority on my unit and can pick my schedule. I’m 2-3 years out until retirement. The pension is gone now and they were doing a match. Lots of turnover but now they are offering hire bonuses. Can’t hold more than 1 year of Pto. Also Pto and sick time are combined in the same pot. Must use earned holiday hours very quickly. You used to be able to hold them until the following year. Parking is expensive about $900 a year.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stale management

      May 1, 2021 - Manager in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great access to information from academia. When Covid hit we were on the cutting edge of addressing the virus. C-Suite has good intentions, but they are blinded by the stale stagnant management in place for years.

      Cons

      Leaders are recycled with no new ideas. Pay is too low for the expectations . Diversity support on operational level non-existent

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Subpar experience

      May 5, 2021 - ICU Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked with some good people and learned a great deal

      Cons

      Lack of resources, poor middle management, little flexibility

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      No one knows who does what

      Apr 13, 2021 - Clinical Practice Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is well and Benefits for Family are great

      Cons

      You will feel confused as things change and no one ever tells you what is going on. Things and staff are added and you are told, OH WELL

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Response

      Nurse Recruiter

      Please let us know in Nurse Recruitment or HR, if we can help.

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Toxic Environment

      Mar 16, 2021 - CT Radiographer in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will learn a lot, interact with patients from all over the world and see disease processes and injuries that you don't often get at other facilities.

      Cons

      There is zero leadership and very little professionalism. The department is run down and there is little accountability for bad behavior. Technologists do not perform as a team and literally will be on their phone or watching You Tube Videos while you struggle with a patient without a care in the world. It adds to the already stressful enviornment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Parking is ridiculously expensive

      Apr 27, 2021 - Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learning opportunities, academic medical center

      Cons

      Parking, lower staff members opinions do not count

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not bad to work

      Apr 16, 2021 - Pharmacy Technician in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits + professional location + diversity+ overyime

      Cons

      Pay low+ very stressful + no career advancement

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to get your feet wet

      Mar 2, 2021 - School-based Therapist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Autonomy in clinical practice, little to no micromanaging, lots of supervision hours

      Cons

      This was my first job out of grad school. I enjoyed this as an initial working experience but due to the school i was placed, i didnt learn as much as i could have. Thats not the employers fault but in an alternative setting, i found myself putting out alot of fires!.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Response

      Nurse Recruiter

      We're glad you joined us when you graduated. Best wishes on your career.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 128 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Job Seekers

    Certified Medical Assistant - OB/GYN
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center? Share Your Experiences

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center logo
    or