Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center President Richard G. Bennett
Richard G. Bennett
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Hopkins employees have to pay for parking(in 13 reviews)

  • "They will tell you that benefits like tuition reimbursement make up for the low pay, but if you’re not in college using that benefit, it’s useless(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Wonderful place to learn about healthcare."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is important. Each employee has a role in delivering quality patient care. Practices collaborative team effort.

    Cons

    There could be a quick turnover of patients.

    Continue reading
    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center2020-02-07

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Response

    February 24, 2020Nurse Recruiter

    I hope you will participate in councils, committees or governance to continue to make Johns Hopkins Bayview a great place to work.

  2. "NICU Respiratory Therapist"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Respiratory Therapist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently started working in the NICU and have enjoyed my time so far. I feel challenged but supported by the rest of the NICU team. I had a great orientation process by the staff and the respiratory department has been open and helpful to any questions I have had!

    Cons

    None I have seen yet

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center2019-07-25

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Response

    August 21, 2019Nurse Recruiter

    We enjoy our work and our mission. Glad you do, too.

  3. "Good experience but mediocre salary"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist 

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Community experience, great learning environment

    Cons

    Big corporation so some employee work is oversighted

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center2020-06-01
  4. "Great Learning Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hopkins does an excellent job with numerous training and learning opportunites

    Cons

    The pay could be a lot better

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center2020-05-08
  5. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits for employees and families.

    Cons

    Parking is expensive and its harder to advance in the hospital.

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center2020-04-29
  6. "Opportunities other than nursing are extremely limited."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family like atmosphere. Tuition reimbursement for employees and dependents.

    Cons

    Nursing roles are recognized as other roles are ignored. Promotional opportunities for nursing.

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center2020-02-23

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Response

    February 24, 2020Nurse Recruiter

    We are having a career day in March to highlight multiple opportunities for our own employees.

  7. "Nurses eat their young"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Name on resume if you want to transfer to a different facility

    Cons

    Nurses are nasty to older new grads.

    Continue reading
    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center2020-01-04

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Response

    February 24, 2020Nurse Recruiter

    Thank you for your comments. We care about our nurses, conduct post-hire interviews and take all comments seriously.

  8. "Great for starting as a new nurse"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ICU Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hires new grads in to ICU positions Self-scheduling Friendly

    Cons

    Patient population Pay for parking Outdated facilities Favoritism Company frequently looking to cut budget/cheap Understaffed Inconsistency in training of staff

    Continue reading
    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center2019-11-13

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Response

    January 7, 2020Nurse Recruiter

    Thank you for your helpful comments.

  9. "A great environment to work at"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Emergency Medicine Physician Assistant Resident 

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is one of the few hospitals where they use APPs to their full potential of their license.

    Cons

    Can be very hectic, but nothing that as EM APPs can't manage

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center2019-08-31

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Response

    January 7, 2020Nurse Recruiter

    We appreciate your review of our academic, community hospital! Thank you.

  10. "Rehabilitation Therapist - Adult PRP"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Making a difference in patients lives.

    Cons

    The work environment is extremely unprofessional and catty. Management only cares about making money, showing off to other programs, and looking good for Joint Commission. They don’t care about patients or their employees. They have had several staffing crises due to them over working employees and yet nothing has been done. You basically do the job of a licensed social worker and get paid a little more than someone working at the mall. This job ruined my mental health for a large period of time and I would advise you to look elsewhere for experience in the Psychology field. They will continue to pile work on you and watch you break as they do it. No matter how they see it impact you, they don’t care. There are places that will treat you way better than this. I wish I had actually listened to reviews about this place instead of taking a chance.

    Continue reading
    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center2019-09-04

    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Response

    January 7, 2020Nurse Recruiter

    Thank you for your suggestions. We wish you the very best.

Found 102 reviews