Johns Hopkins University Reviews | Glassdoor

Johns Hopkins University Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Johns Hopkins University President and Trustee Ronald J. Daniels
Ronald J. Daniels
535 Ratings
  1. "Good University, Ok salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good research overall. Good for career as biological consultant.

    Cons

    Not as strong in general engineering as in medicine.

    Johns Hopkins University2019-10-07
  2. "No unions, workload was not well structured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Johns Hopkins University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Long holidays Small campus so it's easy to walk to places

    Cons

    Vague leadership No benefits No team spirit

    Johns Hopkins University2020-01-16
  3. "Great experience, but no pathway for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Geologist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, rewarding projects, experienced faculty, community lunches

    Cons

    No pathway for promotion. You can change your job title to increase your salary, but it takes 6 mos to 1 year.

    Johns Hopkins University2020-01-15
  4. "Find your right team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University full-time

    Pros

    I love my job, but it's because of my team. Your culture will be defined not by Hopkins, but by your manager. Find the right people and you will love it.

    Cons

    Promotions generally only possible at end of fiscal year

    Johns Hopkins University2020-01-05
  5. "AMAZING!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Johns Hopkins University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly and helpful staff -Productive learning environment

    Cons

    -Lots of work to get done but manageable

    Johns Hopkins University2020-01-03
  6. "Great Place to Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lab Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University part-time

    Pros

    Wealth of intellectual curiosity and research Well endowed research wings and positions Cutting edge work

    Cons

    Convoluted logistics due to large scale of the University

    Johns Hopkins University2020-01-03
  7. "Engaging work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Course Assistant in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with students on multiple projects, improve my own skills

    Cons

    The workload gets higher towards the end

    Johns Hopkins University2020-01-03
  8. "Competitive Phd Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - PhD Research Assistant in Baltimore, MD

    I worked at Johns Hopkins University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diverse, creative and dynamic academic environment. A lot of opportunities for interdisciplinary collaboration.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any.

    Johns Hopkins University2019-12-31
  9. "Salary low"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Rec Center Staff 

    I have been working at Johns Hopkins University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, variety in jobs

    Cons

    Salary is quite low, no wiggle room.

    Johns Hopkins University2020-01-09
  10. "Summer 2019 in Baltimore, MD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Center for Talented Youth 
    Recommends

    I worked at Johns Hopkins University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working at the CTY summer program. I was happy with my days off, and the staff was full of wonderful, caring individuals.

    Cons

    The work was very intensive and it was difficult to have an outside life because I was still "on call" during much of my off-time.

    Johns Hopkins University2019-12-26
Found 1635 reviews