Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory Director Dr. Ralph Semmel
Dr. Ralph Semmel
240 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best company around."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

    Pros

    If you are in tech. and like variety, this is the place to be. There is not an area that the Lab does not have great people and programs.

    Cons

    Working primarily for the Government can sometimes be constraining.

    Continue reading
    Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory2020-03-03
  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Laurel, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, great benefits, people are friendly

    Cons

    lazy employees don't get reprimanded

    Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory2020-05-29
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, good connections, interesting work

    Cons

    none than I can think of

    Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory2020-04-21
  4. "Great company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Section Supervisor 

    I worked at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, awesome people, inspirational place to work

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory2020-04-07
  5. "Advance Researches"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    up to date researches in the world

    Cons

    nothing special to mention, very competitive

    Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory2020-03-06
  6. "Cool projects, great people."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GNC Engineer in Laurel, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are happy to help you learn new concepts needed for your work. No shortage of cool problems to solve.

    Cons

    Location is in the middle of nowhere

    Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory2020-03-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely challenging, freedom to choose hours and pursue unique research ideas. Publications are heavily encouraged. Mission impact is prevalent across the lab.

    Cons

    Nothing negative that I would note.

    Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory2020-02-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Professional Staff I in Laurel, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility and work-life balance is great

    Cons

    Not in a major city

    Continue reading
    Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory2020-02-26
  9. "Good Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, helpful staff. Everyone was nice

    Cons

    I really enjoyed working here as an intern

    Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory2020-02-07
  10. "Love it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Professional Staff in Laurel, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always learning new thing. A chance to have huge impact, smart and professional colleagues

    Cons

    Parking is rough across campus

    Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory2020-01-26
Found 425 reviews