Johnson Controls "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Johnson Controls Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Johnson Controls Chief Executive Officer George Oliver
George Oliver
588 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits with opportunities to move within(in 132 reviews)

  • "Good pay and good full benefits(in 131 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (33)

    "Legacy Tyco Simplexgrinnell employee excited for the future with Johnson Controls Fire Protection."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Controls full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Enjoying the work I do and the people I work with. I am a former Tyco SimplexGrinnell employee and being a part of this team has been satisfying from day one. Great pay, good benefits, computer based and classroom training, etc. Overtime is always offered and there are commissions you can earn as a field technician.

    Cons

    The workload can be too much at times and you have to learn when to say no. (Work Life Balance). Also, it is a massive company and it is easy for things to take long to happen because of the many channels requests must go through before they are executed. (For customers and for employees.)

    Advice to Management

    Remember your field staff faces the customer daily and has valuable input on ways to improve on the execution of goals and daily initiatives.

    Johnson Controls2018-01-03
  2. "Strong vision for the future but struggling to gain local leadership support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Johnson Controls full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome teams, great people, good work-life balance, competitive salaries/wages, decent benefits

    Cons

    HR is mostly a checkbox for compliance and key field leadership are failing to execute on company mission and values. There doesn’t seem to be a plan to change behavior or leadership in those situations.

    Advice to Management

    Start at the top and make sure leaders are taking the company’s vision for the future seriously.

    Johnson Controls2019-10-09
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great small group, but lots of red tape on the big scale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Controls full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The direct group I work with is excellent. Great culture. Great work life balance

    Cons

    There is often red tape or overbearing processes to get things done. Lots of budget cuts. Travel bans. JCI puts their stakeholders first, not their employees. The insurance is very poor. I've been advocating to have insurance improvements for years with no changes.

    Advice to Management

    If you put your employees first the rest will follow and you'll keep the best employees rather than losing them to competitors.

    Johnson Controls2019-09-20
  5. "Overal a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Johnson Controls full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people Awesome Benefits Onsite amenities Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Too many politics Top heavy management

    Advice to Management

    None

    Johnson Controls2019-09-04
  6. Helpful (8)

    "RUN! Do not work here under this disastrous management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Controls full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I used to be able to name many. Now I struggle to think of even one. The local teams in the branches are the only pro I have. You build close relationships with them, because you are all trying to help each other survive this storm.

    Cons

    Please heed my warning - this ship is sinking, and quickly. Unless the current CEO, George Oliver and ALL of his little minions get the boot, and this company miraculously turns things around, do not work here.. They will absolutely drain your brain and your soul. There is no work life balance. Upper level management absolutely does not care about the employees or the customers. They care about wall street and the... stock price. Only the local HVAC branches are still trying their best to take care of customers. Upper management is creating more red tape by the day, eliminating critical support roles, centralizing and outsourcing entire teams of vital employees, and asking you to do more with less. They are literally LOWERING people's pay grades by changing their job titles. They delay raises, won't pay their vendors, and the benefits package gets worse by the year. Merging with Tyco is the absolute worst thing JCI could have done. They are not customer or employee focused, and they dumped that culture all over legacy JCI. This place is a disaster. We used to have great job security. Now, we ALL fear for our jobs on a daily basis. This is George's world, and we are just living in it. The second we lost Bill Jackson (the only legacy-JCI, upper-level manager who knew how to run a business), I knew there was no way we could come back from this. He was our last hope. We are the laughing stock of our industry now. Then, they had the actual nerve to email all employees asking US to donate money to THEM so that they can fight the US Government on the fact that they are no longer allowed to work on government projects, since they moved their headquarters (their PO box) to Ireland, and stopped paying US Taxes. Which, I might add, they created their own loophole around and are still working on government projects anyways. But we should give them money from our paychecks, where we paid taxes, so that they can keep on avoiding taxes. Sounds ethical, right? I had to make my review anonymous because I know they will retaliate. They are notorious for it. George even pays people to write positive reviews about him on here! LOL!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of George Oliver. Find a way to focus on customers again and cut the red tape. Seriously, go take a class from Disney on how to empower your employees and give them the authority to take care of your customers. If you take care of your employees, they will take care of your customers, and your customers will take care of you and your stock price!!! Stop trying to do all of your crooked financial schemes to... increase your stocks and just do business the RIGHT and ETHICAL way. Don't push ethics if you can't practice what your preach. Don't push organizational health when you have destroyed ours. Stop lowering our pay and hurting us financially to help yourselves!!

    Show More
    Johnson Controls2019-09-20
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Regrets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Purchasing in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson Controls full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A large organization that will build your resume.

    Cons

    Work life balance is horrible. The company is male dominated because the hours are unrealistic. I have never been in such a toxic work environment where people are sworn at weekly. The chief officers protect their Vice Presidents to a fault. I was forced to make up numbers for reporting purposes which is why I left. This will all be exposed at one point.

    Advice to Management

    Turn over VP level and above.

    Johnson Controls2019-08-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Dissapointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Truck Based Controls Technician in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Controls full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mostly your own boss. But help is usually available when needed. Pay is great, benefits average.

    Cons

    -As an hourly field based employee, if you don't have any work you don't get paid. -Original travel amount doubled after a few months on the job. 40k miles driven in the first year just to get to the work sites. -Work-life balance can be bad. If a high priority customer calls at 3 pm you are expected to drop everything and go there. Your personal plans do no matter.

    Advice to Management

    No, they won't listen anyway.

    Johnson Controls2019-08-01
  9. "JCI is eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Associate in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Controls full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, that’s all I can really say

    Cons

    Diversity, work life balance, toxic work environment

    Advice to Management

    Less micromanaging, more focus of being result driven. Hire more competent leaders

    Johnson Controls2019-05-20
  10. "Good work/life balance. Financial problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson Controls full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    OK work/life balance. 401K match.

    Cons

    Large dept, company making some radical restructuring moves. Insurance is not very good

    Johnson Controls2019-05-19
  11. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Alarm Technician in Whitehall, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Controls full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, Vacation, Pay, Training , Job opportunities

    Cons

    Culture , Medical benefits , Job security , Employee events, Safety policys

    Advice to Management

    Need better employee culture

    Johnson Controls2019-04-27
Found 217 reviews