Johnson & Johnson Vision Care Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Johnson & Johnson Vision Care Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Johnson & Johnson Vision Care CEO Alex Gorsky
Alex Gorsky
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits and working environment here are among the best in the area(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Ana, CA

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson Vision Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No micromanaging Flexibility of working hours

    Cons

    Tasks takes time when cross functional teams are involved

    Johnson & Johnson Vision Care2018-10-22
  2. "Senior Supplier Quality Engineer (Milpitas, California)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Supplier Quality Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson Vision Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is okay. Pay is average

    Cons

    Vision Care is the worst division you can work for. I joined the company as Senior Supplier Quality Engineer in 2018. Working here was one of my most horrible experiences in life. Many employees at this site have quit because of poor management and pay, especially the Director of Quality. I recommend stay away. There was a SQE before me also who left.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Johnson & Johnson Vision Care2019-08-01
  3. "Great company but management needs managing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson Vision Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Living the Credo Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Managers changing their minds frequently Not a lot of movement unless someone leaves

    Johnson & Johnson Vision Care2019-06-04
  4. Helpful (3)

    "J&J Surgical Vision: innovate or fold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Engineer III in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson Vision Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits Still a lot of smart people there scrambling to fill a pipeline Flexible hours Not demanding more than 40 hrs/week

    Cons

    Seeking-ship feeling creates a negative culture Silo'ed groups need basic cross-pollination to encourage unity Small cog feeling in such a massive company Procedural handcuffs stifle agile innovation

    Advice to Management

    You've created barriers between the information disseminated among management and individual contributors. Make a SINGLE schedule and hold everyone to it. Distribute the specific milestones, and expectations mapped to a work breakdown structure. Once the project management has transparency everyone will have confidence in meeting the deadline.

    Johnson & Johnson Vision Care2019-01-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrific office spaces"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson Vision Care full-time

    Pros

    Highly intellectual environment, great benefits, easy commute and good salaries. Free coffee

    Cons

    Office working space is cramped, moldly, and in asbestos laden area in some cases. 2 to 3 people per cubicle or 8 x 10 office, managers in cubicles. Air conditioning may run full cold one day or not at all the next.

    Advice to Management

    Move fast on improving the office environment and honor the Credo

    Johnson & Johnson Vision Care2018-08-16
  6. "Company at Critical Juncture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson Vision Care full-time

    Pros

    Great products, strong R&D, excellent supply chain, solid Sales force, good marketing.

    Cons

    “Small company feeling” has evaporated over time. Hard for low-mid level managers to drive impact in top-down driven environment.

    Advice to Management

    Work on inclusion to create sense of small company again. Drive innovation, credit and recognition lower in organization. Move faster and spend more time “in market”.

    Johnson & Johnson Vision Care2018-01-16
  7. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Brand Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson Vision Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very innovative and premium products quality with patients/ consumer genuine caring. Value individual professional value and offer promising career growth plan.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is possible, but he/ she needs to make it happens him/ herself as well.

    Johnson & Johnson Vision Care2017-10-02
  8. Helpful (12)

    "What a joke of an organization!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson Vision Care full-time

    Pros

    There is nothing good about this place.

    Cons

    (This applies to the site in Milpitas, CA - Formerly Abbott Medical Optics) J & J needs to do themselves a favor and shut down the entire plant in Milpitas or get rid of all upper and middle management! It's the only way to rid itself of a systemic problem with the "leadership" there. Worst place I have ever worked. Worst management I've ever dealt with! Zero accountability!

    Advice to Management

    The problem starts at the top of the chain.

    Johnson & Johnson Vision Care2017-06-10
  9. "Associate Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson Vision Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everyone wants everyone to succeed, very friendly people. Great culture and life balance

    Cons

    Part of a very large corporation with lots of red tape

    Advice to Management

    Provide more job movement within companies

    Johnson & Johnson Vision Care2017-01-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Once in a lifetime experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Intern in Jacksonville, FL

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson Vision Care for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employees, outstanding company, and an amazing facility.

    Cons

    None at all for the company

    Johnson & Johnson Vision Care2016-12-11
Found 42 reviews